We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired... but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kuantan
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit tired... but ok”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This place is starting to show it's age, which probably isn't hard in the humidity. Tidy and basic room but the bathroom definitely needs updating. Comfy bed. Well located as Kuantan goes, right on Teluk Champeduk which seems to be the place to be at night. Convenient to the night market there. Great pool and restaurants are nice, especially breakfast by the beach. And the regency club is a nice place to relax (and get some work done).

Check in was fine (at 11:30PM) but check out took 15 minutes which was ridiculous. So make sure you plan for it if you have somewhere to be. But in general, service was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    220
    172
    105
    84
See reviews for
246
171
25
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I was there with my husband.. I really enjoyod during my stay.. Im frecuent guest at this hotel.. Thanks a lot for d warm hospitallity.. The service at regency club was superb.. Good job guys.. Never forget to promote this hotel to friends n relatives to stay here for d warm hospitallity n nice view as well..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Noramirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KUAKT, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kuantan, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Noramirah, Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us and we value your continuous support. We are excited to share with you that our guestrooms will be going under renovations soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel to experience the new rooms when they are launched.
Best regards,
Chen Yee Wang
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Having visited this hotel 3 years ago I was not impressed - standard rooms were dirty and ill kept. The then manager couldnt be bothered with customers at all - usually to be found in a local bar!
I returned two weeks ago and on being shown to a standard room safe not working and a small leak from hallway roof turned into a free pool in my room!! As with any hotel like this the staff are great - nothing is too much trouble and they know what a lot of work is needed. The pools and seaside setting are Idyllic and breakfast on the terrace overlooking the china sea is a must.
The staff immediately upgraded me to regency status and nothing was too much trouble.Their friendship and warm greetings make a lonely business trip very pleasant - thankyou.
Whoever owns the place pull your finger out and get it refurbished - the staff deserve it for the great service they give. Brian

Room Tip: Standard rooms atm really must be upgraded so try a deal on a Regency suite - still in need of upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIANN03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KUAKT, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kuantan, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Brian,
Thank you for taking time to share with us your stay experience. We have shared your valuable feedback to the team to look into and to rectify. The scenic views of the South China Sea is idlyllic, like you mentioned and to complement this, we are excited to share with you that our guestrooms will be going under renovations soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel to experience the new rooms.
Best regards,
Chen Yee Wang
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have booked a 3 days 2 nights for this..so called 5 stars hotel. When i reached this hotel in the first day, nobody helping me to carry luagage n bags while my husband dropping me in the entrance. So, one hand with holding my son and the other hand my luagage n bag to go to the lobby to check in. After entering our room, i received a sms from bank that i have swipe an amount of RM1,200 which pay to this hotel. Then, only i realised that the hotel receptinist has swipe my card without notifying me. He only informed me that he want to verify my credit card but not paying deposit of RM1,200. In conclusion, it was not worth for paying RM500++ per day ( inclusive of breakfast but not 5 stars breakfast) for seaview room which is small, old room n terrible service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHLeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KUAKT, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kuantan, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear LHLeem,
Thank you for taking time to share with us your feedback on your stay experience. We regret that your family holiday was not up to expectations and have highlighted this to the respective departments to rectify. We wish to share that the guestrooms would be going under remodelling soon and we hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel soon.
Best regards,
Chen Yee Wang
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at this hotel and took 5 rooms in total. Check-in was late (4pm) but the front desk (Rukesh) was very polite and took care of it. That was fine but i could not accept the rudeness that was shown by an older male staff from the gym. The management should really look into the staffs' PR as well as their room cleaning-up time. Overall, hotel is a little bit run-down and the interior design of the room is dated. Hyatt New Delhi was way better than this hotel. One thing was good though, the breakfast.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KUAKT, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kuantan, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Anis C,
Thank you for taking time to share with us your feedback. We have shared your positive comments with Rukesh and also your constructive feedback to the rest of our team to ensure improvements. We are excited to share with you that our guestrooms will be going under a remodelling programme soon and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.
Best regards,
Chen Yee Wang
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We change our previous hotel from the hell to here so this place feel like a palace to me, but the things bout hotel in kuantan their hotel interior is pretty but the room inside is old. The location is the nicest only minutes walking distance to the beach, restaurant and nightlife. Breakfast is sufficient but since kuantan got plenty of good foods we just preferred to have it somewhere else. They hav option either to add the breakfast buffet. Wifi only an hour free, don't know why Malaysia's hotel mostly really lousy in providing wifi facilities,most hotel will charge it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m216sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

A decent hotel for a quick beach retreat with the family. Hotel exterior and rooms look a bit dated though. Pool suffices, the beach is great.

Breakfast is separate but can opt to include into room rates. Only kids below 5 are considered for free breakfast buffet but the Front Desk managed to waive it for ours. Alternate option: only pay for room & head next door, there's a few eateries by the beach.

Housekeeping is difficult to get through. We stopped by the Front Desk to request for additional amenities.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
3.3 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
6.9 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
6.4 mi away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
15.0 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
22.0 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kuantan

Property: Hyatt Regency Kuantan
Address: Telok Chempedak, Kuantan 25050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kuantan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kuantan Resort will be fully closed from 1 September 2015 to undergo extensive renovation that will take approximately 12 months. No reservations will be accepted throughout this period. All 300 guestrooms and suites will be reinvented into stylish and elegant spaces while public areas and meeting venues will be refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kuantan Hotel Kuantan
Kuantan Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing