We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort with a short driving distance from KL.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kuantan
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a very nice place to be near the beach. The resort has nice restaurants which serve local and western types of food. The hotel has breakfast included for RM30 if you included when booking. If not you'll pay RM40 . The buffet has a decent variety of food and it's serve until 10:30am so it's a nice addition if you like to eat a lot in the morning. The rooms are not that great but are comfortable and clean although some rooms have a more run-down look than others. There are two pools in the hotel. One has a bar style sitting inside the pool where you can have a cool drink while you're in the water. The other pool is for laps and it's nice and clean. The staff are nice and friendly throughout the hotel. I've been in this hotel 4 times in the last year and I have no complaints. Usually I tried to get a room with a sea view but I had friends staying in other rooms and they were not as "new" looking and some smell like mold. It's a very nice family, couples or solo resort.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a sea view are more expensive but with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Piba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel is a super beach resort. Its just 15-20 minutes drive from the airport and surprisingly there were bundles of taxis waiting when we arrived. Don't listen to the moaners who rejoice in complaining about trivia. This is a beach resort.It offers good value and great location on a fabulous beach. It is not a "real" five star standard but I think it is like a good European four star. It is clean and its pools and public areas are Very well maintained. We stayed at the hotel with our children who are under 10 years old. The staff were helpful to us and chatty to the children. Service was surprisingly good. We stayed in a club room which was perfectly good and the bathroom was renovated.Some of the club rooms are connecting which is great for families. I do not know about the appearance of the regular rooms. The hotel has a huge, HUGE private beach which takes up most of the bay. Nice sand and clean and well maintained.No garbage or beach sellers. Although if you wandered too far into the public beach it began to get a bit grubby.(Like bits of Bali or Lombok). The ocean was warm and inviting and was free of rubbish. The food was good. Breakfast was good and offered a good selection at the main restaurant. The club room lounge breakfast was limiting ... so for extra you can eat at the main beach restaurant which has just beautiful views. There is construction next to the club room blocks. So make sure u are finished eating at the club lounge by 930am or the building noise may annoy you. The hotel is spread over a wide area so the building work is only bothersome to some rooms in the club block I think. The building work finishes In the late afternoon, so it's not a worry for the evening anyway. There are plenty of nice beach and pool beds so we didnt have to get to the beach early to secure a place and the club lounge offers free soft drinks all day and free substantial snacks and alcoholic drinks in the evening- 6pm-8pm. So if you like a beer or 3 in the evening, a club room offers good value as alcohol was VERY expensive in the main bar. We were happy with our decision to stay in a club room. There are rock pools at the end of the bay so the children can go searching for crabs and you can hire boogie boards, jet skis and canoes at the water sports place next door. We all had a great time. I would recommend this hotel for a family as well as couples. But there isn't a kids club so bring buckets and spades or buy them from one of the beach shops. I guess it's all about expectations really. If you expect the standard of the Ritz Hotel in London then you will disappointed. But if you expect the standard of a well run, clean four star Malaysian beach hotel situated in a beautiful bay then you will be totally delighted. We liked it. Other hotel guests told us that the hotel is a five hour drive from Singapore or a three hour road trip from KL but we flew directly into Kuantan. The airport was small but efficient and direct flights were departing to both Singapore and KL the day we left.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolineJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Myself my wife and our two boys stayed during the long Easter weekend. We were very pleasantly surprised and will definitely return. The reception staff who greeted us were excellent and accommodating. Although there was a very large conference, the staff did all they could to ensure a pleasant stay. We did have one issue where the conference organisers began a very loud sound check at 0600 on Saturday morning and by 0630 the music was blaring and almost shook us from our beds however; the Hyatt staff addressed it very quickly and went over the top to make things right.

This really is a hidden gem and a great getaway from Singapore. Fly Firefly from Singapore directly to Kuantan and the taxi ride is approximately 20-25 mins. to the Hyatt. It is a stretch to rate this hotel as five stars but; the service is close to five and based on the price, it is good value for money. Alcohol is expensive so; if you plan on having a few drinks, a club room may be the way to go. Yes, the rooms are a little tired and some of the hotel is as well but; the pools, beach and location are fantastic.

Room Tip: Ground floor and connecting rooms are very noisy. Our neighbours were extremely loud and you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaptainTuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for 5 nights - we had read the reviews on trip advisor a few days before we arrived and were reluctant to go ahead with our booking but decided we should make our own assessment of the hotel

Our checkin was excellent we were told about the construction work and given the opportunity to move from our pre booked sea view room but advised the works don't start till 9.30 and finish by 5.30

We decided to stick with our selected room we cannot fault the room the view was amazing the staff could not have done more

We signed up for the club room which was a great decision except one cat annoyed us not the hotels fault!

The pool area is brilliant the beach amazing and the views just make you want to stay

Make sure you go for seaview if you can well worth the spend

I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing and memorable time the club facilities are also worth the spend

As our title says a hidden gem tx you for a great break

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NETZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed on a weekday knowing full well the resort would be teeming with families and little ones. the hotel seemed to be experiencing high occupancy nonetheless we were pleasantly surprised by the warm hospitality. Particularly being locals, we expect lukewarm service as is common in this blessed country of ours.
We were truly impressed to be attentively served right from check-in. Took us less then 10 minutes to be whisked to our entry level room with a view. Small, dated but functional room. A little to steeply priced but what would you expect from a Hyatt.

Two large lovely swimming pools overlooking the South China Sea. A historical beach bar Sampan Bar was our favourite after a day of lazing in the sun. But mostly, the Italian Bistro is a wonderful little restaurant and the food was simply marvellous. We were told the Chef was a local too. Kudos!!

Breakfast at the Kampung was mediocre in comparison after that lovely dinner at Italian Bistro. Perhaps the resort might want to consider being more 'local' as we were really looking forward to sampling East Coast speciality like Nasi Dagang, Laksam, Nasi Kerabu.

it was an amazingly restful getaway for us made possible by the hospitality and service from the heart we were privy to. We will definitely be back. Special thank you to Mark Esteva, Rukesh and Hasri.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahmadSRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Overall had a good time staying at this hotel. Like most people the location was great. Some parts of the service was great (regency club) but some parts was good (breakfast, pool) and some parts was poor like the housekeeping not replacing enough of the items in the room. There was construction next door (was suppose to be sheraton a few years ago) that was loud but which I guess hyatt has no control over. Overall a good trip.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Regency club room during daytime if construction still ongoing at next door property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phiota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

For a sea view u pay 500 MYR all in incl. Tax - means 167 USD. I stayed 2 nights n change room. The bathtub was soooo Dirty n the water was accumulating in the bath tub while u take a shower. Same thing when you brush your teeth. The only nice thing is the location of the hotel. It's very nice n unique. Big REAL 5 stars hotels pls open in Kuantan. The people are nice, the nature is nice but for sure the Hyatt is not a 5 Stars!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marceline1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
6.9 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
3.3 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
15.0 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
6.3 mi away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
22.0 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kuantan

Address: Jalan Teluk Chempedak, Kuantan 25050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range: £63 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kuantan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kuantan Resort will be fully closed from 1 September 2015 to undergo extensive renovation that will take approximately 12 months. No reservations will be accepted throughout this period. All 300 guestrooms and suites will be reinvented into stylish and elegant spaces while public areas and meeting venues will be refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kuantan Hotel Kuantan
Kuantan Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing