We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation at Shorea JR house”
Review of The Shorea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shorea
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We was having a staycation at Shorea's JR house for 2D1N with 5 adults and 3 kids... Like the lovely big house and surrounding by greenery.. The view is exclusive and stunning. We was welcome by house owner and details introduction of the history and usage of the villa. Everything is fully equipment and unlimited rambutan, dragon fruit to pluck and eat fresh :). Friendly dog Roger is our tour guide that lead and show us around surrounding. We have book the BBQ and steamboat 2 pax each for dinner which just enough.. This is a place we will return for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tohhongting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShorea, Manager at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Hong Ting,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you and your family have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at our new sister resort, JR House.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

warmest regards,

Elaine
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for The Shorea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We rented the whole resort for a family get-together. The staff was very helpful, hospitable and they made us feel at home. Beautiful atmosphere, as close to nature as we can get. it will be ideal to book the whole resort for a family get-together as there is a swimming pool right in the centre of all the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Savingyourmarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Dato Dr Arunan,

Warmest greetings from The Shorea!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you and your family have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest. We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

warmest regards,

Elaine
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a great stay here, we stayed in Villa Shorea which is shared by the 5 of us.
Although it is not so easily accessible but it can still be found by WAZE and management is really helpful in providing the route, map and etc.
It was clean and staffs are helpful and friendly.
Overall, we enjoyed ourselves here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ming1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Ming,

Warm greetings from The Shorea!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you and your friends have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest. We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

warmest regards,

Elaine
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Shorea consists of 4 villas (Shorea, Kemboja, Bougainvillea and Halia) and I was able to secure booking for 3 of these. Villa Shorea was able to accommodate the most number of adults (10pax) comfortably with some having to sleep on mattresses on the floor. Villa Halia is connected to Shorea and is literally sharing one same large roof so you can only book Halia if you've got Shorea as well. Bougainvillea can accommodate 3 adults and is connected to Shorea via a walkway. The villas are large and well kept although some may feel they are too close to one another. I suggest going in a big group (15-18ppl) in order to fully appreciate the 'privacy' factor. During my trip, a family had booked Villa Kemboja (2 adults and 2 kids) and they seemed to shy away from the pool as 15 of us were already swimming in it. If you're going as a couple and choosing one of the smaller villas, be prepared to share the facilities with other patrons. The food was good and breakfast was delicious. The surroundings are peaceful and quiet. Bringing insect repellent is a good idea at night. To manage your overall expectations, it is a lovely place which I would visit again. Just remember you're in the middle of a forest with no access to town so bring everything you need and embrace the beauty of nature! Oh, and the pool is really nice!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank garykhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Gary,

Warm greetings from The Shorea!

It was indeed nice meeting you and your friends!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you and your friends have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest. We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

warmest regards,

Elaine
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were staying in Villa Kemboja for one night, the highest point of the other three villas, our view were of the roof tops on the villas situated on the left and right sides. All day and night, we could hear our neighbours (Villa Bougainvillea was occupied by a group of friends), and the noises coming from the kitchen(common area).

We had a chance to view Villa Halia, which is just behind the kitchen with poor ventilation, we could smell what was cooking for dinner. We also viewed Villa Bougainvillea, which everyone has to walk pass to get to the pool. This place gives no privacy for couples who are looking for peace and serenity (unless you have the whole place to yourselves).

Our villa (Villa Kemboja) was mediocre and run down. Breakfast which was inclusive, was a malaysian delicacy (nasi lemak) paired with one piece of oily fried chicken. Above all, we reckoned that the MYR750 spent for a night's getaway does not justify good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MiguelP_1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShorea, Manager at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear MiguelP_1168

Warmest greetings from The Shorea!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are most concerned that you have left with such a negative feeling about our property and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectation. Unfortunately we did not hear it at all from you directly while you stay in The Shorea, however we will follow up very seriously and share it to the rest of the team for further improvement. Once again we deeply apologize for not being able to deliver the service and products as expected during you stay with us.

We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to deliver a better experience to you. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

Elaine
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Initially we booked 2 villas: Villa Shorea and Villa Halia, but ended up at
1. Villa Malani (a neighbouring villa, not part of The Shorea) on the first night
2. Villa Kemboja & Villa Bougainvillea on the second night,
because we didn't book & pay a deposit promptly. The good side of this miscommunication was that we enjoyed two resorts in one weekend.

Compared to all the other resorts in this area, The Shorea has the least privacy (from one villa to another). Which is not a bad thing if you have the whole The Shorea for yourselves.

The kitchens in each villa were well equipped, but I wanted to use the common kitchen which was much bigger and just next to the pool. Which means, I can still talk to my friends who are in the pool, while I cook.

The only setback was the complain (at 9.30pm) from the neighbouring resorts, about the noise we (& the rest of the guest in The Shorea) made. I truly understand the neighbour's concern/complaint/feedback, as they want peace and tranquility. Therefore, I would not recommended The Shorea if you holidaying with a large group of noisy people like us & planning to have a BBQ by the pool till late night.

Yes, The Shorea is pricier than the other villas in the neighbourhood, but it is worth it.

I would return to The Shorea, either in a smaller group or quieter group.

Oh, love the pool & the staff are awesomely friendly.

Room Tip: Villa Shorea - suitable for large families or large group of friends Villa Halia - suitable for cou...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ramesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Ramesh,

Warm greetings from The Shorea!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review on tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you and your friends have had an enjoyable and relaxing stay in our resort.

Thank you for acknowledging our staff as they are our greatest asset who consistently deliver The Shorea hospitality to every single guest. We always strive to provide the highest level of product and service for our guests, hence to receive comments such as yours is very motivating.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay in The Shorea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

warmest regards,

Elaine
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Initially this is meant to be a happy gathering of a group of travellers that has set our footprint in 6 out of seven continents of the world, and coming from different corner of Malaysia (We have members from as far as Sarawak & Sabah, Kedah, Penang, Perak, KL, Selangar & Johor). Unfortunately, the oversight of the resort management and it's arrogant attitude after they discover their mistake has put on an ugly stain of this annual gathering.

Two days before our annual gathering, the resort sent us a message that destroyed our joyous mood of gathering. The reason that we selected this resort out of a handful available in the area was we love the idea and concur with the concept of the operator.

We asked for permission from the resort to allow us to accomodate extra members in the resort, but the resort firmly rejected our request stating that they adhere to strict limitations of headcount in the resort. However they suggested us to put a few of our members in Malani Villa which is nearby. After a getting a nod from all the participants and sorted out the volunteers to be put over at Malani Villa, we accept their suggestion. All these communications happened in March. We then proceeded to collect the fees and prepaid the total charges including the extra person charge to the resort in May 2014.

However, merely 2 days prior to our arrival in July, the resort informed us that they have forgotten to make the booking at Malani and it's now fully booked. They are unable to secure any room in the area too. In addition, they approached us in a way that they took us as a misbehaving gang of customer just like other customer that they have hosted. We were being annoyed by this perception of us before meeting any of us. What they have said and publicize in their website and prior communication is totally opposite of how they treat us when they failed to deliver what they have promised 4 months ago! We have sorted out all the arrangement in March 2014 and only in July, 2 days prior to our stay that they told us they FORGOT to book.

As our group members object to these unacceptable arrangement, then they proposed to compensate us with a high tea and upgrade of our dinner, as well as refund, not waived what we have supposed to be paying to stay at Malani Villa.

Well, as for the compensated high tea, it only consist of two to three pisces of local kuih, which probably cost a ringgit per pax. However the resort value this at RM 20 as stated in their website. As for the upgarded dinner, which the has a price tag of RM 65 in the resort consist of only shrimp not prawn, as well as some cheap local fish with full of cheap potatoes. The portion of fish available also isn't for 15 pax that we have ordered.

In addition, we have to remind the owner multiple times for the RM 600 refund.

The host never make their presence in the resort to welcome us during our stay as agreed earlier. In earlier communication, we requested Elaine to come over to discuss about the compensation but she didn't come. When we asked the housekeeper, they replied that their boss will come before our departure. If we had not assert our own right, they will not take us seriously. In the process of communication, the management also showed an arrogant attitude instead of customer centric approach.

This will be our first and last time to the resort, and I will discourage all my friends from staying here as I do not want them to experience what I have gone through communicating with Elaine. The holiday would have been perfect if only the management can show more of our Malaysian hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
30  Thank raymond_hooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShorea, Owner at The Shorea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Raymond Hooi

Warmest greetings from The Shorea,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are most concerned that you have left with such a negative feeling about our service and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectation.

We will follow up very seriously and share it to the rest of the team for further improvement. Once again we deeply apologize for not being able to deliver the service and products as expected during you stay with us.

We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to deliver a better experience to you. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback

Yours Sincerely,

Elaine Tan
The Shorea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seremban
23.0 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,204 reviews
24.1 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,453 reviews
7.6 mi away
Carlton Star Hotel
Carlton Star Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seremban
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
D'Sora Boutique Business Hotel
23.0 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
521 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royale Chulan Seremban
Royale Chulan Seremban
#2 of 14 in Seremban
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shorea

Address: Jalan Kolam Air | Jalan Jelebu, Pantai Hills Orchard, Seremban 71770, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Seremban District > Seremban
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Seremban
Price Range: £482 - £684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shorea is a boutique resort, next to the Berumbun forest reserve.The Shorea is an architect's family retreat, built within a tropical forest reserve. Its secluded villas are set on natural terrains, with meandering paths leading down to a jungle stream, a waterfall within the Berembun Forest Reserve; it is the ultimate forest getaway.There are 4 villas with fantastic view of the forest. We are an hour from KLIA (Kuala Lumpur International Airport) and 20 mins from the Seremban town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Shorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing