We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can't believe this hotel is not in the Top 10 for Kuantan Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kuantan
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I can't believe this hotel is not in the Top 10 for Kuantan Accommodation”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Being just a 4 hours drive from Singapore, Kuantan is one of our favourite beach destination that we never failed to visit at least twice a year. The Hyatt Regency Kuantan has been and always been our favourite accommodation when we're in Kuantan. I am naturally shocked that this beautiful resort is not well-placed in this website. Believe me that we have stayed in 3 of the other hotels placed well-ahead of Hyatt and yet we kept coming back to Hyatt because those hotels are totally unmatched to Hyatt. I have stayed in this hotel before and after their latest renovations in 2010 (I think) and I personally have no problems with the maintenance of their rooms. Rooms are always clean and it's good that the room now have wireless connection (though chargeable). The bed is comfortable and always enjoyed sitting at the balcony watching the beautiful South China Sea. A major good thing about the Hyatt is its location. It's a beachfront propety and the Teluk Cempedak Beach is so beautiful and Hyatt is the only beach resort in that area making it exclusive. Despite that, eating establishments are plenty just next door to Hyatt. There's Burger King, 24 Hours KFC and McDonald's and other local eating establishments that you really did not have to eat at the resort. However, if you need to do some shopping, you can take a 10 mins drive to Kuantan Town which have modern shopping complexes such as our favourite, East Coast Mall. There is also a bus stop near the resort where you can take the public bus. Breakfast at Hyatt is not disappointing. So many options and staff are generally friendly and courteous. In fact, service at Hyatt Regency Kuantan is excellent. Lately, I've noticed that the rates had been increasing but it's still cheaper than any accommodation in Singapore Sentosa Island and the seaview here is so gorgeous with clear blue horizon and hardly any vessels within sight.

Room Tip: Avoid room at ground floor if you prefer a sense of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeeRamli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    220
    172
    105
    84
See reviews for
246
171
25
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

i first stayed here 1985 was nice then but now so dated shower over bath plastic shower curtains UGHHHHH not screen very tiny bathroom either paint or blood on wall bathroom #1108. i now reside kuala lumpur with my wife a maly medical doctor and we enjo to get out of KL satrday nights they were promoting a philippino group playing from 9.30 pm hahahaha they drifted in at all times up to 10.00 pm 3 females scantilly clad. well i tell u theyy were the wirst ive ever heard music not conform with ages of guests and so expensive `we had a coffee 2 juces cost RM 56 location is tops setting great but ill retuur after refurbish and a new band only 8 people listening our stay was 27 april

Room Tip: check on the new band and ask if there have been refurbishments befor booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickabigpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My 2 major complains why HYATT can't get a full 5 in my review:
1. The rooms need major refurbishment and 2. they desperately need more staff to man the place.

For the price we pay for the room, it's such a shame, the rooms and attached bathroom are small and very tired looking and dilapidated. New furnitures are required and with all the new hotels springing up in Kuantan, Hyatt seriously needs to widen each of their rooms and keep their rooms interior updated with latest designs! Although all the rooms are kept very clean.

Service is slow, not that the staff are not amiable and trained (they seemed really well trained and always graciously polite to patrons, I applaud them) BUT, they seemed seriously understaff. We saw the bellboy entertaining the patrons at the beach flying the kites (complimentary from the hotel, which we love), poor guy, bellboy during the day and entertainer in the evening. The restaurant service is extremely slow. We waited more than 30 mins for our meal to come out (we only ordered 2 dishes) and they were only a few tables occupied...again, because they are understaff! But no complaints on the staff working there, always willing to help and forever with their smiles!

It is quite sad that I have to give an averagereview because I actually enjoyed the place- it has so many potentials, but for the price we pay for a room, HYATT should seriously upgrade their rooms and increase their staff to ensure efficiency.

All's not lost though, what we love about this place is:
a. Location is superb - is right in front of the beach, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. the beach is not too remote, it's next to where the locals hangout so you get street fair just next to the hotel - ie: people selling souvenirs, some services like food massage, henna drawings etc, food - from fastfood chains to local warung...do make sure you get next door and explore out of the hotel
b. has its own private beach - Just love the well kept private beach in front of the hotel. We played sand castle there, the kite and even saw the hotel restaurant preparing romantic sunset dinner by the beach.
c. Love the way they kept the guests entertained - guests could play sports - volleyball tennis, etc, there's movie screening in the evening set up just by the pool overlooking the beach, teach the patrons to fly kite, canoeing, banana boat...ample of activities to keep u entertained.
d. Sumptous swimming pool with a cool pool bar- it's large and they have a few to ensure every patron has a space to just chill in the pool. After a dip in the sea, make sure you splash yourself in the pool.
e. Resort has scenic view & Good layout- the resorts feels big and plenty of space for you to explore. Make sure you get the room facing the sea for the scenic view!
f. Great staff - very well trained, friendly and always eager to assist.
g. little thing that I notice, instead of having a pipe to wash our feet after getting out of the beach, they provide big urns filled with water which you can scoop out using a traditional oversized spoon to clean your feet. Very traditional and a nice touch.

Would have given a perfect 5 if the rooms commensurate with the price!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FadzlynFarid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Kuantan over April 18th - April 21st, to celebrate our parent's 50th anniversary.

Throughout the months of preparation starting in December 2012, we were looked after by a wonderful marketing person, Noraznita, who took care of all the many details. This was a truly difficult task as we were working out of Kuala Lumpur, and everything had to be done via email.

From special requests for F&B arrangements, to arranging for mixers at the bar, to taking care of special requests for rooms, tidbits, cakes and party favours, she dealt with everything professionally and with great enthusiasm.

Our stay itself was also wonderful. We had a large group of out of town guests for the event, with many older guests who needed special care and rooms that were easily accessible, and in some cases early check in so they could rest as soon as they arrived -- these were all well taken care off by Noraznita and the staff at the front desk, especially those on duty April 19 afternoon and April 20 morning.

Our event itself was well managed, except that set up was late as the previous group had not vacated the ballroom in time. But the banquet person in charge -- Sree -- managed to sort everything out. Many guests commented that the 7-course Chinese meal were served was very good. Service was a little bit inattentive as many of the banquet staff seemed to be very new on the job, but otherwise things were fine. The sound system was rather poor and caused many guests to find it difficult to follow the toastmaster's speech, especially at the beginning.

The hotel enjoys a beautiful location in Kuantan with stunning views, and all our guests had a wonderful time catching up on family news while enjoying the facilities, especially around the pool.

Thank you Hyatt Regency Kuantan for making this event extra special.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms have stunning views, but the garden rooms in Village 4 were bigger, more spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentong66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I understand why some love this hotel because I do too. I love waking up to the gorgeous view of the South China Sea and immersing in the breath-taking sunrise from my room balcony.
I love the private entrance to the Club rooms because the check in process there is fast, hassle free, welcome me by my name and they make me feel that they await for my arrival at any time of the day. The people are friendly, genuine and eager to ensure that you are most comfortable.
I noticed that they now introduced extra female amenities in case you forget anything so it is really helpful to have a list of things that you can request for the items you missed to pack. The Italian Bistro (al fresco) is my favourite, food is excellent and reasonable priced. Seating so close to the sea having your divine pasta or lobster pizza is simply heavenly.
Will be back soon. Definitely.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank KyraElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed for two nights at Hyatt while attending a conference. Ornamental plants all around, ceiling fans hung low from wooden beams of sloping roofs, wildflower bouquets adorned vases beside cane furniture with a spectacular view of the South China Sea gently lapping the hotel’s beachfront.The staff were extremely courteous. The concierge took special care to accommodate my check-in as i had arrived early. I had already taken a Hyatt gold passport membership which provided benefits such as late check out. I opted for a garden view room though from the balcony as I had a view of a vast expanse of the sea from the balcony. rooms were neat, and tastefully done in simple wicker furniture and sober furnishings. Bed was large and comfortable . there was a large cabinet and lots of storage space.bathroom was small, but neat and had a large bathtub. A decent collection of English channels were available for viewing. Taxis were easily available from the front desk to the main kuantan city for shopping and sightseeing. In the evenings, the Teluk Cempedek (the jack fruit bay) as seen from the hotel's beach provided some spectacular views.
For a tropical resort, the prices were more affordable than the Hyatt hotels in cities of other countries. i had an enjoyable stay even though it was a short one

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbee3384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The resort is super nice! Rooms are affordable. Its clean, its luxurious, its sexy... I love everything about it! Food are scrumptious. Staff are more than welcoming. Beach is awesome..

Well, havent i praised enough. A good place to chillex! Am sure u guys gonna love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harolddean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
3.3 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
6.9 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
2.5 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
22.0 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
6.4 mi away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kuantan

Property: Hyatt Regency Kuantan
Address: Telok Chempedak, Kuantan 25050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kuantan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kuantan Resort will be fully closed from 1 September 2015 to undergo extensive renovation that will take approximately 12 months. No reservations will be accepted throughout this period. All 300 guestrooms and suites will be reinvented into stylish and elegant spaces while public areas and meeting venues will be refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kuantan Hotel Kuantan
Kuantan Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing