We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, But No Wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This new hotel is centrally located in the centre of Kuantan.

Our room was simply appointed and about what you would expect for this price. The room featured a flat screen TV, air conditioning and a refrigerator. The room looked out on to an air shaft so had little natural light.

The hotel advertises free wifi throughout the property, but it was broken at the time of our visit. Staff were not volunteering this information and continued to handout passwords even though they new the system was down, which was a little annoying.

The buffet breakfast that was included in our rate was also relatively good.

Overall, the Hotel Sentral Kuantan is a reasonably good choice for travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and its glad to know that rooms are clean and comfortable.

However, we are also deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. I have taken note of your comments with regards to poor service standards and service attitude very seriously.

Our assurance is that the issued that had been highlighted will be resolved and we hope that you will be able to visit again in not too distant future.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

Thjs hotel is spanking new and centrally located in the heart of Kuantan town so if you're planning to stay now, it's a good choice as the rooms are all newly done up. We paid MYR119 ++ agoda rate. Comes with 2 breakfast vouchers (though the spread is relatively limited so don't expect too much - btw, no eggs were served :-( ). Free WIFI on all floors which is definitely an advantage. Water pressure in the rooms could be alot better - but if you're ok with bathing under a sprinkle, then it shouldn't bother you. The sound insulation is not great and you can literally hear kids in the next room or doors banging but if you sleep heavily then it's generally ok. In room safe, flat screen tv with a few satellite channels, coffee and tea making facilities and a minibar is provided. Cheaper rooms will not have a view. Check in was quick and staff are all very polite. I'd say it is a good place to stay if you have your own transport in Kuantan - you can drive to the beach about 15 mins away. You can also take a night walk along the riverside promenade behind the hotel and watch as hopeful anglers catch river fish

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odette_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you found our staff are efficient, enjoyed the clean and comfortable room, and most of all you are satisfied with the hotel location though is very much debated topic.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This is a new 3 star business hotel. We pay RM117 walk in rate per night for a standard room with no view. The room comes with 2 simple buffet breakfasts.

Free Wifi at lobby and room. The hotel is located in a building by itself and free gated car park behind the hotel building. The hotel is inside Kuantan city next to Classic hotel.
Condition of the room :- The room is big and nice, new carpet, clean bed sheet, flat screen TV with limited cable TV channel selection. Room equipped with an electronic safe, electric kettle and complimentary tea bags or instant coffee. Bathroom is great, good hot shower with strong water pressure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earnslaw-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

Its glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

We are still in the process of improving our services. We sincerely hope that the next time you visit, we'll be able to show you the improvements.

We thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of stay and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed here recently in a superior room, and as the hotel is quite new the room was in good condition.

What was in the room: Comfortable queen sized bed, clear LCD TV, electronic safe big enough for a 14 inch laptop, minibar, telephone and writing desk, individual air conditioning, ample hangers and an extra pillow, electric kettle, tea, coffee, 2 bottles of mineral water (free).

Bathroom: Hairdryer, shaver socket, separate shower cabin with individual water heater. Shower pressure was just adequate. Toiletries provided - shampoo, shower gel, soap, shower cap.

I thought the room looked nice for the price paid. It was mostly quiet but sometimes you hear the sound of a door opening/closing or someone in the next room putting a plug into the wall socket.

Free wireless internet access in the room. While the signal was excellent, the speed was slow.

A basic breakfast was included. Among the selection was fried noodles/rice, french toast, baked beans, some cakes, cereal, tea/coffee/juice.

Wouldn't mind staying here again despite some issues (see below). All in all I think it's good value.


What I liked most: The room is nice for the price. Ample parking around the hotel, didn't have trouble finding an empty spot.

What I liked least: The keycard expiring every day and having to go downstairs again and again to the reception having to get it renewed. Just adequate shower water pressure. Slow internet.

Room Tip: Front of hotel faces a street, back of hotel faces the Kuantan river. There are also rooms in the ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

Its glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

We are still in the process of improving our services. We sincerely hope that the next time you visit, we'll be able to show you the improvements.

We thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of stay and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 592Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Milionway S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank mengaum_fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.1 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#5 of 44 in Kuantan
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#4 of 44 in Kuantan
75 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
#20 of 44 in Kuantan
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Continental Kuantan
Grand Continental Kuantan
#34 of 44 in Kuantan
94 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
0.8 mi away
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
#7 of 44 in Kuantan
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Kuantan

Address: 45P Jalan Besar | Kuantan, Pahang, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range: £15 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Kuantan 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sentral Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing