We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced and basic” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Han Rainforest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Han Rainforest Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Over priced and basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Compared to other hotels in Malaysia, this is basic and overpriced. We purchased the tours and food package. The food was plentiful and tasty although the coffee could be better. The rooms were basic and would have benefited for mosquito screens and fans to reduce air con use. The bathrooms were dirty with plenty of hot water and good pressure.

You could save cash by purchasing food in town and organized tours separately. Some of the tours could be self guided esp. night walk and canopy walk. Take a flash light for night tour and decent walking shoes or runners.

It has a convenience store so buy drinks for dinner here. There are no massage or other spa services in the local area including other resorts.

Free WiFi in reception.

They did not have any record of our booking, concerning after 3hrs drive. They didn't seem too keen to keep us there either. Should have checked the rooms first so we had the option of checking other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    38
    68
    44
    26
See reviews for
45
85
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

beautiful location but maintenance of the whole property is quite poor. The rooms are quite dirty and moldy (we have seen 3). We had no hot water and no cafe and tea facilities as mentioned on the website. If there is heavy rain and you're staying in the wrong room as we did, it will drip through the roof into your face :-) The terrace of our room was not usable, two moldy dirty wooden chairs, a dripping air con and hardly cleaned before. The cafe is not operating and the variety of food and drinks you can order is very limited. Do yourself the favor and book yourself into the Mutiara.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suse100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerantut hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

I left it on shelf in the room not to get wet. And after room cleaning we cameback to our room and it was gone. Management told sorry, and tHat!s !all I paid full amount for staying and no compensation Never r go there? Very bad mood and sp!oiled my vacation, all pictures gone from my family vacations, no conection. Tolatty bad. Never go there!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terengganu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Booked 2 rooms (430 & 431) at this hotel for 2 night's stay based on travel agent's recommendations. From the outside, it looks good.

First impression of the rooms were a let down. The internal door latch of the main door was broken. The toilet seats of both rooms were soiled by urine and we cleaned it outselves. The soap tray(431) was missing and had to be left on the bathroom floor. Not too pleasant during shower when the floor was soon flooded due to plugged drain. Informed the maintenance crew to clear the drain. When picking the soap from the floor, I noticed that the bathroom walls had not been scrubbed for sometime as they were blackish from molds. The fittings in the bathroom were falling apart. The bidet was leaking and the sink cracked. The bathroom door could not be locked from inside.

Next, the TV was not working and the set was replaced. The reception was however very poor. I missed my news at night. Wifi was intermittent. The cupboards and drawers were also thick with dust!

In the morning, I discovered some menstruation stains on my bed sheet! I am a man ok. I am not sure if they changed the bed sheet or it was from a poor laundry job. To say I am pissed off is an understatement.

I threw quite a bit of rubbish in the bin in the corridor and it was still there the next evening!

The buffet breakfast is reasonable in my humble opinion.

This hotel has serious housekeeping and maintenance issues.

We felt safe staying in this hotel and this is the only plus I could give.

Room Tip: Get a room near the office so that you can get wifi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here with a huge group of friends for a night. The place is really basic. Don't really understand why they call it a resort, it is just a hotel with average rooms.

The rooms are a decent size, clean and sufficiently maintained. The staff we quite helpful and helped us book the trips to the rainforest which was the purpose of our trip.

Don't expect too much variety or taste from the food. It is about average. The breakfast spread is not too great either.

Overall, it wasn't a fabulous stay but there was nothing horribly wrong either. And unless you are willing to stay at the expensive Taman Negara Rainforest Resort, there isn't much choice in Kuala Tahan.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

When we arrived we had been allocated the wrong rooms (we had requested rooms in the lowest block as they back onto the forest and offer bird watching opportunities from the "balcony") however a pleasant man on reception made the necessary change and within 30 minutes we had our rooms.
The rooms were a good size, clean, well maintained and with air con, tv and toiletries. There is a short, steep slope down to the rooms.
Breakfast was standard malaysian fare with a small mix of local/western dishes.
The hotel is lovely and quiet.
You can also follow the road up the hill just outside the hotel for fantastic bird watching (look out for the dead trees on the left at the top where many woodpeckers can be found).

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the lowest block for bird watching from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevTheClotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This resort is located just behind the Woodlands Resort in Kuala Tahan. After inspecting the Woodlands Resort (which was absolutely horrible) we were lucky to find the Rainforest as we did not book in advance. In comparison to the other 'resorts' in the area, although nothing fancy - this place is clean and pleasant. The reception arranged for a boat for the six of us to go canopy walk, rapid shooting and visit to the Orang Asli settlement for RM200, which was good value for 2 hours. The hotel van even took us to the boat jetty and back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerantut
0.0 mi away
Mutiara Taman Negara
Mutiara Taman Negara
#1 of 3 in Kuala Tahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nusa Holiday Village
Nusa Holiday Village
#2 of 12 in Jerantut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wau Hotel & Cafe
Wau Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 12 in Jerantut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Balai Serama Guesthouse
Balai Serama Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Jerantut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nusa Holiday Villa
Nusa Holiday Villa
#5 of 6 in Kuala Tahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xcape Resort Taman Negara
Xcape Resort Taman Negara
#4 of 6 in Kuala Tahan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Han Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han Rainforest Resort

Property: Han Rainforest Resort
Address: Taman Negara | Kuala Tahan, Jerantut 27020, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Jerantut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Han Rainforest Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Han Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Resort Taman Negara Hotel Jerantut
Rainforest Hotel Jerantut
Rainforest Hotel Taman Negara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing