We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legend Resort Cherating
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My family and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in July 2011. The photos of the hotel were mixed so we didn't really know what it was like, but the rate was pretty good so we weren't expecting too much. The lobby is tired and needs updating. Our rooms weren't ready when we arrived, fair enough as it was only 1pm, but the front desk staff were not good at communicating when they would be ready, many trips over two hours back to the desk to check. And so we sat and waited in the lobby sofas which definitely need replacing, and the floor was dirty, cigarette butts and so on. My children were not impressed and I have to say if I hadn't prepaid the rooms I would have walked as there are plenty of waterfront hotels in the area to choose from. However - we eventually got our rooms, I had booked seafront deluxe, and I have to say I was impressed, the rooms must have been recently renovated and they were finished very nicely, with a lovely view of the beach. There was a day bed in the room, and a good-sized balcony with two chairs and a table, which were well used by me. The bathroom was very modern, with a rain shower which my kids love. The hotel only has one restaurant with pretty uninspired, and expensive, food, you are probably better off eating outside the hotel for a better range and much cheaper bill. I went to the lobby bar, again, it was really in need of an upgrade and didn't look like anyone had visited in ages. We played pool in the lobby and they delivered drinks to us, so not too shabby actually. The restaurant by the pool and the swim up bar were not open when we were there, not sure if that's permanent or not, couldn't get a clear answer from the staff. The beach is OK, they've got some good water activities and my kids loved the quad bikes (not sure the other beachgoers were too happy with the noise but there you go). The hotel arranged the firefly trip for us which I have to say was fantastic, really worthwhile, and the turtle sanctuary, which is pretty ordinary and only for the hardcore turtle lovers! All in all, an OK hotel but really well past an upgrade in the lobby, bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Deluxe seafront is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriabitter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

We actually booked the seaview room for 3D2N. From the reviews that I have read, the room was as expected. Old room and old furnitures as well. When my son used the bath tube, the drain was clogged. So, we requested to change room. We were given a new room located at 5th floor viewing the pool. And thank God for that!! Our new room was the refurbished one. New furnitures, flat screen tv and new designed bathroom.

For your info, we are residing in Kuantan. The reason for checking-in to this resort is solely to bring the kids to swimming pool and chill out. So that's what we did most of the time. There is also a small playground near the pool for the kids to play. Apart from that we managed to go to Cherating Turtle Sanctuary nearby to release some hatchlings (at own arrangement). The kids were very excited and happy.

On food, the breakfast spread was good, from American breakfast to local dishes. But the a la carte and room service menu is limited and quite expensive. And the taste was just normal. Not value for money.

Overall, I would say the resort is just nice for a short stay especially for kids.

Room Tip: Yup, request for the refurbished room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank didie189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

What sort of hotel calls itself a 'resort' and allows a rowdy large group of some 100 students to use its facilities and play games on its beach?!!! The hotel rooms are run down and dirty. It is noisy; the food is bad. And there are sandflies. Good thing we were only spending a night.

Room Tip: best avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Besuki17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The front desk , a guy, that we met upon arrival is so rude and should not be given the front desk job. He is not helpful at all , very cold towards the guests. Whilst other staff members are very incompetent , they just don't know how to do their work. Twice I was at the counter to pay for my internet bills , there were 3 staff at the counter at that time , to my horror none of them acknowledge me . I think this is absurd!!!!!!!!!!
The buffet breakfast & dinner is lousy and I am most surprise that a 4 star hotel provide this kind of food and we paid (my wife and me) RM980.00 for a 3D2N stay and it's not worth the money.
Hello Legend please buck up!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samsuldul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Either we are easily pleased, or there has been some major work done since some of the bad reviews on this site.

We booked for 4 nights, deluxe room with sea view balcony. Room was newly refurbished (Cherating wing?) and was large, comfortable and well equipped with tv and luxurious bathroom. Huge bed. Excellent housekeeping. The foyer and public areas were a little dated, but the Abba tributes from the house band fitted in well. Yes, the outside landscaping and paving could do with a freshen. The pools were lovely, choice of two depending on your attire, and very clean - there were a lot of staff tidying cleaning issuing towels etc. But watch that sun, even under the trees. Breakfast was a good choice, with foods to suit all Malaysian tastes, and also baked beans and fried eggs. Missed bacon, but that is the way it is. We appeared to be the only Europeans present during our stay - most of the rest were Malaysian families on holiday.
The restaurant looked a little uninspiring, so we ate out most nights. There are many eateries along the main road in walking distance, the Peninsula also serves Tiger Beer. Also a drive or cab into Cherating village gives more opportunities. Try as we might, we could not spend more than about £6.00 per head for food and drink wherever we ate.
The beach was a bit littered (Malaysia seemed a bit messy this way) but uncrowded, with locals fishing and visitors enjoying themselves in a low key way.
So for under £50 per night we had a good stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: get refurbished room, eat out locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris151151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

the hotel is very run down and dirty!!!!!
the lobby and the room got bad smell/ bad odour!
the blankets, pillows and towels are dirty!
the room's floor is very sticky!
Mosquitos and ants in the room
the sofa is very dirty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
the hotel food is sucks!
the water in swimming pools is murky!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessica2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We were unimpressed by the overall resort. Rooms were dated, beds were on an oversized wooden box structure made getting on and off the bed from the edge a bit uncomfortable as your legs would be rubbing against the protruding wood. Bedsheets were 'old-smelling' and stained. We were compelled to check for bed bugs (luckily there were none).

Toilets were filthy, water leaking, mold on the tiles and tub. Amenities were too basic for a 4-star resort!

Facilities were old & worn, for eg jacuzzi was just a tub with weak jet, gym was filthy with really old equipment, ping pong ball was not quite up to std, pool table carpets were torn, cue sticks crooked, etc....

It was a pity becoz the resort was sure to have seen better days... Facilities and F&B prices were too high...

On the plus side, staff were ok, especially F&B staff who were prompt and courteous... Food (breakfast/lunch/dinner) taste wise was great too, especially their BBQ selection, fresh seafood!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yenbenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
124 reviews
13.4 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
5.5 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
1.9 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legend Resort Cherating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Resort Cherating

Address: Lot 1290 Jalan Sungai Karang Pantai | Cherating, Kuantan 25529, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range: £29 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legend Resort Cherating 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its expansive gardens and sweeping beachfront, The Legend Cherating Beach Resort provides the perfect environment for the ideal getaway. The resort is situated on 6.5 hectares of lush greenery and offers the contentment of a tropical paradise.Legend Cherating Beach Resort, is a first class resort in Pahang with a stunning white sandy beach located at one of Malaysia's premier holiday spots, Cherating Beach. About 45 km north of Kuantan in the east coast of Peninsular Malaysia, The Legend Resort, Cherating is an idyllic retreat for the weary urbanite and ideal for both business and pleasure. (Google Map)For your relaxing accommodation in Cherating Beach, The Legend Cherating Beach Resort features 129 rooms which charmingly furnished with a king or twin size bed. Facilities in all rooms includes a shower with hot and cold water, air-condition, ceiling fan, mini bar, room service, television, coffee and tea making facilities and hair dryer. Each room is equipped with a private balcony, allowing guests to soak up the breathtaking view of the ocean.While you are staying at the resort, be sure to try out the food. Dining in The Legend Cherating Beach Resort has always been a gourmet's delight. It caters for all tastes and occasions, offering a wide range of local and western dishes in elegant surroundings. To unwind, the Cherating Bay Lounge is the place to be after a long day at the beach.Mixing your business with leisure, The Legend Resort Cherating is the ideal venue for your meetings in Cherating. The resort offers 3 function rooms complete with conference facilities. The Sri Nagasari Hall can easily cater up to 300 persons for social as well as corporate events. Whether you are planning for a banquet, convention, meeting or seminar, our experienced and dedicated team provides planning assistance and co-ordination to ensure the highest levels of service to make your meetings in Cherating a resounding success.The Legend Resort, Cherating also has activities for the young and old. Guests can unwind from a hectic day by selecting from a range of teambuilding sports and recreational facilities available at the Resort.Legend Cherating Beach Resort is a 3 hours drive from Kuala Lumpur or 40 minutes drives from Kuantan Airport. It is also accessible by air with just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur or 45 minutes from Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legend Resort Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Resort Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Legend Hotel Kuantan
Legend Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing