We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So charming !”
Review of Moonriver Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moonriver Lodge
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“So charming !”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We struggled a little bit to reach and find the place...We didn't had our own car. The Taxi was expensive from Tanah Rata then we decided to take the public bus but without precise idea about eh guesthouse location. We had to wait few hours in Tanah Rata to then reach Kampung Raja... a not very welcoming town. We waited their about 40 minutes before Moonriver staff picked us up after having asked a friendly Malaysian girl working in the bus station to call the place. After a 10 minutes drive we finally reached the place ! We didn't regret our choice ! A wonderful place with colored garden plenty of flowers & vegetables. The staff is very friendly and you feel at home. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. We only stayed there for 1 night but you can easily spend several days there to have a rest. It's was a convenient choice has our next stop was Gua Musang and the guesthouse is located by the road to Gua Musang.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    29
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My family and I took up the 4D3N package and it was a truly enriching experience. Peng Keat and Billie together with their wonderful family took great care of us. The lodge was bustling when we were there as it was over the Malaysian Hari Raya holiday and it was just really nice getting to know everyone. Communal living at its best! It's something you certainly won't get when you stay at a "normal" hotel. The room was a bunk bed plus a single bed, albeit of a squeeze for the three of us, but it was clean and comfortable. There is also an attached pantry area with wash basins and a kettle. Now, this isn't a luxury hotel, so don't expect the usual trappings that go with that. This is a real working farm, with a team of real, sincere people, where the kids can play to their heart's content, where food is really delicious, and where the nights are spent watching movies under the stars. A little out of the way, but really well worth the time spent there!

Room Tip: There is a room at the new Mollison Lodge that has ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mothercrabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

2nd visit and it is our favourite highland destination. after 9 months since, the place has evolved much. it is children friendly and allows city kids (above 7 years) to explore the place. overly-cautious parents may have to exercise the level of supervision which they are comfortable with. there are many great things to say about the place and revealing them here would simply spoil it for you. i love the weak mobile signals here, no ipads and if you select the programs, you get a great overview of the place. this place is for practical people with a vision for the future. it is not a place for idealists. BTW, there are no swimming pools but there is a wading pool filled by a mountain stream.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macaiwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipoh
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

If you like nature and want a relaxing holiday, this is the place - clean, cosy and homey. Very warm and friendly staffs especially Misha. Enjoyed the garden tour. We only stayed a night so did not have the time to enjoy the library nor the pool. Will come back for a longer stay. :)

Only drawback, hv to travel all the way to CH for food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missoopsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

An enriching training session with an amazing trainer & warm-hearted folk in a natural & nurturing environment - how much better does life get?

Moon River was my late dad's favourite song, and Moonriver Lodge has carved itself on my heart as just such a HEALING place to be.

What really impressed me was the FAMILY atmosphere, with everyone from Peng Kiat & Billie (& parents & Vincent & Ruby, etc., etc.) downwards to the Nepalese workers being so friendly & chatty & downright neighbourly! Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Like a more famous chap said, "I'll be BACK!" (with my mum next time) =D <3 <3

Room Tip: Mollison Lodge for a great view while you're doing your morning stretches!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had a lovely weekend with my husband in this beautiful lodge. We could rest and feel the peace around us, not only because of the nature surrodonig the lodge but also of the nice people that work there. If you want to experience a relaxing moment and quit place, this is the place. Is a real outdoor experience in the beautiful mountains of tea plantations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saronga_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My third time of visiting - and doubtless the third of many more - I loved every second I spent in this wonderful slice of paradise. Is it the warm welcome of the wonderful MRL team? Is it the gorgeous setting, deliciously apart from the concrete sprawl of what was once the Cameron Highlands? Is it the principle and humanity behind the MRL dream, a pioneering embrace of all that will keep this planet beautiful? Or is it just the sounds and sights of many an hour just sitting and 'being' in such a beautiful place? In fact, it is all these and more that will keep us coming back. The Moonriver recipe is already perfect. I urge you to taste it for yourself.

Room Tip: All three 'lodges' have a different character. Just ask Billie and she will talk you through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expatfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cameron Highlands hotels
15.7 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
13.3 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
783 reviews
13.6 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Westwood Highland
Westwood Highland
#6 of 57 in Cameron Highlands
81 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,381 reviews
10.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonriver Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonriver Lodge

Property: Moonriver Lodge
Address: Lojing, Sigar Highlands, 31150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Cameron Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moonriver Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonriver Lodge is a family owned farmstay nestled in a valley of the lush mountains of Sigar Highlands. We are located half an hour away from the hustle bustle of Cameron Highlands. This is a space where children can roam freely along the food garden paths, run through the food tunnel and play with Webby the duck or Zorro the cat. This is a space where nature lovers can watch hummingbirds and butterflies drinking nectar from the flowers and listen out for the distant call of the monkeys. Here at Moonriver Lodge, we provide not just a relaxing stay but also the opportunity to learn about nature and growing food and to participate in day-to-day farming activities. Go on a trek to see the second largest flower in the world - the magnificent Rafflesia Kerrii. Hop onto the back of our tractors and join a farm tour or participate in one of our fun gardening programmes to teach your children to how food is grown. Harvest fresh vegetables, fruits and herbs from our garden to prepare a healthy, organic meal. Whatever you do here at Moonriver Lodge, you are bound to leave our gates rejuvenated but with a heavy heart to part with a place you wish was your second home. Because that's what we try to provide - a comfortable, beautiful home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Moonriver Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonriver Hotel Cameron Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing