We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many of our childhood memories”
Review of Time Tunnel Museum

Time Tunnel Museum
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Brinchang
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Many of our childhood memories”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we love this place! it reminded us of so many good old childhood memories.

we stayed in a traditional kampung baru wooden house when we were small, and this place is a reminiscence of our childhood.

I will surely recommend this place for those coming to cameron highland.

p.s: you can get 10% discount with your entrance ticket to buy any drinks at the museum's cafe, but the drinks and food were awful!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    119
    75
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good collection but poor archival”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This place a a really good collection of stuff from the 1960s onwards. However, the items are not properly protected or archived. Unfortunately, more often than not, the items are also not categorised according to themes or chronology.

But it was a true eye opener for me as I learnt very simple things about my parents/grandparents' generation -

- that regular customers could play Mahjong at coffee shops
- that food was placed in metal containers that were coated with oil and hung near the ceiling to prevent rats and ants from reaching them
- saw some archaic carpentry tools which my best friend's dad used in the past
- saw how ice was grated from huge blocks
etc etc...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ptaxol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good past time”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you are interested in the history of Cameron Highlands, should visit. If you are Chinese, or are interested in the Chinese culture, definitely must visit this place.

Went to this museum because of the pouring rain, which was a right decision. Spent a whole afternoon there and took more pictures than the Cameron Highlands itself. The artifacts can be touched and there were a lot of information of Cameron Highlands and how people lived. I felt that I was travelled back in time! Tired a hot cup of strawberry tea (interesting) with 20% discount (keep your ticket) afterwards. Definitely well worth the RM 5 admittance fee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank well_fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Brought back the good old days”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

So glad we went in. A vast collection of memorabilia from 60's 70's and 80's. Actually a lot of things were from last century also. Great collection of vinyls. A barber chair from many many years ago. So much stuff to admire. Well worth the RM 5 admittance fee. The story of Jim Thompsons disappearance in the jungle was very interesting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank astra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sungai Petani, Kedah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too Much of History Passed Us”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

It is a museum slash gallery slash interactive center. It has almost the same items you can find in any toy museums or antique shops in the country but here it is not an ordinary museum.

Not sometime you imagine in am museum, visitors can actually touch most of the artifacts displayed (most artifacts originated from the 1960s to 1980s Malaysia) and have a lot of fun photos with it. Some items are quite rare, which include photos of old Cameron Highlands and some are quite tacky, like advert signboards and beer paraphernalia.

There's few bottle of drinks which probably from the 1980s displayed on the table and what made me wonder the most is what is the taste of a curdled soy drink....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Time Tunnel Museum also viewed

Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
Cameron Highlands, Pahang
 

Been to Time Tunnel Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing