We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic accommodation, lower your expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Han Rainforest Resort
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I really was hoping to give a good review on this resort, sadly there are some things that definitely need highlighting for other travelers to consider before deciding to stay here.
One big plus point for the resort is that their staff were nice and accommodating, even apologetic for the shortcomings of the resort. Free wifi is available but only in the reception area. The location setting puts you much into the whole rainforest concept, which is quite pleasant. I did not encounter any mosquitoes throughout my stay there. Rooms were well-sized, and beds were nice and comfy. Our toilets were clean, no complaints there.
Breakfast depends on the number of patrons. Our first day we enjoyed a buffet breakfast with basic food choices (scrambled and boiled eggs, fried mee, fried rice, fish balls, pancakes & syrup, toast) , while on the second day breakfast was made to order (2 eggs cooked upon choice, sausages, toast and baked beans). Free flow of coffee/tea and fruits on both occasions.

Now for the negative. During our stay we were unlucky enough to be faced with a water supply shortage. Apparently the main pipes that supplied water to this particular resort were faulty and they were still in the midst of repairing the water supply. However, the resort supplied limitless amounts of bottled water to all patrons, and delivered boxes of water on a daily basis to our rooms which was more than enough.
The aircondition unit did not come with an attached thermostat. This meant that the temperature was set for our airconditioning permanently. To regulate the temperature, we had to open the sliding doors and let the outside air in. Of course, due to safety reasons this was not an option at night, which left us freezing inside. There was also no option to easily turn off the airconditioning unless one were able to reach the plug right next to the unit.
The television only had 2 channels available at a time, which was controlled by a central satellite unit located elsewhere. This meant that channels would sometimes be flipped without warning. Picture quality was extremely horrid and mainly white noise, something that you would no longer expect in this day and age. Although your main intentions to be in the vicinity of a rainforest would be more to enjoy nature, we feel that at the rates paid for, the tv facility should at least have been a proper one.
There was a mini fridge, but it was empty. A 'pricelist' was still available to the side of this 'mini-bar' so one would assume it was a service once provided. Tea and coffee making facilities were also nonexistent. We managed to request for a water kettle (we had brought our own hot beverage mixes) but were also told that the availability was limited and subject to demand.
The aircondition unit compressor was located on the verandah, where two wooden seats were placed. However, ours dripped continuously so sitting on the verandah was not an option at all.
We enjoyed the 'night safari' tour that came bundled with our stay, which was basically a drive through the nearby oil palm plantations on a 4x4 with a guide helping us locate animal species, but at RM70 per person, it might be a bit too steep for that, unless we were to go into the actual forests.

Overall, based on the shortcomings above I would rate this place as average. If the place was advertised as a budget stay (and rates reflected that) one would have been more accepting of these shortcomings. Portraying itself as a full-fledged resort then not quite being able to fulfill one's expectations would place itself as nothing but average.

Room Tip: Distance from the reception area goes by block, with block A being closer and block C furthest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IzzyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Compared to other hotels in Malaysia, this is basic and overpriced. We purchased the tours and food package. The food was plentiful and tasty although the coffee could be better. The rooms were basic and would have benefited for mosquito screens and fans to reduce air con use. The bathrooms were dirty with plenty of hot water and good pressure.

You could save cash by purchasing food in town and organized tours separately. Some of the tours could be self guided esp. night walk and canopy walk. Take a flash light for night tour and decent walking shoes or runners.

It has a convenience store so buy drinks for dinner here. There are no massage or other spa services in the local area including other resorts.

Free WiFi in reception.

They did not have any record of our booking, concerning after 3hrs drive. They didn't seem too keen to keep us there either. Should have checked the rooms first so we had the option of checking other hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

beautiful location but maintenance of the whole property is quite poor. The rooms are quite dirty and moldy (we have seen 3). We had no hot water and no cafe and tea facilities as mentioned on the website. If there is heavy rain and you're staying in the wrong room as we did, it will drip through the roof into your face :-) The terrace of our room was not usable, two moldy dirty wooden chairs, a dripping air con and hardly cleaned before. The cafe is not operating and the variety of food and drinks you can order is very limited. Do yourself the favor and book yourself into the Mutiara.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suse100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I left it on shelf in the room not to get wet. And after room cleaning we cameback to our room and it was gone. Management told sorry, and tHat!s !all I paid full amount for staying and no compensation Never r go there? Very bad mood and sp!oiled my vacation, all pictures gone from my family vacations, no conection. Tolatty bad. Never go there!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Ricardas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Booked 2 rooms (430 & 431) at this hotel for 2 night's stay based on travel agent's recommendations. From the outside, it looks good.

First impression of the rooms were a let down. The internal door latch of the main door was broken. The toilet seats of both rooms were soiled by urine and we cleaned it outselves. The soap tray(431) was missing and had to be left on the bathroom floor. Not too pleasant during shower when the floor was soon flooded due to plugged drain. Informed the maintenance crew to clear the drain. When picking the soap from the floor, I noticed that the bathroom walls had not been scrubbed for sometime as they were blackish from molds. The fittings in the bathroom were falling apart. The bidet was leaking and the sink cracked. The bathroom door could not be locked from inside.

Next, the TV was not working and the set was replaced. The reception was however very poor. I missed my news at night. Wifi was intermittent. The cupboards and drawers were also thick with dust!

In the morning, I discovered some menstruation stains on my bed sheet! I am a man ok. I am not sure if they changed the bed sheet or it was from a poor laundry job. To say I am pissed off is an understatement.

I threw quite a bit of rubbish in the bin in the corridor and it was still there the next evening!

The buffet breakfast is reasonable in my humble opinion.

This hotel has serious housekeeping and maintenance issues.

We felt safe staying in this hotel and this is the only plus I could give.

Room Tip: Get a room near the office so that you can get wifi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here with a huge group of friends for a night. The place is really basic. Don't really understand why they call it a resort, it is just a hotel with average rooms.

The rooms are a decent size, clean and sufficiently maintained. The staff we quite helpful and helped us book the trips to the rainforest which was the purpose of our trip.

Don't expect too much variety or taste from the food. It is about average. The breakfast spread is not too great either.

Overall, it wasn't a fabulous stay but there was nothing horribly wrong either. And unless you are willing to stay at the expensive Taman Negara Rainforest Resort, there isn't much choice in Kuala Tahan.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

When we arrived we had been allocated the wrong rooms (we had requested rooms in the lowest block as they back onto the forest and offer bird watching opportunities from the "balcony") however a pleasant man on reception made the necessary change and within 30 minutes we had our rooms.
The rooms were a good size, clean, well maintained and with air con, tv and toiletries. There is a short, steep slope down to the rooms.
Breakfast was standard malaysian fare with a small mix of local/western dishes.
The hotel is lovely and quiet.
You can also follow the road up the hill just outside the hotel for fantastic bird watching (look out for the dead trees on the left at the top where many woodpeckers can be found).

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the lowest block for bird watching from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevTheClotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerantut
1.7 mi away
Mutiara Taman Negara
Mutiara Taman Negara
#1 of 3 in Kuala Tahan
1,127 reviews
30.3 mi away
Wau Hotel & Cafe
Wau Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 12 in Jerantut
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nusa Holiday Village
Nusa Holiday Village
#2 of 12 in Jerantut
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 mi away
Town Inn Hotel
Town Inn Hotel
#7 of 12 in Jerantut
20 reviews
30.9 mi away
Jerantut Hill Inn
Jerantut Hill Inn
#4 of 12 in Jerantut
5 reviews
35.5 mi away
Felda Residence Tekam
Felda Residence Tekam
#3 of 12 in Jerantut
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Han Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han Rainforest Resort

Address: Han Rainforest Resort | Kuala Tahan, Taman Negara, Jerantut 27000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Jerantut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Price Range: £16 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Han Rainforest Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAN Rainforest Resort consisting 130 rooms. Free shuttle Resort-Jetty. No peak season surcharge FLAT RATE and 50% discount during promotion period. Free parking space. Large group,corporates,gorvernment agency,student and private association are welcome.Departure point for transfer to Kuala Lumpur, Cameron Highlands and Kuala Besut Jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Han Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Resort Taman Negara Hotel Jerantut
Rainforest Hotel Jerantut
Rainforest Hotel Taman Negara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing