We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel affordable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel affordable price!”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Absolutely had no idea where to stay for that night, in that same time not willing to spend more than RM200 for only several hours of checked-in, hence Hotel Sentral it is. RM107 for a night. When we paid for that, my only hope is to have a good bed for us to sleep. And the room, please don't be so dodgy T_____T Owh, thank you Trip Advisor's travellers photos too, because that's how we landed at this hotel.

My findings?

Hotel Sentral Kuantan is astounding! Quality service, terrific value and perfect location. :) Very recommended.

Hotel is strategically located on the main street (Jalan Besar). Check in process was fast and easy and the front desk was friendly too. Room was nice enough, good sized, considering the price that we paid, RM107 per night! El cheapo! Clean and tidy. Well equipped with minibar, coffee making set, heater, hair dryer, flat screen tv, safe box and all in good working condition. No baby cot available tho.

Breakfast was decent and ok for its class. Asian oriented and not much of western choices. But even if it doesn't suit your taste, food stalls and restaurants, everything is just a walk away.

Negative points? Nothing so bad as we can still tolerate to each of it, well remember the price we paid? Heheh. Small lift that seriously could just fit us 2 adults, 2 toddlers and 1 luggage, not anything more. Slamming door closing sound, maybe due to the poor wall material and whatnot. And, very limited parking space. Make sure you pay the parking fee or else you will be fined by local authority. :P

So, if you are coming to Kuantan and looking for a decent 3 stars hotel, Hotel Sentral is one that worth to be considered. :) Reasonable price, value for money ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShilaShower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerhsk, General Manager at Hotel Sentral Kuantan, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    63
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
55
25
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed here for 4 days 3 nights recently on 25/11/12 - 28/11/12 (standard room). The hotel has a great location which is near to the city center, Teluk Cempedak and Tg. Lumpur. It's a new hotel, still looks fresh and the room was small but comfortable. The toilet was clean. The breakfast spread was simple, limited options but tasty.

The only problem that I had with this hotel was that the male receptionists there were quite rude. They were unfriendly during my checked in, and even rude to me when I tried to make a booking via phone call about 1 month before my stay there.
Through out my stay, there was no wifi connection. There was no notice put up at the reception desk to inform /update the guests about the connection problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6aidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerhsk, General Manager at Hotel Sentral Kuantan, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location when you stayed with us at Hotel Sentral.
Thank you for pointing to us the issue in regards the unfriendly staffs. We will addressed and investigate the issue and hopefully on your next visit, you’ll be able to notice the positive improvements.

We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Went to Kuantan for weekend getaway. Managed to book this hotel. The price is affordable. The room is spacious and trendy. The service was good. Location-wise is ok. We didn't believe that we get such good room and services with the amount that we paid for. Furthermore, they just open up the rooftop for the viewing area and cafe. From this rooftop, you could see Kuantan city's skyview.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoungTrekker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerhsk, General Manager at Hotel Sentral Kuantan, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral !

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and your stay with us at Hotel Sentral.We are glad to know that you enjoyed our Roof Terrace Coffee House which enables you to see the Kuantan City's view.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Went Kuantan the other day and saw this hotel in tripdvisor. Yea, as what other travellers said, it's great and worth for the price. Service crew is friendly but check in process takes forever, rooms are great and comfortable. Breakfast is not great either. Location wise, it's located in the middle of the town and it's pretty convenient. Overall experience is just uplifting and yea, definitely will come back again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We got off to a bad start at the Hotel Sentral. The room they gave us stank. If you've ever opened up a pub in the morning, that's what it smelled like. We were hungry and tired and so we went to get something to eat first and when we came back I asked if we could upgrade to a bigger room. The staff said this wasn't possible as we had booked online and the room had already been paid for. I'm still not sure why it makes sense to refuse more money but I'm sure they have their reasons. Anyway, they changed us to a non-smoking room and that one was much better.

The room is clean. The bathroom is clean. There is a TV and a safe. It's in the town so there are shops nearby. It's pretty cheap too. It's a 3 star hotel so there aren't really any facilities but if you are staying in Kuantan and want a cheap, clean and comfortable place to stay, I'd recommend the Hotel Sentral.

Room Tip: The second floor has smoking rooms. The sixth floor doesn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roocarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Hotel Sentral Kuantan – room 1612
After a long drive across Malaysia we wanted just three things, a speedy check-in, a quiet spacious clean room and true hospitality. Initially we booked 2 rooms for one night, one with 2 separate beds, absolute non-smoking and if possible highest floor. Check-in was not only very fast, it was professional and we were also met by friendly courteous, hospitable staff who knew who we were!!!! Room 1612 as well as our second booked room was perfect. Beds were clean, comfortable and extremely inviting. Room comes with desk/small hanging cupboard with some space for folded clothing/ coffee + tea facilities/flat screen TV/ good reading lights above beds/fully equipped bathroom soap/shower gel/shampoo which has a pleasant fragrance. Fluffy towels and bath mat/toilet had a good “seat” and the toilet paper was heaven! Breakfast is mainly Asian orientated but the staff knows how to treat their guests, a reasonable request will be honoured with a smile! Dinner at the hotel is good; there is absolutely no need to go searching for a restaurant. Portions are big enough to satisfy a big eater. Dining in is not expensive and food quality is superb! Hotel SENTRAL KUANTAN is ideally situated to start various trips; the hotel staff is more than willing to give good advice. In the hotel lobby is a stand with various suggestions. We found the rooms very quiet; in fact the rooms are equipped with air conditioner which has a silent mode, absolutely heaven! We were so impressed that we booked another two nights and we would not hesitate to book an entire two week holiday at the hotel Sentral/Kuantan. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hidden gem. The hotel is well maintained and if something does need fixing it is done within 10 minutes now you try to find that in other hotels!!! Hotel SENTRAL/KUANTAN has its own secure parking. This is the sort of hotel one is made welcome and this is a hotel which shows you the true Malaysian personalized hospitality, something other (more expensive) hotels lack!

Room Tip: we always ask for a 100% smoke-free room and as high as possible, we always ask for 2 seperate beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank overseaswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerhsk, General Manager at Hotel Sentral Kuantan, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you found our staff are efficient, you enjoyed the clean and comfortable room, and most of all you are satisfied with the hotel location though is very much debated topic.

It is our great pleasure to receive such a wonderful compliments and I will definitely share to all my colleague and staff.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Overall good value for money, clean and good-sized rooms. We arrived close to 8pm for a 1 night stay and parking were plentiful in front of the hotel. Our family room on the 6th floor has a double and a single bed. Fortunately, the room did not face the main road and merely only the side of the hotel, so we were spared the unpleasant traffic noise others commented about.

Room is kid friendly enough with no sharp edges or objects to climb. Hotel provided a good mix of tv programs including cartoon channels. Kettles, fridge and hair dryer are available. However, do note that babycots are not available. We did stay for breakfast before departing and found it to be acceptable.

Strongest point for the hotel is the size of the room which could easily fit another double-bed. We always find space valuable for our toddlers to stretch themselves. Overall, we would recommend the hotel and will not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBanks1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerhsk, General Manager at Hotel Sentral Kuantan, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and you enjoyed your stayed with us at Hotel Sentral.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.1 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#4 of 43 in Kuantan
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#3 of 43 in Kuantan
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
2.7 mi away
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
#15 of 43 in Kuantan
73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
#5 of 43 in Kuantan
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Kuantan

Property: Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Address: 45P Jalan Besar | Kuantan, Pahang, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Kuantan 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sentral Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing