We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otherworld experience in the world's oldest rainforest”

Taman Negara National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$137.50*
and up
Full-Day Taman Negara Tour from Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #11 of 145 things to do in Pahang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wonderful Boulder Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Otherworld experience in the world's oldest rainforest”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Rain, rain and more rain... and oh yeah... a bunch of welcoming macaques between us and our cabin. The boys loved the isolation of the rain forest and the nice buffets at the Park. It would have nice to visit some of the more exotic locations in the park ... to camp out to see the forest elephants or visit the various caves. Yet, we consoled ourselves with many hikes, nighttime and otherwise. A visit to the cataracts not to be missed... but oh the leeches. The trip to get to and from the park was half the experience. Riding a small dugout canoe up the river to the vast set of steps up to the encampment. Truly a lifetime event.....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank JoeBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    88
    35
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great jungle experience!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Taman Negara is a not to be missed experience. The best way to get there is by boat from the jetty at Tembeling.The 2 1/2 hour journey to the park entrance at Kuala Tahan was blissful and the skill of the boatman navigating the shallow waters was most impressive. Along the waterfront are floating restaurants, many of which also offer guides and trips. There is a constant buzz of small boats ferrying visitors between the park and the village or along the river. There are numerous small tour companies to choose from. We used both Han Travel and Danz Travel and had a great experience with no problems.
The jungle itself is astonishing. We did a night walk with a guide (recommended). However we did the walk to Bukit Teresek without a guide. Paths were often boarded and were well way marked so easy to negotiate. The not to be missed experience is definitely the canopy walkway - stunning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Living in tropic jungle experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Malaysia is all year round humid. Most locals would prefer to stay indoor and visit malls rather than going out there and be close with nature (this include animals and insects). We were amused by how much our tour guide knows about all the "grass" and "leaves" that have medication and heath benefits; and why they leave certain annoying and gross insects on their own. It was a great experience learning about the nature, basics of live, mother earth. I would recommend insect repellent to avoid irritation of mosquito bites to interrupt you appreciate other stuff there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank white_myvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nature and education!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our daughter studied about rain forests last year in school. In the mean while, I also wanted to visit Taman Negara (having heard from my client back home) for a long time. I was fascinated by the fact that this was the oldest rain forest in the world i.e. some 130 m years old.

From Siem Reap, we flew to KUL and next morning reached jetty by car. From then on wards our beautiful journey began. We along with some other travelers took a boat which took some two and a quarter hour to reach our resort 'Mutiara.'

We relaxed and explored the resort. At night, we set off for trekking, which lasted about an hour. We got a feeling of the jungle, saw some plants, insects, snakes etc. Next morning, we set off for a 3 hour journey including canopy walk. This canopy is 45 m high and about 500 m long. It was strenuous but worth the experience. It was humid and sultry and we were drained of all energy.

We then experienced rapid shooting i.e. went for a boat ride and met the aboriginals the tribal. We learned how to start fire without stones and how they shoot animals with darts. We purchased a souvenir from them for 20 RM. This was a learning experience for all of us. Our guide Hamza was a great help. The other staff was also very helpful and courteous at the resort. I recoomend at least 2 to 3 days here.

I would also give this place 9 out of 10.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tarak555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our experience to Taman Negara, Kuala Tahan”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A group of us from Singapore arranged a coach to Jerantut in April. We booked a 4D 3N though Taman Negara NKS Hotel & Travel agency. My contact with them is Ms Yee which she had helped me to answer many of my enquires and assist in our stay arrangement.

On the first evening, we left Singapore at about 6pm. It took us about 8+ hours to reach there in the midnight about 2.30am. The town was totally quiet. There, we rested at NKS hostel, which is reasonably clean and tidy.

The next morning after our breakfast, we headed for the cave exploration in Jerantut. It was a amazing experience and a must for all adventure seekers. After that we proceeded to the jetty and took a long 2.5 hours boat ride to Taman Negara. The river water was muddy due the tree logging according to the locals. Upon reaching the our accommodation destination, we checked in the Woodland chalet resort which is clean and comfortable.
We were happy with it but I felt that their management needed to improve their facilities maintenance as we observed; bathroom tap fittings are loose, swimming pool floor is dirty and it's shower not working.
Meals at the riverside floating restaurant are acceptable.
The night jungle walk is interesting as we managed to see spider, gecko, stick and some night animals at a distance.
On the second day, we did the jungle trekking to Teresek Hill and Walk on the Canopy Walkway.
We enjoyed the experience. After that, we visited the Orang Asli Village and learnt about how to start a fire, challenge ourselves with a blow pipe competition. The last adventure of the day is the boat ride through the river rapids. There was so much fun getting water splashing each other along the ride until the boat is half filled with water.
We opted to go for the night Safari after dinner. A group of us mounted on top of the 4 wheel drive vehicles driving into the jungle with the guides holding a powerful torch light linked to the car battery to search for the animals in the dark. We managed to spot the black panther, leopard cats, slow loris, owl and some exotic bird species.
The next day, we went to Lata Berkoh, supposing to swim at the rapid. However, the rapid was too strong and we can't swim then. At the place, we were swarmed with bees and wasps. After taking some pictures, we call it off and went back to chalet to prepare for checkout.
This time, we arranged NKS to send us back to Jerantut by van. It took us about an hour plus to reach there.
With ample time after dinner, we roamed around the town night market; 'Pasar malam', There we bought the mangoes. We celebrated our end trip at a drink shop and ate the mangoes. They were very sweet. Finally, 3 guys went for a foot massage to get some relief.
Till then, in the midnight at about 4am, we got into the train. All of us were located in the upper deck sleeper cabin. It was quite clean and comfortable but a little short for the tall guys.
Another 8 hours, we reached the train station at Singapore Woodland.
In all, we are contented with our trip and NKS service. It is one of the adventure I will never forget and a tick for my 'Bucket list'. Hooray !!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Franlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taman Negara National Park also viewed

 

Been to Taman Negara National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing