We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying to be poor”
Review of Ranting Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuantan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranting Resort
Ranked #41 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I don't know how much the chalet was per night because our relative booked for us but after reading the other reviews, I am surprised that such price was paid for such shabby looking chalet. I was not impressed at all. The interior of the chalet was made out of plywood, the floor was sandy (I wonder if they ever sweep the floor!) and there was no coffee-making facility, let alone a mini bar. This is very hard for us because we have a toddler and we need hot water to make milk. One of the lights in our room has no bulb and only one tv channel was clear. My husband said "We are paying to be poor" which best described the condition of the chalet. After reading other reviews about them not changing the bedsheets, I am just speechless.

Room Tip: Do not book a chalet here. Just don't.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izyan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Ranting Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

On a whim, went to Cheating Beach without any plan or hotel booking. Our first choice, Residence Inn, was fully booked for the weekend, so we went for what I thought would be the next best choice, Ranting Resort. Got a beach front chalet with air con for RM160 a night. Large bed, TV with local channels, and hot water.

First Impression: the garden areas around the chalets unkempt, with leaves and trash all over the place. But from the balcony, what a view of the beach and sea. The room was relatively clean. Air con and hot water worked well. Bed was firm, but OK.
No kettle for making coffee! What the hey?

Room realities: TV had a blurry screen on all channels, making it unusable. Water hose at toilet had a really bad leak, dumping water down the drain the whole time we were there. Complaints to the front desk staff brought indifference and shrugged shoulders. No kettle in the room required going across the street in the morning with a flask to make instant coffee in the room. This is no way to start the day.

For basically the same price as a hotel room, you'd expect the place to be up to a minimum standard. This place is not it. The parking lot was full, so I'm guessing that the majority of these customers are like me, and won't be back for another visit.

This is the first negative review I've made.... I don't take it lightly.
What a great location. Pity. We stayed here a few years ago with a group of people, and had a great time.

Hint: for this price range, the Cheating Bayview Resort would be much better value. For the equivalent of this place, the Coconut Inn would be be better, at half the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DirtyErn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed there for only a night then move to other resort. The best location in Cherating but the very2 worst in term of its cleanliness. They re-used the bed sheet and pillowcase. How could Only a light in the room and the light in the toilet very sorrow maybe to hide its dirt. Totally Not worth with the price offered to us. Besides, so many mosquito there, better bring a repellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahusnaroizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We rented 2 chalets fronting the sea; one chalet with 2 double beds in 1 room n another chalet equipped with 2 double beds in seperate room which were costed us RM250 and RM300 respectively (on weakend).The interior doesn't look very nice as the chalet made from wood painted with long-time-ago brown color, cracked ceiling,old furniture, old curtain, old & dirty bedsheet (need proper cleaning service). Our RM300-room equipped with aircond,stand fan (for smaller room),TV & shower.Equipped with neither toilettories,towel, nor electrical kettle. Suggest to have broom in every room or outside water pipe for cleaning purpose esp. needed after coming from the seashore. The chalet is equipped with TM Wifi so who has subscribbed to TM broadband svc eg. Streamyx/unifi can utilise the free Wifi here.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Achiq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Condition of the chalet was good.Aircond worked very well.I took sea view chalet. The beach was very clean compare to other beaches. My children enjoyed swimming and played sand soccer.
Surely will come back later.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jalut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Agree with others, price could have been cheaper.

Goods:
-The chalets are fronting the sea, which is very nice. You get to see and hear the sea from the balcony of your chalet
-Reasonably clean
-Friendly service

Put-offs:
-Room is very very basic, with tired looking furnishing
-Overprice for the facility provided

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lesprincesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Air conditioned room by the beach side is RM180 (1 double bed), and RM200 (1 double bed + 1 single bed). I think it is abit too overpriced for the quality of the chalet. The non-airconditioned room is RM80 (1 double bed) but these are the older rooms which are located at the opposite side of the road (further from the beach).
However among other chalets nearby, this chalet looks like the most decent one. The environment is nicely maintained and clean, not too old from outside. The room floor is abit dusty (from beach sand i guess) and the toilet for the chalet (we took the air conditioned chalet by the beach side) is still OK. Hot water was working well, and air cond was working well too. The view from the chalet wasnt really that great ...It was not clear sandy beach as expected.
Overall i think it was not worth to pay RM180-200 for this chalet. Whats good is that this chalet only take walk in customers starting at 12 noon, which is good for last minute trip on peak season when all other hotels/chalets are all fully taken.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_A_Traveler_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Cempaka Beach Resort
Cempaka Beach Resort
#20 of 43 in Kuantan
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
0.0 mi away
Tanjung Inn
Tanjung Inn
#3 of 10 in Cherating
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Rhu Beach Resort
De Rhu Beach Resort
#16 of 43 in Kuantan
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranting Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranting Resort

Address: Lot 1006, Ranting Resort Ranting Resort Kg. Budaya Cherating Jalan Kuantan-Kemaman, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fan 2(pax) RM 120.00 Air conditioning 2(pax) RM 160.00 Air conditioning 3(pax) RM 200.00 Air conditioning 4(pax) RM 230.00 *During weekend and public holidays will have extra charge RM 20.00 per room. *Room deposit RM 50.00 per room. *All rooms have (heater shower, fan and toilets are inside the chalet). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing