We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Clean”
Review of Durian Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerantut
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Durian Chalet
Ranked #2 of 6 Jerantut B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Durian Chalets is situated about 5 minutes walk away from the Floating Restaurants at Kuala Tahan Village, past the Police Station.
Be sure to have a Torchlight as is could get a bit dark at night, as there is no street lights.
The rooms are quite basic but clean and cheap, which came with mosquito net, fan and attached shower which cost RM 60.00 per night.
They also have a very small restaurant attached to their premises.
The wonderful thing is that this chalet is in a middle of an orchard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

Im reviewing the chalets that cost RM60 per night. My wife and i stayed in one of the brick build chalets for 3 nights and were satisfied with that we had. Bed, mosquito net, fan, sink, shower, toilet and kettle (altho we didnt use the kettle).
The shower only give cold water but that's fine because coming in from the heat you want it nice and cool.
We found the place a little bit of a walk from the floating resturaunts but not too far. About a 10 min walk. Make sure you bring a torch when coming and going at night though because the road that leads there has no lights.
Cool jungle sounds outside at night.

TIP: Avoid Mama Chop floating resturaunt (the first one you come to after the shops). I dont know why it's raved about in the Lonely Planet book because the food is mediocre, the staff miserable and most of the menu is unavailable. The other resturaunts on the river are very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mistermark_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The place is far out of town. More importantly our room was very old and dirty. The whole place was smelly as well. Poor value all in all. To us it seemed the owner stopped putting effort in the place after being positively mentioned in the Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teernstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Different types of chalets, all located in well maintained and nice tropical garden. Jungle sounds allover the place. Location somewhat out of the village, but all is on walking distance. Chalets are clean en nice decorated. Small terrace with chairs in front. Friendly staff. Roomrates vary according to the type of chalet, our was 60 Rm minus 10 rm discount. Breakfast sometimes possible, sometimes not, however in the centere of the village there are early in the morning excellent hawker stalls with great and very cheap food. Around 4 rm for a full local breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mavis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

50 per night for 3 people room with bathroom attached. but you need some walking exercise when you want to go floating restaurant as it located quite far away.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lookforwardd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

stayed in clean family room @ 50 RM/night,
intended to stay one or two nights but stayed five,
friendly host family, quiet location,
attached restaurant food was good and cheap but a bit unreliable with opening times,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank energysustaied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed in a bamboo hut for 25 rm per night. The huts are very basic: two beds with mosquito nets, basic bathroom but very good value. The surrounding garden is well kept and sleeping in the huts is great due to the 'jungle sounds' surrounding you. Everything was clean. We really enjoyed our stay at Durian chalets.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerantut
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Taman Negara
Mutiara Taman Negara
#1 of 3 in Kuala Tahan
1,141 reviews
2.6 mi away
Balai Serama Guesthouse
Balai Serama Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Jerantut
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Han Rainforest Resort
Han Rainforest Resort
#8 of 12 in Jerantut
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 mi away
Wau Hotel & Cafe
Wau Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 12 in Jerantut
179 reviews
35.6 mi away
Felda Residence Tekam
Felda Residence Tekam
#3 of 12 in Jerantut
29 reviews
31 mi away
Town Inn Hotel
Town Inn Hotel
#7 of 12 in Jerantut
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durian Chalet

Address: Jalan Tahan, Jerantut 27000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Jerantut
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Jerantut
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Durian Chalet Hotel Jerantut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing