We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steamboat was horrid ... but the escargots came free :(”
Review of Ok Tuck

Ok Tuck
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Brinchang
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Chinese - Malay food
Restaurant details
Description: Chinese - Malay food
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Steamboat was horrid ... but the escargots came free :(”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Probably the most disappointing steamboat in Camerons. The Chicken Broth tasted like water, probably was just water but I was clouded by the fact that they told me it was chicken broth. Up front their board advertises fantastic dishes at a great rate. The rate was great but not the food. By the way, our vegetables came with escargots which we never ordered. Please refer to picture attached. Yeah but that also signifies that their vegetables has no pesticides. Nothing to say accept, if you have somewhere else to eat, make this the last resort.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryChin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    29
    31
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Terrible”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

After reading tripadvisor review, true as it is, lady boss and middle aged man were crude. One customers was reprimanded after she complained about the food not arriving. This man throw menu book on table. Moreover, after lunch, we left our shopping goodies next to pour table, so we call the lady boss right away. She was uncooperative and unhelpful. Surely when we return to find but was told not found. There were cheap canned food. Never go back to 'TUCK' OK. known by locals there mean "NOT" ok.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food is ok but we expected better service”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We went to the restaurant because the lady served us at first was friendly, but when we sat down, another middle age guy threw the menu on our table and took order from us. It was rude!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivylance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food OK, but service NOT OK.”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We ordered steamboat for 4 person (RM15/head) and the food was just normal and satisfactory since you'll find almost the same thing in other restaurant. They missed our a la carte order but the nice beer pork ribs are worth waiting.

However, service was quite bad. The lady boss looks quite rude and while taking order, she did not really pay attention and no eye contact with us. Other workers were also the same, doesn't seem to be friendly and polite. They should really improve on the servicing, otherwise they'll be losing quite number of customers even though the food is not bad. There're still plenty of restaurants which charge reasonably with nice food and good service, ignore OK tuck if you have a better choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SPKhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad, terrible & rude service ever!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Ok tuck res service is sucks. We just sat down then the captain ask for order. He showed inpatient face during bee discussion. It just less than 30 seconds. I asked him to come later as some of our family member still yet to reach restaurant. He just walked away by a sour face. Okay, drinks ordering time...another younger guy took our order. He gave the same face n talk very rude.
There's a table's wear stand at our table. Just finished ordering then the man came to ask weather we still need the table wear. I was saying to him we just order and can see our table still empty not even serve the drinks yet. U know Wat he said to us?!? "U faster take Wat u need. I need to pass this to others table."
Wth!!!!???

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ok Tuck also viewed

Cameron Highlands, Pahang
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
 
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
Brinchang, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to Ok Tuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing