We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor condition of room”
Review of Ranting Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuantan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranting Resort
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed there for only a night then move to other resort. The best location in Cherating but the very2 worst in term of its cleanliness. They re-used the bed sheet and pillowcase. How could Only a light in the room and the light in the toilet very sorrow maybe to hide its dirt. Totally Not worth with the price offered to us. Besides, so many mosquito there, better bring a repellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahusnaroizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

We rented 2 chalets fronting the sea; one chalet with 2 double beds in 1 room n another chalet equipped with 2 double beds in seperate room which were costed us RM250 and RM300 respectively (on weakend).The interior doesn't look very nice as the chalet made from wood painted with long-time-ago brown color, cracked ceiling,old furniture, old curtain, old & dirty bedsheet (need proper cleaning service). Our RM300-room equipped with aircond,stand fan (for smaller room),TV & shower.Equipped with neither toilettories,towel, nor electrical kettle. Suggest to have broom in every room or outside water pipe for cleaning purpose esp. needed after coming from the seashore. The chalet is equipped with TM Wifi so who has subscribbed to TM broadband svc eg. Streamyx/unifi can utilise the free Wifi here.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Achiq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Condition of the chalet was good.Aircond worked very well.I took sea view chalet. The beach was very clean compare to other beaches. My children enjoyed swimming and played sand soccer.
Surely will come back later.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jalut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Agree with others, price could have been cheaper.

Goods:
-The chalets are fronting the sea, which is very nice. You get to see and hear the sea from the balcony of your chalet
-Reasonably clean
-Friendly service

Put-offs:
-Room is very very basic, with tired looking furnishing
-Overprice for the facility provided

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lesprincesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Air conditioned room by the beach side is RM180 (1 double bed), and RM200 (1 double bed + 1 single bed). I think it is abit too overpriced for the quality of the chalet. The non-airconditioned room is RM80 (1 double bed) but these are the older rooms which are located at the opposite side of the road (further from the beach).
However among other chalets nearby, this chalet looks like the most decent one. The environment is nicely maintained and clean, not too old from outside. The room floor is abit dusty (from beach sand i guess) and the toilet for the chalet (we took the air conditioned chalet by the beach side) is still OK. Hot water was working well, and air cond was working well too. The view from the chalet wasnt really that great ...It was not clear sandy beach as expected.
Overall i think it was not worth to pay RM180-200 for this chalet. Whats good is that this chalet only take walk in customers starting at 12 noon, which is good for last minute trip on peak season when all other hotels/chalets are all fully taken.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_A_Traveler_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

At 120RM per night we expected a lot more for our money! The first thing we noticed when we got to our room was there was writing on the walls from previous guests most notably to "beware of peeping this is not a joke". although we didn't experience this problem ourselves it was a little off putting to say the least. The room hadn't been dusted since it was built and the wooden panels were were peeling away from the walls, the shower was hot but that was the only good thing about the bathroom. There was air con a fan and a TV (although this was older than my parents and no channels worked). You will need a mosquito net here.

Relaxed it is but we certainly didn't find paradise in Cherating and most of the other places we looked at didn't look much better.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank milkbottletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2008

We were in need of a last-minute accommodation and were directed to this local "hotel." The accommodations were minimal, but clean. The shower, sink and toilet are in one room with no separations. The doors to the room had about a one inch gap to the doorsill. But......there was air conditioning, which coming from the San Francisco Bay Area was important as there was about a 45 degree differential. The hotel operators were local, reasonable and spoke very limited English.
The main issue is that this is a beach town that comes alive at 11 PM, and motor scooters cruise the primary two-lane road all evening. Thus it is difficult to sleep at night. If we had known this ahead of time, we would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plumeria_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
4.7 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
125 reviews
13.5 mi away
Cempaka Beach Resort
Cempaka Beach Resort
#22 of 44 in Kuantan
4 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kuantan
Hyatt Regency Kuantan
#9 of 44 in Kuantan
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
10.5 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranting Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranting Resort

Address: Lot 1006, Ranting Resort Ranting Resort Kg. Budaya Cherating Jalan Kuantan-Kemaman, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fan 2(pax) RM 120.00 Air conditioning 2(pax) RM 160.00 Air conditioning 3(pax) RM 200.00 Air conditioning 4(pax) RM 230.00 *During weekend and public holidays will have extra charge RM 20.00 per room. *Room deposit RM 50.00 per room. *All rooms have (heater shower, fan and toilets are inside the chalet). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing