We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing visit for the family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonriver Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moonriver Lodge
Beijing
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very relaxing visit for the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and had a good time. The other reviews here are pretty accurate so we knew what to expect and enjoyed it very much. The short tour of the garden was really interesting and the hike to see the rafflesia was good fun and well worth doing is you have kids over 5 years who can handle an uphill, muddy hike and/or for 6 year-olds plus who have a sense of adventure. Trainers or proper walking shoes are needed though and plenty of bug spray. We cooked for ourselves as we had booked quite late and the kitchen worked well, with all you need supplied. Breakfast was eggs, sausage and toast (as much as you wanted). The packed lunch was a bit light for our hungry family so we supplemented it with our own snacks and that was fine. Our kids loved the farm as they could hang out in the hammocks or play with the tame rabbits and chickens to their heart's content. The staff here are really friendly and helpful, particularly towards the children and nothing was too much bother for them. The electric being only available in the evening meant that there some excitement on our kids part about it coming on - they had a new appreciation for electrical power! The gardens are very pleasant and the place will very well managed and very tidy and clean. The in-house library is pretty comprehensive and keep up all busy as did the chess sets etc. They are continuing to develop the farm and hopefully will have camping facilities soon as that would be super popular I think.

Room Tip: Away from the cockerel if you don't want an early morning wakeup call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beijingfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    28
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

spend at least 2 nights. Do consider the rafflesia trail, if you are fit enough.

no attached bathrooms but they are just opposite the room, across a walkway.

generator goes on at 7pm and shuts off at 11pm, but the view of the stars was spectacular.

no meals on Friday (state rest-day), if there are few guests.

Special note:
The unpaved access road (about 800m) was affected by major constructions around it. Unless you are driving a 4x4 with mud tyres, you are likely to face some serious traction issues during the wet monsoon over the next 2 months, (Nov-Dec).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macaiwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Moon River Lodge is a wonderful place to spend some time, particularly after the bustle of a city. Misha and Mira looked after me incredibly well, I felt part of the family and seeing what they are doing on the farm was really inspirational.

The accommodation is very basic but spotlessly clean with good hot showers, and the main spaces where you spend most of your time are lovely, the hammocks in particular!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Moonriver Lodge surprised me with its friendliness, uniqueness and cleanliness. The friendly welcoming tour quickly set the place apart from any other that I have stayed in Malaysia, with plenty of pick-your-own fruit and vegetables that my family and I harvested and fried up with the cooking facilities provided. The rooms and toilets are simple but very clean. My five year old daughter especially enjoyed running around the gardens and feeding the rabbits while we relaxed in the hammocks. I'm impressed with the organic auto-pot system and look forward to see how the farm developed over the next few years. The location is lovely and cool but the only down side is that that there were earth works and hill cutting going on nearby during the time of our visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teckwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We chanced upon Moonriver Lodge while looking for a place to stay on our recent visit to Cameron Highlands. Staying here made our holiday special and memorable. Although the rooms were basic, the bedding was cosy and adequate. Our Lovelock Room 5 with 4 single mattresses side-by-side proved ideal since we have 3 young children (ages 5yrs, 3yrs, & 5mths) with us. Food was delicious with a home-cooked feel. Serving was very generous. We went jungle trekking on their Water Valley Trail which was suitable for children. Overall, a fantastic place for children to expore their surroundings, and for those who like adventure and greenery/flowers. It's also a great place just to simply get away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bart_penang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

A rustic working farm that is full of charm and character. We had a great 2 days with the kids hanging out in the garden, going for the waterfall trek, playing badminton & lazing by the hammock. Rooms are basic n as the lands are being worked on there is quite a bit of noise but seeing your kids enjoy the simple things in life is really the best thing. Esp since we live in a busy city like Singapore. Would love to see more greenery once they are done. Do bring lots of mozzie repellant though & do note electricity is only turned on 7-11pm. The staff were v friendly and accommodating & made us all feel like home. Misah and Kube thank you & it was great to meet you Peng Kiat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I don't normally post reviews but after having such a wonderful time at Moon River Lodge I had to! It really is an oasis of calm and beauty in the countryside - you can take a wander around the farm to see and learn about the organically grown veg and herbs or just chill and lie in the hammock and enjoy the beautiful flowers and gardens. The staff are all without exception fantastic, they are so welcoming and friendly - very genuine and made us feel like part of the family. They really went out of their way to make us welcome and ensure we enjoyed our stay, they also organised all our onward travel and an extra trip for us as we decided to stay another day as we like it so much! We did the Rafflesia trek and also a trip into the Cameron Highlands which were both great but having seen the Cameron Highlands, I felt so lucky to have found MRL - which is removed from the hectic tourist trail. Oh and the food was great too!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cameron Highlands hotels
15.7 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
13.2 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
6.9 mi away
Westwood Highland
Westwood Highland
#5 of 54 in Cameron Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Snooze Too Hotel
Snooze Too Hotel
#1 of 21 in Brinchang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
11.8 mi away
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonriver Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonriver Lodge

Property: Moonriver Lodge
Address: Lojing, Sigar Highlands, 31150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Cameron Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonriver Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonriver Lodge is a family owned farmstay nestled in a valley of the lush mountains of Sigar Highlands. We are located half an hour away from the hustle bustle of Cameron Highlands. This is a space where children can roam freely along the food garden paths, run through the food tunnel and play with Webby the duck or Zorro the cat. This is a space where nature lovers can watch hummingbirds and butterflies drinking nectar from the flowers and listen out for the distant call of the monkeys. Here at Moonriver Lodge, we provide not just a relaxing stay but also the opportunity to learn about nature and growing food and to participate in day-to-day farming activities. Go on a trek to see the second largest flower in the world - the magnificent Rafflesia Kerrii. Hop onto the back of our tractors and join a farm tour or participate in one of our fun gardening programmes to teach your children to how food is grown. Harvest fresh vegetables, fruits and herbs from our garden to prepare a healthy, organic meal. Whatever you do here at Moonriver Lodge, you are bound to leave our gates rejuvenated but with a heavy heart to part with a place you wish was your second home. Because that's what we try to provide - a comfortable, beautiful home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Moonriver Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonriver Hotel Cameron Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing