We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip to Kuantan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed 25 December 2008

We were looking for a resort mainly for our 5 year old son and somewhere nice for the family. They had a family package and i thought why not.

The rooms are not bad, considering that this is a beach resort and not a hotel. There is a simple kids pool. The resort is just next to the sea but it was december, so there were little activities by the beach. Fortunately for us, the weather was kind to us considering that it was the monsoon season.

They also had a play room for kids but it was not that great and not many people use them. They also had arcade games and cyber games for guests to use.

Some activities like batik painting are also available if you like.
The main restaurant has a good view and reasonable spread.

Teluk Cempedak which is about 15 minutes drive from the hotel has got some great views by the beach. i love it.

Overall, it was quite a nice place although perhaps we come at the wrong time. I understand that a good time to visit would be between March and August when they have more activities and excursions out of the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BatmanBen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2008

We have just stayed in the Swiss Garden Resort & Spa in Kuantan, Malaysia, on a short relaxing break from Thailand were we live. We only had two nights there and really wanted to just relax and chill out by the sea, and were very happy with our choice of hotel.

We booked on a last minute website and got a very good deal, which was followed up by a nice relaxing environment and good service. Our check in was friendly and straightforward, and our garden view room was large and comfortable and had everything we needed.

The hotel is situated right on the beach, which was clean, long and undeveloped - no rows of sunbeds and beach sellers to spoil the view or the peace and quiet. The pool area was next to the beach and had a nice big pool perfect both for a decent swim or for just floating lazily around in.

A large and varied breakfast buffet made for a nice leisurely start to the day while enjoying the early morning sun at the outside tables. At night-time the main restaurant has a good a la carte menu, but the international buffet is a much better option - very good value for a fantastic array of very tasty choices - the hard part was not going back for just one more helping!

All in all the Swiss Garden had everything we expected, with friendly staff and was a perfect relaxing break for a couple of days. We didn't have time to get out and about and see any of Kuantan itself but the hotel did run free shuttle buses several times a day into town which would have been handy if we were staying longer.

Good value and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrishDiver07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We booked our stay at the hotel via latestays.com which is the hotel's preferred site. Upon arrival, the bell boy was busy chatting away to hotel staff members, ignoring me. We drove from KL to Kuantan for a 3night stay.

The check-in process was a mess. Even with 2staff member present, they were unable to locate our booking. They couldn't comprehend the fact that we had book via the internet from our hotel in KL, and due to this reason, we were unable to print out the actual hotel confirmation. We did however, provide them with the booking references, but no joy. After a 40min delay in check-in, we were finally provided our room, alas, they had given us the wrong room type. So, back downstairs we went and that took another 40mins to sort out.

After that was sorted out, we noticed that they had only checked us in for 1night stay even though we had booked for 3nights. Next morning, luckily we managed to sort it out with a sensible staff member.

Other than that, the room itself is spacious and well appointed. Breakfast was so so but I have to admit, the check in experience did not tug at my heart strings to return to Swiss Garden Kuantan, Kuantan town itself, I would return but the hotel? Nay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PrimroseHill219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We ( 2 adults and 2 kids under the age of 10) stayed in a family room for one night on our way to Redang.

We arrived early but still got our room immediately, hours before the official check-in time. The room seemed nice enough, but we soon realised that the door lock was broken: no matter what we did, the door wouldn't lock. We visited the front desk and the staff promised to "look into it". We waited and waited in our room, but nobody came and nothing happened, even though the hotel wasn't at all crowded at that point. We made a phone call to the front desk. Still nothing. We asked a cleaning lady to call someone, which she said she would do. Nothing happened. We contacted another member of the staff. No effect. Almost two hours had passed since our original request. During this time, we were unable to go to the beach or have lunch as a family, because one of us had to stay in the room (since all of our stuff was there behind an unlocked door).

Finally, after two hours of waiting, my husband made one more call and demanded to talk to the manager. We never got him/her on the phone, but finally somebody came to check the situation. We immediately got a new (similar) room and an apology, but that was all. Some kind of compensation, no matter how modest, would have been a nice gesture after all the waiting and non-existent service.

We had (a late) lunch and dinner at their Garden Terrace restaurant. The food was excellent and affordable, but on both times they tried to charge us on things that we hadn't ordered or got. It took ages (and during dinnertime another incorrect bill) before we got a corrected bill (without any apologies). During dinnertime the restaurant was very crowded, but during our late lunch we were the only customers, so no excuse there.

The hotel staff were actually very friendly but all in all unbelievably inefficient and unable to handle our problems.
Otherwise the hotel was very nice. The rooms were clean, cosy and in good condition, common areas nice enough, the beach and the pool ok etc. But I'm still not sure if they deserve a second chance.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Talvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We had tried to book a room here a few months ago but it was full so we decided to try again at the recent Hari Raya holiday and managed to get 3 nights.

First impressions of the resort when driving in were good and we foud the lobby to be very grand and welcoming. Check-in however was disappointing. There were 2 in front of us when we arrived and only one member of staff behind the desk. The person directly in front of us had some issues that were taking rather a long time and after 10 minutes of waiting I asked if any more staff were available. I was told to wait a moment and then suddenly 4 more staff appeared. We were then quickly dealt with and soon into our room.

The room was a Sea View Deluxe and very well appointed. Everything was in good condition and spotlessly clean. Our only disappointments here were that there was no mini-bar (only an empty fridge) and no free ADSL Internet. Both are advertised as coming with the room. Anyway we didn't let it get us down as the prices for room service were rather steep and we probably would not have used the mini-bar that much anyway. Prices in the hotel are very steep and much cheaper outside the resort. Those wishing to have a beachside drink can use the Parrot Bar situated between the swimming pool and the beach or for half the price walk 100 metres along the beach to the Sunday Bar. It is a ramshackle type of place but is run by a very welcoming German man and is frequented by many of the expat community in Kuantan as well as the guests of the Swiss Garden. Unfortunately he does not serve food but there are many delicious local restaurants along the main road outside the hotel.

Other things to point out are that tea and coffee making facilities, iron and board, electronic safe, complimentory flip-flops and toiletries are all provided in the room. All rooms have a balcony with 2 chairs and a small table. Perfect for that late afternoon gin and tonic.

We did eat 2 nights out of the 3 in the hotel and preferred the Chinese Restaurant to the Buffet Dinner in the larger place downstairs. The food in the Chinese place was excellent but the choices in the larger restaurant (where breakfast was also served) was mainly local style. My wife is not able to eat spicy food and found the dinner very lacking in anything she could eat. Breakfast was also like that and unless you wanted eggs most other things were local style. Personally I enjoyed it but feel they could cater more for their Western guests.

As I mentioned earlier our stay was over the Hari Raya holiday and the hotel was fully booked those days. It did make things very chaotic at times and especially at breakfast. On our last morning the foodand drinks available on the buffet were constantly running out and in need of replenishment. The staff were trying their best but overwhelmed by guests at times. If going then we would recommend you choose a time that is not a National Holiday.

Overall the resort is very nice with a lovely beachfront location. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Any minor problems we had were quickly dealt with after pointing them out.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tam Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

the hotel was not bad, staff are all well trained. very polite and friendly . we book the room through hotel website, write in to request for decoration for the room as it was actually a birthday celebration trip. the management reply the very next day .beside the room decoration they even present a free birthay cake as a welcome gift. it was really warm. the only weak point is the beach itself was not so good . the sand was not white at all .the sea also not clear ..but luckyly it was not too far to travel to another beach which is teluk cempedak . so we just need to spent 10-15 mins to drive n enjoy the beach there . overall everything is ok. a place for relax.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank joyce_philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

This is the second time we stayed here. Stayed here in Early Aug, Booked a suite for 2 days. Was upgraded because the hotel was full. Exec suite was good except that it can get a bit dark at night when you wanna do some reading, must improve on lighting in lounge area.

Left the next day at 4pm because daugther was very ill. Was charged for one night stay even though we decided to leave pass check out time. Was very touch by the gesture, rare nowsaday to find hotel that is compassionate.

The hotel is situated in a nice stretch of beach in Kuantan, I always managed to relax when i see this beautiful fine sandy beach. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fei-Low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
6.9 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
0.6 mi away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
15.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
13.4 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#33 of 44 in Kuantan
444 reviews
14.9 mi away
Royale Chulan Cherating
Royale Chulan Cherating
#2 of 7 in Cherating
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Address: 2656-2657 Mukim Sungai Karang, Balok Beach,, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range: £49 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing