We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience to Taman Negara, Kuala Tahan”

Taman Negara National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$137.50*
and up
Full-Day Taman Negara Tour from Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #12 of 149 things to do in Pahang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our experience to Taman Negara, Kuala Tahan”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A group of us from Singapore arranged a coach to Jerantut in April. We booked a 4D 3N though Taman Negara NKS Hotel & Travel agency. My contact with them is Ms Yee which she had helped me to answer many of my enquires and assist in our stay arrangement.

On the first evening, we left Singapore at about 6pm. It took us about 8+ hours to reach there in the midnight about 2.30am. The town was totally quiet. There, we rested at NKS hostel, which is reasonably clean and tidy.

The next morning after our breakfast, we headed for the cave exploration in Jerantut. It was a amazing experience and a must for all adventure seekers. After that we proceeded to the jetty and took a long 2.5 hours boat ride to Taman Negara. The river water was muddy due the tree logging according to the locals. Upon reaching the our accommodation destination, we checked in the Woodland chalet resort which is clean and comfortable.
We were happy with it but I felt that their management needed to improve their facilities maintenance as we observed; bathroom tap fittings are loose, swimming pool floor is dirty and it's shower not working.
Meals at the riverside floating restaurant are acceptable.
The night jungle walk is interesting as we managed to see spider, gecko, stick and some night animals at a distance.
On the second day, we did the jungle trekking to Teresek Hill and Walk on the Canopy Walkway.
We enjoyed the experience. After that, we visited the Orang Asli Village and learnt about how to start a fire, challenge ourselves with a blow pipe competition. The last adventure of the day is the boat ride through the river rapids. There was so much fun getting water splashing each other along the ride until the boat is half filled with water.
We opted to go for the night Safari after dinner. A group of us mounted on top of the 4 wheel drive vehicles driving into the jungle with the guides holding a powerful torch light linked to the car battery to search for the animals in the dark. We managed to spot the black panther, leopard cats, slow loris, owl and some exotic bird species.
The next day, we went to Lata Berkoh, supposing to swim at the rapid. However, the rapid was too strong and we can't swim then. At the place, we were swarmed with bees and wasps. After taking some pictures, we call it off and went back to chalet to prepare for checkout.
This time, we arranged NKS to send us back to Jerantut by van. It took us about an hour plus to reach there.
With ample time after dinner, we roamed around the town night market; 'Pasar malam', There we bought the mangoes. We celebrated our end trip at a drink shop and ate the mangoes. They were very sweet. Finally, 3 guys went for a foot massage to get some relief.
Till then, in the midnight at about 4am, we got into the train. All of us were located in the upper deck sleeper cabin. It was quite clean and comfortable but a little short for the tall guys.
Another 8 hours, we reached the train station at Singapore Woodland.
In all, we are contented with our trip and NKS service. It is one of the adventure I will never forget and a tick for my 'Bucket list'. Hooray !!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Franlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    89
    36
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place for trekking”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

It is a wonderful to get close with the natural and fresh air..me as my friends spent one day inside it and involve in a lot of activities like trekking , cycling , walking and so on the the national park. It is an forest so you may see a lot of animals and birds .It is so interesting and having fun together with family and friends .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryanteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for long trekking”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This place offered a great possibility for trekking. I went with my friend for day trips (3, 7 and 3 hours/day) and really enjoyed this. The routes were well marked and we really enjoyed relaxed days without guide. The further you go from village, the more silent trekking you can enjoy. Though the rainforest is not silent at all...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank jiiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Taman Negara”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My grp have 6 adults n 5 children. Youngest 6yrs old n oldest 65yrs old. We took a train fr Singapore 6am to Jerantut (8.5hrs). At Jerantut station walk 5min to bus station. We took a public bus to taman negara (1.5hrs). Bus fare Rm7. We stayed in Rainforest Resort. Overall everything is satisfactory except the location of the resort is a bit far in. Our kids can run around the resort freely and safe.
We joined the Jungle trekking n canopy walk, night jungle walk and rapid shooting. Our kids enjoyed so much and say want to come back again.
There is a few restaurants and the food selection quite similar. Overall cheap and gd. My favourite is banana shake.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank MalSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“March, the dry season trekking into the rainforest”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Joined the 2 days trekking tour into the interior of the forest with Han Travel, one tour guide led three of us for the two days trekking trip. We were given each for 2 days of drinking water (3x2L per person), snacks, sleeping bag, and sleeping mat to carry in addition to our personal pack, we had to rearrange and remove unnecessary stuffs to fit the water in our pack. It is an eco tour as well, therefore, all garbage has to be carried out.
The average temperature was 35C during the day. The power boat brought us up stream, stop by the canopy walk and reached the starting point Kuala Keniam approx. 3 hrs up stream. According to our guide, only 10 people are qualified to bring people into the park overnight. Having a guide is definitely an asset into the rainforest!!! March is dry season, so it's very hot, therefore, the bugs were very loud. However, as it was dry, there was less flies, mosquitos and LEECHES, also no swimming across creek with the backpack holding above the head, etc. Our guide was very disappointed that he didn't get one single leech on him.........

We hiked for 7 hrs. The trail has a lot of up and down hills and climbing down and up creeks, fallen trees to climb over, re-route after the monsoon season. However, the High temperature and the humidity with the heavy pack was the biggest problem to us, we have to stop frequently as we were having frequent heat strokes. We rest at creeks with clean water and cool down. Our guide will broil HOT tea with creek water and loaded sugar and made us all drink up. It actually help boost us up a bit. We arrive the cave Gau Kepanyan Besar after dark 2 hrs behind schedule, exhausted and tired. We had to help prepare dinner with our guide in the cave and go look for fire wood. Then we were sleeping in the cave only in our sleeping bed, no tent, Bats are flying in and out of the cave, there was also evidence of elephants went into the cave before, quite an experience. The next morning, we went to another smaller cave to see hundreds of bats flying up close, it worth everything to be in such a nature bats habitat. The way out to the finish point Kuala Trenggan was far, our tour guide was with his jungle clock "no sense of time". We kept telling him that we had a 6 o'clock bus to take in Jerantut, and he was still taking his time to cook lunch for us. We tried to head out faster but still missed our bus.
Overall the trekking tour was an great experience, but unless you are a very fit type, it is not an easy trip. The trial marking states 8 km per day distance, but definitely seems much further and it didn't account for any of the up and down distance. Also make sure you have plan a day before and after as close to or within Taman Nargara as a buffer. It would be very tight if you plan to fly out of Malaysia the next day and would have risk of missing the flight. We missed our bus from Jerantut to KL of the day and had to take the overnight train to catch our flight the next day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taman Negara National Park also viewed

 

Been to Taman Negara National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing