We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bummer, first degree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Han Rainforest Resort
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We booked a package deal with NKS in Malaysia for Taman Negara and because one employee was not making a booking at the Woodland resort the only thing we could do is except the 'left over' (for the same price) Rainforest resort. Our Deluxe room was slightly better than a hostel. No hot water during our stay of 4 nights, remote for airco aswell as tv where missing. The room and bathroom was not clean. Complaining to the hotel about the water ended in a 'it's on repair and the parts are not arrived'. The NKS which should overview the package regarding quality and accommodtion has only been there during contractmeetings because it dit looked shabby. Complaining at the NKS office KL, reagrading the package deal resultated in no result. The package is to expensive regarding the offered items. Never again, both for NKS aswell Rainforest Resort

Room Tip: Select a different accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

Very basic room even if we stayed in the deluxe one. Overall ok, small bathroom with hot shower. There is a buffet dinner but we didn't eat there. The breakfast is average with some fruit, bread and eggs. The place is ok if you come to the park mainly for the activities. Staff at reception is nice and can organize 4W night drive in request. Inside the hotel there is also an office to organze treks (but we went directly to the park HQ) and a small minimarket with beer. Position is ok, about 15 min walk from the park but they also have free shuttles.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We didn't expect much for any place in taman negara. All we were hoping for was a clean place. It was cleaner than other places in kuala tahan (heard from other visitors). However, what put me off was the dirty pillow. I got severe allergy on my exposed neck where it touched the pillow. The room was outdatedbut that was OK. The location is at the far end of the river so expecting10 mins walk. It wasnt too bad but it could be in the hot and humid environment. Since the occupancy was low, they served the breakfast instead of having the buffet. The breakfast was poor. The last day buffet breakfast was decent but that was due to a big school group coming in. Also, with big school group, it was quite noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astronebula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Keep in mind that this is the gateway to Taman Negara and most accomodation is very basic. Rainforest Resort is not so bad actually. Yes it's about 10 mins walk to the river but there is also transportation from the hotel (2 ringgit pp). We had a 3 person room with jungle view. And a small terrace at which we could sit in the evenings when our son was already sleeping. Don't forget to bring insect repellent though. The room was clean, though also a bit worn down. Plaster was coming from the walls and try not to sit against the walls for the white chalk comes of. Breakfast was limited choice and always cold.

In the restaurant is also a minimarket which sells cold drinks and even beer. Lots of people buy drinks in the mini market (when the restaurant is out of service) and drink it in the restaurant.

I think this is one of the best choices in Kuala Tahan. Clean, reasonable price and quiet.

Room Tip: We had a room in the Camellia wing that had jungle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miep_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

After reading reviews on here I was very apprehensive about our 2 night stay at this hotel, but on arrival I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. Yes the rooms are tired and need updating, but I found them clean enough and the beds very comfortable. The food however is awful, but for a 2 night stay we coped ok with toast for breakfast and curry for dinner. We bought a 3 day, 2 night package including activities, which was reasonably priced and lots of fun!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank lyndsayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The resort is located quite far from the river, it's ok to have a short walk (abt 15min) on the sloppy roads but must bring torch along if walking at night. We tried to get shuttle from the resort but it took time for the driver to come, so we rather walked. The breakfast is included for our package. It's still acceptable but very limited choice. The room is spacious, sandy floor, no shower curtain and noisy air-conditioning. The TV reception was bad and limited channels (3 only) to be watched. The environment of the resort is nice, surrounded by trees and flowers, fresh air.

Room Tip: Alamanda is spacious and nearer to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel is very overpriced. Breakfast is poor as well as diner although it is 5x more expensive than in the floating restaurants. Wifi was not working, no service per se. Besides it is 50RM more if you book via email instead of just showing up... It is 5-10min from the river by walk but that's ok. At least it is quiet at night. It was just very expensive for the quality i think.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morphling20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerantut
0.5 mi away
Mutiara Taman Negara
Mutiara Taman Negara
#1 of 3 in Kuala Tahan
1,173 reviews
29.5 mi away
Wau Hotel & Cafe
Wau Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 12 in Jerantut
180 reviews
31 mi away
Jerantut Hill Inn
Jerantut Hill Inn
#3 of 12 in Jerantut
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Nusa Holiday Village
Nusa Holiday Village
#2 of 12 in Jerantut
39 reviews
35.5 mi away
Felda Residence Tekam
Felda Residence Tekam
#4 of 12 in Jerantut
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hana Guesthouse
Hana Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Kuala Tahan
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Han Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han Rainforest Resort

Address: Han Rainforest Resort | Kuala Tahan, Taman Negara, Jerantut 27000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Jerantut District > Jerantut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Jerantut
Price Range: £16 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Han Rainforest Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAN Rainforest Resort consisting 130 rooms. Free shuttle Resort-Jetty. No peak season surcharge FLAT RATE and 50% discount during promotion period. Free parking space. Large group,corporates,gorvernment agency,student and private association are welcome.Departure point for transfer to Kuala Lumpur, Cameron Highlands and Kuala Besut Jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Han Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Resort Taman Negara Hotel Jerantut
Rainforest Hotel Jerantut
Rainforest Hotel Taman Negara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing