We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible is an understatement!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuantan Tembeling Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuantan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kuantan Tembeling Resort
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible is an understatement!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I booked & paid to stay a night via Marimari.com for RM191/night in a one-bedroom apartment. This resort is situated by the beach & the drive to the guard house is secluded without any street light. Arrived there on 14th May 2012 & was shocked with the resort. Car park was dirty with poor lighting, whatever restaurant/cafe/shop that used to operate there were closed & the front desk was covered in dust! At least the swimming pool was in good condition. Called up marimari.com as there was no one to assist us to check-in & was told to check-in another hotel instead! A few minutes later, received a call from Kuantan Tembeling Resort management that they would send someone to assist us in a minute. I was already very disappointed and angry with the service, but agreed to wait for them at the front desk. After 3 minutes waiting without seeing anyone from the management, I left & asked for a full refund from marimari.com. I checked in Zenith Hotel & very satisfied with Zenith Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ShuMeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    7
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My father has worked in Malaysia for over ten years and in 2004 and 2005 we stayed with him in his rented apartment in Block A which had three bedrooms and faced straight onto the sea. The decor was a bit basic but the place had hot water, working air conditioning and we were rarely disturbed by monkeys except occasionally late in the afternoon by the pool when one tried to steal my beach bag (he was unsuccessful). The pool was absolutely beautiful and there were so few people at it during the day that we were often the only ones using it. We returned to Kuantan in 2006 but did not stay at Tembeling. This place was not as nice.

My brother returned again in 2010 and 2011 and commented that he kept contracting ear infections after swimming in the pool and there was an Indian Malay guard who was very strict and rude to people. My father also remarked that management of the place was beginning to go downhill around the same time. He moved to a Chinese Malay district closer to the centre of Kuantan at this time.

When my brother and I returned again earlier this year we did not contract any ear infections. The French restaurant had been replaced with one called Janet's place which, although more expensive than local places, sold a variety of food and drink and overlooked either the pool on one side or the sea and central Kuantan on the other. Less monkeys this time but far more expats which we were a bit disapointed with (it was nice having the place to ourselves). Despite this there were always plenty of sunbeds available and, although the place could do with a lick of paint, and some toilet roll in the ladies toilets at the club house wouldn't got a miss either, Temebling is still as idilic as it first was when I visited Malaysia 6years ago and the staff were very curtious and polite. Yes it is necessary to drive if you are staying here but personally I would rather stay beside the sea away from the main road in a gated community than beside a busy road closer to the centre of town. We were always able to ask the guards at the main gate to call us a taxi whenever we wanted to go to the mall and you can barter for one from one of the many taxi ranks in the town quite easily too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank natasha329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is the worst place to stay ever...it does not feel like a holiday accommodation and also does not feel homey...it feels like a piece of [--]...I talked to a few permanent residents there and it seems they have a new management that seems to be making all the bad decisions. The facilities are bad and place is broken down. Some of the property were infected by termites.

They limit the amount of people who uses swimming pool despite that there aren't many and also they modified the pool so the water gets changed less and it becomes really dirty.

Even the road entering it is no longer secluded and peaceful. Every weekend the small road leading up to the place would be filled with cars going the small zoo for a weekend night show.

You are better off staying at a hostel or a motel in the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven13102005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

kuala terengganu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

this is the worst resort i ever been...

not worth a penny...

my kids were chased out by the arrogant security guards from the swimming pool...

this will be my first and the last time staying here.. i'm not coming back to this stupid resort even for free stay..

Room Tip: dont ever come here... you will regret it for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank igor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
153 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Its a nice condominium outside of Kuantan town...
The best for travellers is the large swimming pool on the top of the hill with a nice view all around on the sea.
Went two times there and always quiet without many customers...
Rented a flat with nice view - beach is not really accessible so have to go to the main beach by car.
There is a restaurant - affordable and good -
Its really a quiet place for relax time

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank parakaloChamonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

we book a three room apartment on 1st - 2nd July '11 for RM400/ night via a owner who let his unit for short term rent ; there is 5 of us with three kid,
first; you need your own transportation to go up the hill; no public transportation around as it is quiet secluded area at the end of the road; which is quiet dangerous at night due to its location in the forest, winding slope and no roadside lighting
second; as it is actually not a resort; more like a exclusive gated residence where most of its apartment is privately owned; cafe is around, but during our stay there; it was closed,
third; our family have been chased out from the pool by the guard and the residence pool commity member; the reason is; our head count exceed their allowed number 2 pax per unit for a guest; even though we are all wearing a proper swimming attire,
we witness few other person being chased out from the pool for the same reason;

it was the most humiliating moment in a pool of a resort ; the management should omit the title of resort from this privately owned apartment;
be prepared to be chase out from the pool if you are not expatriate etc, and remember to bring your swimming gear with you; and pray for your luck that the guard wont chase you out from the pool..as the owner of this privately owned apartment is very eager to keep their communnity as elite..
fourth; be prepared to share your room view with the monkey; as there is a tonne of monkeys willing to share your balcony with you
for me this is the last time i'm staying there; it'sadvisable to go to a proper seaside resort if you planned to enjoy both the sea and the pool

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mushyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Since 1st December 2010 the swimming pools have not been maintained to a standard conducive with good health. All who bathe in the pools do so at grave risk of ENT infections as the chlorination plant has broken down & with no forecast for rectification available this month of January 2011.
If you are satisfied with platitudes and a decaying infrastructure come on in!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
7.2 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
2.9 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
1.9 mi away
D'Embassy Service Residence Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
2.2 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
22.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuantan Tembeling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuantan Tembeling Resort

Property: Kuantan Tembeling Resort
Address: Kuantan Tembeling Resort Jalan Pahang Golf, Kuantan 25050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Kuantan
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kuantan Tembeling Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing