We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Reviewed 16 February 2014

my husband and I stayed for one week and really enjoyed it. Our room was enormous and the view from the balcony overlooking the beach was beautiful. The staff were very helpful and we had no complaints about the hotel. The only problem was sand flies on the beach but thats beyond their control. Peter makes the best Laxi ever !!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the 300's they are huge and face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

The pluses were the free wifi everywhere in the hotel, and the friendly if somewhat amateurish service. Other than these, everything about the hotel is decidedly average.

I didn't like the harsh bedsheets, or that I spotted 2 cockroaches in the bathroom. Killed one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junwatanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I've stayed with my family in Palm beach hotel for 3 nights. The rooms are nice and there is free Wifi all over the place. There is a nice playground in the garden where my 3 year old daughter enjoyed playing. The front desk staff were very helpful and welcoming and there were free shuttle rides from/to resort to/from town and airport. However, the place is old fashioned and there is not much to do other than swimming in the pool. The breakfast was poor and the restaurant's menu is very limited. The resort need serious improvements and they should think of some activities and promotions.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Rita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is a lovely hotel with good facilities and huge, well equipped rooms. We enjoyed the Saturday night bbq buffet which was delicious and cost just under $20AUD. Unfortunately the service from the staff at reception was very poor. We could not get assistance with our queries and just got brushed off. The hotel is about half an hour drive from town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggodfrey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Went to take a look at Labuan as living in Sabah. Took the ferry from KK. The hotel room was very large with a huge bathroom - tub and shower! Great balcony view of the beach. Very clean room. Nice staff. Friendly. Food is ok. Good pool and nice beach to walk on. We rented a car and drove around the island. Found a wonderful seafood restaurant near to Tanjung Aru. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view on 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Palm Beach Resort and Spa hotel (previously known as the Manikar) for one night in November while on business. If I had had a choice, I would have definitely not chosen to stay here; unfortunately as it was a team event and accommodations had been booked for our group. I had stayed at the hotel back when it was still known as the Manikar and had not had a great experience so was not really looking forward to this stay either.

I arrived in the hotel in the evening and was checked into a room on the ground floor. As per my first visit, the room I was assigned to had a musty, mouldy smell and smelt like it hadn't been cleaned or aired out in weeks/months. The sheets felt slightly do, again as if they hadn't been cleaned in a while. As it was only a night I thought I would just put up with it, and apparently the hotel was fully booked that night anyways so they wouldn't have been able to move me around.

The next morning, while getting ready to check out, I had the unfortunate opportunity to have a look at my bed in bright daylight; the sheets were stained with dark spots and worst of all, one of the cushions I had been sleeping next to appeared to have bloodstains on them! I brought the cushion over to reception to show them and the woman at reception didn't even apologize or offer to look into the matter; she just turned to her colleagues and said (in malay) "oh it's so-and-so's" room. Again." Implying that there was a careless member of their housekeeping team and this wasn't the first time guests had complained. But she basically ignored my complain and checked me out without even apologizing.

Other members in my group had similar complaints about rooms smelling mouldy and rooms not being as clean as they should be. Wrote an email to the hotel regarding the matter and have yet to receive a reply from them. Needless to say, will not stay here again on future business trips, and would recommend anyone wanting to stay here to avoid at all costs.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
5  Thank Fina_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent 2 nights here.We stayed in a king bedroom...it was spacious,clean and comfortable.The bathroom and toilet are also clean.There's nothing much we can do here as there is no water activities during our stay besides for the swimming pool and the beach.The restaurant serves the asian and western food,the taste of the food is just average,the service is a bit slower,which i've wait nearly 15-20mins for my food to be served.The resorts' staffs are friendly and polite.Wifi also good here.The resort also provides shuttle bus every hour which is free and make us easy to go to labuan town. For short,if you want to have a peaceful and relaxing holiday i can assure you this is the ideal place...but if you are a shopaholic you might not stay here as this resort is a bit far from town,it takes about 15 minutes drive...but for sure i will stay here again the next time i come to Labuan:)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dayangku_Angenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Labuan Island hotels
7.4 mi away
Tiara Labuan Hotel
Tiara Labuan Hotel
#3 of 10 in Labuan Island
224 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dorsett Grand Labuan
Dorsett Grand Labuan
#1 of 10 in Labuan Island
524 reviews
7.8 mi away
Billion Waterfront
Billion Waterfront
#6 of 10 in Labuan Island
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Aifa Labuan
Hotel Aifa Labuan
#1 of 2 in Labuan Town
95 reviews
0 mi away
KL Hotel
KL Hotel
#2 of 2 in Labuan Town
13 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Labuan Point
Hotel Labuan Point
#1 of 20 in Labuan Town
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Batu Manikar, Labuan Island 87014, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Labuan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Labuan Island
Price Range: £48 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Resort & Spa has come under a new wing of management. The 245 room resort which offer business leisure and tourists alike fantastic value accommodation. We would like to take this opportunity to introduce ourselves. Palm Beach Resort & Spa announced that a new management structure for the resort has been implemented with effect from 01 January 2013. The resort is led by a management team comprising Mr Chai Tze Khee, Managing Director and a group of young and vibrant staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing