We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Tiara Labuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at Tiara resort for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are large and had everything you need except a safe. The pool area is fabulous. I agree with other reviewers the military planes flying over were annoying at times but also great to watch. The location is not ideal as it is quite a walk to town however the view over the ocean is beautiful. Food was average but the friendly staff made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missymooPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    67
    42
    17
    10
See reviews for
42
36
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A very nice hotel with a delightful pool area. The only problem being that large military aircraft flew over very low every 5 minutes. I don't know if this is common or just bad timing.

The room was large and comfortable with decent coffee plus fridge, but no safe. The step between the bathroom and main bedroom is potentially dangerous, especially given the polished floors. Good, modern bathroom with bath and separate shower unit.

Staff were very friendly but unable to provide basic services like somewhere to post a card.

It's 3km from town and there are no shops of facilities close by. But there is a beach across the road, which like most on the island was deserted. If you want to visit the War Cemetery it's very close, just a few hundred metres.

The Chinese restaurant in the hotel served very good food despite the fact that everything I ordered was my second choice because half the menu seemed to be unavailable. Service was very slow (ordering to receiving was nearly 1 hour), though I'm told this is the norm for Labuan. The iced mango sago pudding is much more delicious than it sounds (or looks on the menu) and the crispy kai kan vegetable was excellent too. The rice and vegetable came a full 15 minutes before the course they were supposed to accompany.

Room Tip: My room faced the front - towards the main road and it wasn't a bit noisy. So I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

For those who visit Kota Kinabalu, Ferringhi Batu in Penang and other Malaysian Beach Resorts, this place is a quite different. This hotel is not a beach resort, but is above the highway that runs along the ocean, but not too close to beaches. It is quite close to the large and famopus WW II military cemetary, which is walking distance up the hill. It is a bit too far from the port to walk. But if you are looking for seclusion in a lovely seeting, this is the place. The suites are very nice with open space design, and a good value.

Room Tip: Rooms and Suites with balconies which do NOT overlook the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I've just returned after another month at the Tiara and can categorically state 'never again'. We had a week without hot water and the staff didn't seem to care. The rooms are deteriorating on every visit with nothing being done to rectify the problems. The restaurant has poor quality product and in my case on my single visit took over an hour to deliver an undercooked meal. The breakfast remains the same poor quality and the entertainment (TV / internet) is poor at best. The standard of hotels in Labuan is generally poor but the Tiara has fallen way behind compared to the others with a couldn't care less attitude by the management. The only thing missing to complete it's fall from grace is a hanging off the wall flickering neon sign with the name Tiara.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Mac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Rooms ok, food very good. Try the ginger beef and special rice. Also the sushi on the buffet is great. Drinks very cheap. Pool area large and quite nice. Gym not bad, a little tired but you can get most things done and there is also a squash court to work up the sweat.
Only problem is it's out of town but only 10 Malaysian for taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiaralabuan, General Manager at Tiara Labuan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear John L ,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am pleased that you have enjoyed the stay. We thank you for acknowledging our effort in creating memorable hotel experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back for another Enriching Tiara experience in the near future.

Regards,

JOHN CHIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I've been in Tiara labuan many times for business trips and few times was as long as month. Nice environment and u can feel the nature of Malaysia... and really friendly staff... but it's kind of far from the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misma87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiaralabuan, General Manager at Tiara Labuan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Mohadna87 ,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am glad that we have made your special occasion a memorable one! Thank you for sharing your positive review with us here on TripAdvisor and this certainly spurs us to continuously seek for improvement towards achieving excellence. The team at Tiara Labuan Hotel looks forward to welcoming you again for another Refreshing Tiara experience in the near future.

Regards,

JOHN CHIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE scotland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for a business meeting.
Arrived at 1200 to check in and was told that my room would not be ready for another 2 hours.
I stated that this wasn’t good enough and I was told that they would try and get my room ready sooner.
The only place to wait was in the reception and that was full of people.
When I asked for a complementary drink while I as waiting I was told there as a water dispenser by the door.
My room was ready after an hour.
The room was large but very old and worn. Flaking paint, cracked tiles, black mould around the bath, dampness and mould on the walls. The bed as soft and uncomfortable.
There were no towels in the bathroom and then I was told by housekeeping that they had run out of towels, eventually I got towels 3 hours later.
Basically the room was disgusting, I asked for an extra card so I could keep the AC on but I was told that they only have 1 card per room.
My collegue checked in at 3pm and was also told that they would have to wait for the room as it was not ready.
The pool area is disgusting, the furniture is filthy and the pool was so cloudy you couldn’t see the bottom.
The AC packed up during the night, there were large gaps in between the doors so the mosquitos could get in and the road noise is shocking.
Breakfast was a joke, enough said.
I asked if I could use the business centre to print some documents, but I couldn’t use the computer as some of the staff were using them.
Checking out: The attitude of the staff leaves a lot to be desired.
The photos of this hotel online look good but its nothing like it in the flesh. It’s marketed as a 4 star but it is more like a 2 and the only reason I would give 2 stars and not 1 as there is a pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buckieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiaralabuan, General Manager at Tiara Labuan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Buckieloon,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience in Nov with us. I assure you that the hotel management has duly noted your constructive feedback on the areas of concern. We take your feedback seriously and will be sure to seek for improvement where necessary. We hope to welcome you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future!


Best Regards,


JOHN CHIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
487 reviews
1.0 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#5 of 10 in Labuan Island
99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
13 reviews
7.4 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Labuan Island
161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 19 in Labuan Town
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiara Labuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiara Labuan Hotel

Property: Tiara Labuan Hotel
Address: Tiara Labuan Hotel Jalan Tanjung Batu, Labuan Island 87007, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiara Labuan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiara Labuan is a city cresort located off the coast of Borneo. It provides free parking, Wi-Fi, restaurant, bar and fitness centre. Rooms have a private balcony and a kitchenette. Rooms are spacious and feature a bathtub, shower facilities and a hairdryer. Cable TV, a minibar and 24-hour room service are also provided. Guests of Tiara Labuan can play a game of table-tennis or use the resort’s sauna. Barbecue facilities are available. The islands around Labuan host the world’s richest coral and fishing grounds. Labuan is a duty-free shopping haven with rich historical background. Located in the state of Sabah, Tiara Labuan is a 10-minute drive to Labuan Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Tiara Labuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing