We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape into the cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great escape into the cool”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

What a wonderful find. A delightful hotel from a gone by era. Excellent and friendly service. Very well appointed rooms, lovely 4 poster bed with high thread count sheets, comfortable mattress. Fresh fruit ,and fresh flowers on arrival in the room, Local tea ( yes tea leaves) with kettle and teapot,not forgetting milk in the fridge plus a nespresso machine and pods,perfect. A good flat screen tv,and wifi in our room.screens on the windows so you can have fresh air at night without the Mosquitos .a decent complimentary breakfast.
We had left a very hot and humid Penang and found a delightful getaway with perfect temperatures,should have stayed longer.restaurant very good for dinner.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear AnnaLast

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it is the key in our efforts to continue improving our services.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.

Once again, thank you very much for the recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    289
    71
    34
    10
See reviews for
262
382
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived at the Lakehouse from Singapore and after a flight and long drive were given a relaxing complimentary neck and shoulder massage which was most welcome. Both the exterior and interior of the hotel exudes old world English charm and the building could have been plucked from the Cotswolds or the English Lake District and deposited in Ringlet.

Our room with a four poster bed had a large en suite bathroom and in addition to tea making facilities had a rather sophisticated coffee machine with real coffee, not instant coffee powder. The food was delicious and well presented with a good choice of wine and the staff were warm and friendly.

The hotel arranged a local taxi driver to take us to a tea plantation. The driver also acted as a very knowledgeable guide who escorted us around the complex. After a very interesting and enjoyable three hours or so, his charges were so cheap that I felt obliged to give him double his asking price! You must engage him if you go to The Lakehouse.

My wife and I were celebrating a special wedding anniversary and the staff at the hotel pulled out all the stops to make the occasion as memorable as possible and we thank them for all they did for us.

We would certainly love to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingston1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear kingston1420

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lakehouse with our Tripadvisor readers.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel, its gardens and the service during your stay.
The coffee machine has recently been added to all our rooms and we are delighted you enjoy using it.

Once again, thank you very much for the recommendations and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We are a french family living in Singapore, and we chose to stay in this hotel for a four days trip in Cameron Highlands early March. 6 of us traveled (4 adults and 2 kids 8 and 10) and we booked two deluxe rooms.

The Lakeouse is a very famous place in Cameron, as the building is dated 1966, hence its lovely british-colonial-tudor style architecture. The interior finishes in the common areas and the rooms are very nice, and, at the minute we entered the resort, we felt good and relaxed.

The service is perfect, very stylish. The staff is professional, always here to serve you with a smile.

We also do recommend the hotel restaurant: we tried it the first night for dinner, and we liked it so much that we returned back to it for the two subsequent nights ! And after dinner, the bar is a nice place to relax, play cards or chat with a good whisky or cognac!

In addition, there's point that we really appreciated : the staff washes the guest's vehicles ! Very useful because visiting Cameron highlands involves driving in some paths where you can easily get your car dusty ...

It was a perfect stay for us. The Lakehouse deserves its reputation of no #1 hotel in Cameron.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rami52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Rami52

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it is the key in our efforts to continue improving our services.
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay. Washing of our guests' cars is one of the surprises we do and we are pleased to know you liked it.

Once again, thank you very much for the recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We travelled from KL by bus and were dropped right in front of the hotel. The reception is on first floor, so you can trolley your luggage on the driveway. One of the staff helped us carry it to lobby. We were warmly welcomed and offered welcome ginger lemon drink at the bar. It was lovely after the horrible bus journey. We were also offered 5 mins complimentary back massage which was wonderful. We booked the couples synergy package at the spa which was very good.
The room has old world charm and is lovely and romantic. Showers are bit tricky as it takes time between two showers for water to heat up. Toiletries are in reusable pots with cork top. Not very hygienic as they keep getting filled with water. There is turn down service and staff replenish water bottles and give cookies and other goodies. Definitely pampered. Staff is lovely. Public areas are plenty and charming.
On the down side hotel is bit far from any other attraction and eateries. There is good Chinese shop a km down the road which is very good. Unless you have you own transport you will be eating at the hotel. The serving staff is very quick with service, too much so. Our soup and mains on both nights had the canned and curry bottle paste taste and appearance. The on duty manager was very friendly and offered us deviation from the menu. Much appreciated. Breakfast is good. Presentation of dishes can be improved. For the price of dishes please avoid bone and gristle. eating in the hotel is very pricey for the food served. You would get better and cheaper food with taxi fare included elsewhere.
We booked day trip through the hotel for 130 RG. The tour company Eco Cameron does this for 90 RG. I understand the hotel has to make some money even then book directly through the tour website or by phone.
This is a lovely place if the restaurant can balance food quality and price. I would definitely return if I had my own transport to go about. Full compliments to the lovely staff.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the terrace areas have lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1marshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear harshal m

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lakehouse with our Tripadvisor readers.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.
With regards to your comment about the food prices, we have actually reduced the price on our menu item, this was a result from a number guest response and we are now less expensive than other options in the same category offering similar dining experience through Cameron Highlands

The tour prices quoted at the hotel are given to us by Eco Cameron, the price includes pick-up and drop off at the hotel. For RM90, the price is for the tour from Tanah Rata, you will need to make your own way there.
We hope this clarifies as we are providing a service to our guests with regards to tours and no extra increase of price other than quoted by the tour companies.

Again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Lakehouse in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The quaint and whimsical settings, the quiet environment for total relaxation, as well as the thoughtful gestures and their wonderful service is what i miss the most at The Lakehouse. The peaceful and serene environment of the resort really rejuvenate my entire being and my family too!

I am satisfied of my stay at The Lakehouse and I foresee myself coming back again in the next few months. A personal thanks to the duty staffs at the counter, the housemaids on duty and i would like to compliment Jason for accommodating to my child request for another plate of good breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AwisShinoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear AwisShinoda

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it is the key in our efforts to continue improving our services.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.
Your comments will be shared with Jason and the team to motivate them.

Again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Lakehouse in the near future


Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed in the junior suite a few weekends ago. The room was fantastic - space was perfect for our daughter to play without feeling to cramped. The bathrooms were also very nice. We enjoyed the complimentary local tea and coffee in the room as well. The staff at the hotel were also incredibly helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant both nights and enjoyed the meals also! We look forward to another trip back to CH. We would definitely stay in The Lakehouse again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonalivrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Sonalivrao

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and share it on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear you liked the Junior Suite and enjoyed the meals at the hotel.
Your comments will be shared with the team to motivate them.

Again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Lakehouse in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I just looked at the pictures again, we had a great stay at The Lakehouse. We stayed for 2 days and it felt great! The place is perfect, the room, the fireplace (after dinner we had our coffee there and some wine after that), the terrace!!! There is a lot to do around the Lakehouse, but we spent most of our time at the Lakehouse.

We loved sitting on the terrace, some nice (not to loud) music in the back, some drinks and just read and relax...

The 'jungletour' was also very exciting, liked it a lot. We had a high tea at the terrace, went to the Boh tea plantation (arrived too late to go to the other one, that seems to have even better views), to a Strawberry/bee farm and I had a great footreflexology massage at the Spa of the Lakehouse.

Breakfast: lots of choices, dinner was also very good.

And we had some very nice talks with Thiru and Jason, thank you for that too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dopenemiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena W, Manager at The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Dopenemiel

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it is the key in our efforts to continue improving our services.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the hotel and the service during your stay.
Your comments will be shared with Jason, Thiru and the team to motivate them.

Again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Lakehouse in the near future

Best Regards

Lena Wee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringlet
3.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
2.9 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
778 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#4 of 12 in Tanah Rata
142 reviews
4.2 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
124 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands

Property: The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Address: 30th Mile Ringlet | Cameron Highlands, Ringlet 39200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Ringlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200km north of Kuala Lumpur, set against lush state reserve forests 1,000m above sea level in the Cameron Highlands, The Lakehouse is a Tudor-style country house overlooking the Sultan Abu Bakar Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Hotel Ringlet
Days Inn Ringlet
Lakehouse Cameron Highlands Ringlet
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing