We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Bad Experience and Ghost Home” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Resort
Au, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Bad Experience and Ghost Home”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I am having a vacation in this hotel with by father .when we reach there are look like no other worker .the room, corridor, reception counter and receptionist is dirty and the toilet are leaking. The apartment there are very dark and same like ghost home. The owner same like to gardener and the bad fashion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stevensurrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    17
    6
    13
    19
See reviews for
41
4
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Im starting to wonder if this place paid for all the TripAdvisor positive comments ,or perhaps the staffs gave the better rooms to foreigners only. This is one of the worst apartment I've ever had in my entire life for budget of RM 330.

Rooms seem from the 80s. Time is not a problem but it seems the apartment has not been maintained from the 80s. Everything seem to be broken, you mention it, dirty carpets, broken pipe, dripping water, stained mattress, somewhat dusty bed. Even the basic doors/windows would not be locked properly. This resort has probably outlived it's life.

Room Tip: Not worth the risk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuliang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My Partner and I travelled for the first time together to Singapore stayed at the Shangrrilla very up market then to KL onto Kuantan.
This resort was an excellent spot for various location meetings which I had on my balcony and around the pool aerea.
My partner and I enjoyed our walks and swims on the beach and buggy riding along such a beautifull beach. Watching the fisherman depart and return with there catch nice and fresh.
Wild life so very vesitile great for a family visit if we had kid s they have all grown up. They themselves have spent a few nights there.
Service is what we exspect when traveling so much and that is exactly what we got recommend you try it come away very relaxed

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowflake, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I came to Asia on business, took the opportunity to visit Malaysia for the first time. Found and then stayed for a week at the Sanctuary. Wanted to be on the beach not near, across the street from but right on it. This resort puts you there and a whole lot more! Forever ocean views, boating excursions to nearby islands, sunsets, great food, comfortable clean apartments, nice pool, as well as courteous staff. The perfect getaway coming back for more at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Before arrival at Sanctuary Resort ,I was curious as well as worried about some negative
remarks made . However much to my pleasure I was baffled by the friendly and helpful reception staff the moment my family of four arrived..that really startkicked our wonderful and unforgettable holidays!! Location just great and breathtaking to see beautiful natures converged..with near distant island plus great beach frontage and an ideal nature lovers meandering river on one side....such sceanic fishermen village!! Rooms are well equiped
and renovated,,spacious and clean. We shall return for another well relaxed and enjoyable stay...

Room Tip: Rooms with sea frontage have breathtaking view... Riverside rooms at just as fantastic,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siewlean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Good facilities and easy access to attractions in the area. Rooms are spacious and well maintained.Staff are very friendly.A great spot to take family and is right on the beach. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband & I stayed at Sanctuary Resort last November & thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
We are planning to go back and noticed some negative reports on your site.
We think it is the best idyllic beachfront we have stayed at. We had marble floors & overlooked a local fishing village. Management & staff were extremely helpful & friendly.
We followed their advice & took the local Firefly cruise which was great!

Room Tip: Try & get a room facing the ocean as well as the fishing village. We bought seafood from them &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
5.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.9 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
10.0 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
3.6 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#29 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Resort

Property: Sanctuary Resort
Address: 342 | Mukim Sungai Karang, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Resort Cherating is truly a beachfront resort hotel withonly 10 meters away from beach, beautifully surrounded by refreshing lush greenery. With 90 units of 2 & 3 Bedrooms All Suite Apartmentwith each room with its attaching bathroom, Sanctuary Resort Cherating creates a perfect setting for singles, couples and even families group. Enjoy your stay at this serene and peaceful property, guests are also offered access to water sports like sailing and canoeing, with its own private island right in front, only 900 meters away. For those in need of a relaxing vacation, you can simply take a dip in the alluring pool or go for sunbathing at the beach. Enjoy various activities including the one at the Classical Fishing Village River where you do the fresh catching daily. Sanctuary Resort Cherating is a great choice for those looking to getaway from the bustling city for a True Beachfront Holiday Relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Sanctuary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing