We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping and maintenance issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Han Rainforest Resort
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Booked 2 rooms (430 & 431) at this hotel for 2 night's stay based on travel agent's recommendations. From the outside, it looks good.

First impression of the rooms were a let down. The internal door latch of the main door was broken. The toilet seats of both rooms were soiled by urine and we cleaned it outselves. The soap tray(431) was missing and had to be left on the bathroom floor. Not too pleasant during shower when the floor was soon flooded due to plugged drain. Informed the maintenance crew to clear the drain. When picking the soap from the floor, I noticed that the bathroom walls had not been scrubbed for sometime as they were blackish from molds. The fittings in the bathroom were falling apart. The bidet was leaking and the sink cracked. The bathroom door could not be locked from inside.

Next, the TV was not working and the set was replaced. The reception was however very poor. I missed my news at night. Wifi was intermittent. The cupboards and drawers were also thick with dust!

In the morning, I discovered some menstruation stains on my bed sheet! I am a man ok. I am not sure if they changed the bed sheet or it was from a poor laundry job. To say I am pissed off is an understatement.

I threw quite a bit of rubbish in the bin in the corridor and it was still there the next evening!

The buffet breakfast is reasonable in my humble opinion.

This hotel has serious housekeeping and maintenance issues.

We felt safe staying in this hotel and this is the only plus I could give.

Room Tip: Get a room near the office so that you can get wifi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here with a huge group of friends for a night. The place is really basic. Don't really understand why they call it a resort, it is just a hotel with average rooms.

The rooms are a decent size, clean and sufficiently maintained. The staff we quite helpful and helped us book the trips to the rainforest which was the purpose of our trip.

Don't expect too much variety or taste from the food. It is about average. The breakfast spread is not too great either.

Overall, it wasn't a fabulous stay but there was nothing horribly wrong either. And unless you are willing to stay at the expensive Taman Negara Rainforest Resort, there isn't much choice in Kuala Tahan.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

When we arrived we had been allocated the wrong rooms (we had requested rooms in the lowest block as they back onto the forest and offer bird watching opportunities from the "balcony") however a pleasant man on reception made the necessary change and within 30 minutes we had our rooms.
The rooms were a good size, clean, well maintained and with air con, tv and toiletries. There is a short, steep slope down to the rooms.
Breakfast was standard malaysian fare with a small mix of local/western dishes.
The hotel is lovely and quiet.
You can also follow the road up the hill just outside the hotel for fantastic bird watching (look out for the dead trees on the left at the top where many woodpeckers can be found).

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the lowest block for bird watching from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevTheClotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This resort is located just behind the Woodlands Resort in Kuala Tahan. After inspecting the Woodlands Resort (which was absolutely horrible) we were lucky to find the Rainforest as we did not book in advance. In comparison to the other 'resorts' in the area, although nothing fancy - this place is clean and pleasant. The reception arranged for a boat for the six of us to go canopy walk, rapid shooting and visit to the Orang Asli settlement for RM200, which was good value for 2 hours. The hotel van even took us to the boat jetty and back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Very pleasant hotel/resort. Good sized room with balcony (delux room 180 RM/night with somewhat variable breakfast). Puzzling electrical circuits and switches. Easy walk to town, ferries and on the door step of the national park. Ensure you stock up with Alcohol before coming .. there is a large cheap supermarket in the market square of Kuala Lupis for example.

Room Tip: Seem to have very good special offers on rooms. We chose one with a balcony so we could have a few b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The Bad: Couldn't get to internet it was always taken, bathrooms pretty grose
The good: Rooms were nice and air conditioned, yummy breakfast.

All and all i recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lel_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at rainforest resort for the first night in the area and moved to this place for the rest of our stay. The difference between the two was stark with tamen negara rainforest resort being so much the better. Lovely large chalet with double bed and ensure with balcony with view limited to a wall of trees (sort of expected!). Food was not as good as it could be and that can be said for the whole area. Proximity to rainforest it goes without saying is second to none.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerantut
0.5 mi away
Mutiara Taman Negara
Mutiara Taman Negara
#1 of 3 in Kuala Tahan
1,171 reviews
29.5 mi away
Wau Hotel & Cafe
Wau Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 12 in Jerantut
180 reviews
35.5 mi away
Felda Residence Tekam
Felda Residence Tekam
#4 of 12 in Jerantut
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Nusa Holiday Village
Nusa Holiday Village
#2 of 12 in Jerantut
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hana Guesthouse
Hana Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tebing Guesthouse
Tebing Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Han Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han Rainforest Resort

Address: Han Rainforest Resort | Kuala Tahan, Taman Negara, Jerantut 27000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Jerantut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Price Range: £16 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Han Rainforest Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAN Rainforest Resort consisting 130 rooms. Free shuttle Resort-Jetty. No peak season surcharge FLAT RATE and 50% discount during promotion period. Free parking space. Large group,corporates,gorvernment agency,student and private association are welcome.Departure point for transfer to Kuala Lumpur, Cameron Highlands and Kuala Besut Jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Han Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Resort Taman Negara Hotel Jerantut
Rainforest Hotel Jerantut
Rainforest Hotel Taman Negara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing