We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views. Great adventure”
Review of Mossy Forest

Mossy Forest
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Brinchang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great views. Great adventure”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Don't use the location by the TripAdvisor map. It's incorrect. The turn off is actually located just past Brinchang Copthorne hotel if you're coming from Tanah Rata. 10km up a very steep and narrow road towards the State border on the mountain ridge. Magnificent views of tea Plantations along the way. Forest itself has wooden walkway and stairway. Misty and cooling. Traffic back into Brinchang/Ranah Rata is terrible. Stop start almost the entire way.

Helpful?
Thank weiying_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    235
    76
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely cloud forest”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I love the mossy forest, we have been a few times with our little kids and they love the experience of walking on the boardwalk through the forest. A great opportunity to experience genuine cloud forest.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NickyFairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Funny Name; Fun Experience! :)”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Mossy Forest is a relatively new attraction here. If you are ok with a little bit of climbing, great views (on a clear day) and into nature then check this out. Basically the forestry department has created pretty sturdy wooden steps through the forest (cleverly constructing the steps around the existing trees rather than chopping them down) and with many stops & lookouts along the way. It's a pleasant walk. The moss looked a bit sad when I was there mainly because of the dry spell. It'll look better in the wetter months but it might be quite slippery. Note, there are no washroom facilities at all nor any food/drink stalls at this attraction. Bring your own water & visit the loo before getting here! Also, what's missing is a signboard guide to the trail / walk, indicating the route, stops & lookouts - that would be really helpful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraLiewKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must do!!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Visited the "Mossy forest" today with a guide from "Eco-cameron tours". He took us to another part of the forrest so not where the boardwalk is. We had to climb up and down and were treated to a spectaculair view! We saw many differents plants and flowers. The "Mossy forest" looks a bit spooky and mistique...very nice!! Would recommend everybody to go there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enchanting mossy forest in Cameron Highlands”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I absolutely love Cameron Highlands and it's one of those places that I would go visit again and again for its natural beauty (which is rather often since I live in Malaysia ^_^). I'm glad to see the beginning of the trail to Gunung Irau (gunung = mountain) or the Mossy Forest as most people know it has been upgraded with wooden boardwalk, huts and benches. This place is really worth a visit. It will be even more interesting if you have a guide who is knowledgeable about the flora and passionate about nature in Cameron Highlands.

I would also like to share some tips:
1. Follow the tarred road further down for about 1-2km and you will reach Gunung Brinchang's viewing tower. The view, unless obstructed by mist, is excellent. Also, there's a trail from Cactus Valley in Brinchang all the way up to Gunung Brinchang which also makes for excellent hike.

2. For the more serious and fit hikers, hire a guide or join a local hiking group to go beyond the walkboards and waddle in the muddy trail all the way to Gunung Irau. If you are really fit, you can actually go all the way along the mountain ridge and exit at the Simpang Pulai highway where the "Welcome to Cameron Highlands" sign is. Interesting flora to be viewed along the way .. pitcher plants, orchids, etc. I have personally done this hike twice and it was a lovely hike.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank pinkgiwaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mossy Forest also viewed

 
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to Mossy Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing