We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome . We'll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Nothing is wrong with this hotel... a large room with great food and staff. Free wifi and much more... great value and i cant ask for more. They even give u a gov serv rate.. ( if you working for Malaysia gov lah...)

Just maybe they should do something about the parking area. But hey...!! they will take care of ur car verry well. ( as im not turn off my car head light and they tell me about it, Thank you..!!) we are looking foward to stay here much longger when we back in kuantan.
We'll be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reefariena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

Huge room with balcony just a few steps away from the shopping mall. Friendly staff. Booked the 4 bedded family room for 3 adults and 1 child. I chose Agoda over Booking.com since their offer price is lower. Unfortunately they charged for extra bed (just because there is a child in the group although I've choosen the room with 4 beds that can cater all of us) and don't know what other hidden charges that made the total cost was almost double from the promo rate (the charges only revealed after I confirmed the booking and credit card was automatically charged ). I was robbed by Agoda! Tried to contact the 24/7customer service (based in S'pore - additional IDD rate was charged) but keep disconnecting - no chance to talk at all since the answering machine will disconnect you first. Respond from email was just an auto reply that the complain has beed channelled to respective technical unit.
A great hotel but an extremely poor travel agency service by Agoda. No more Agoda for me! Should have booked straight to the hotel, they offered better promo price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin_Shukor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my colleague. The room was HUGE! Staffs were very helpful. Good location - next to Berjaya Megamall. Wide variety of selection for breakfast menu - nasi lemak, Teochew porridge, egg station (half-boiled / scrambled / omelette), roti canai, western, toast and pastry, fried mee / koay teow made upon request, fresh fruits and salads (with thousand island dressing).

On the other hand, we did not get our 2-bottle drinking water supply on the first day of our stay (and that has led us to think the hotel do not supply drinking water at all) and we received The Star instead of Berita Harian despite having made our choice clear during check-in. Normally I am very forgiving for this sort of minor issues but I feel a hotel of this standard should be able to pay attention to details like this.

Anyway, overall it was a good stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gardenchime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Booked for 2 family suite. Check-in was a delay n i was compensated with an upgrade to cempaka suite. The room is superb!.. The hospitality was excellent.. Highly recommended.. Located next to berjaya megamall.. Definitely will return to this hotel on our next trip to kuantan

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dosrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

I wouldn't describe the hotel as deluxe, but it's of a good standard, much better than some but not as good as the more modern hotels, although the price was reasonable. We booked a triple room for 1 night with a roll-away bed for my family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids)! A good sized room, with good size bathroom & walk-in shower, although toilet wasn't clean.
We had a view to the back of Berjaya Mall, so not very exciting but very close & East Coast Mall is only 10 mins walk away.
Staff were friendly & efficient.
Buffet breakfast is 15RM/adult, 10RM/child & good value with good variety.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LennyA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Very dirty all over the room. I wasnt intended to write a comment but i think i should. Honestly i dont think they clean the bathroom, toilet or vacumn the floor. Sheets have stains, looking like were not washed.
Water rising in the sink when we wash our face.
Moulds collected in the bath and shower
On the day we leave guard and door man stood and watch we carried our luggages down the stairs.
Terrible stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donkeyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Room condotion is very good..the room is big n very comfortable.. but the service just average only..not good n not bad..for sleep is the best.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haziq158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Continental Kuantan
Grand Continental Kuantan
#34 of 44 in Kuantan
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
#7 of 44 in Kuantan
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#4 of 44 in Kuantan
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#5 of 44 in Kuantan
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan

Address: Lot 5 & 10 Lorong Gambut | Beserah, Kuantan 25300, Malaysia (Formerly M.S. Garden Hotel Kuantan)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range: £32 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Grand DarulMakmur Hotel Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing