We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Kindly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I have been at Rocana Hotel Kuantan for every month with my family. My kids love this hotel very much. The service is very excellent. The housekeeping was very friendly,politely and very hardworking. Even they have only one lady in that department but she treat all people like her family.
The food was very nice,delicious and the price are reasonable. I love all about Rocana Hotel.
If all of you interested to visit Kuantan,I prefer to you to choose the Rocana Hotel Kuantan. The place is near to the shopping mall,near to the bus station and easy to get the taxi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank shaamir_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

I follow my husband and this is the 1st time coming to east coast area. This hotel is very strategic places cause of hotel in the middle of 2 shopping mall. Which is Megamall and East Coast Mall. Parking wise i just parked my car and let us walk going to either one of this mall. One thing interest on this places. near to saturday night market and sunday day market. The service also good i request for hair dryer and can be reach fast within 5 minute. But the breakfast need to be more variety. I also feel welcome cause of the staff are friendly during check in and also check out. For my next visit I prefer to stay this hotel due to strategic places. :P

Room Tip: Try first then you all know
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

the service there is unbelievably poor. even when you request for room make-up it is not being done. hopeless. enough said!!!! can'treally say anything more to explain how bad the service of this place is. when you request for room cleaning and it is not done for not only 1 day but 2 days of reques then that says it all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank aaz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

i booked a standard room in the hotel on last saturday. i checked in and make the payment at 2.15pm. The staff said the room was not ready yet, she told me to check in at 3pm. It's ok. After that, i came back to the hotel to check in again at 7pm. I get the same answer again, the room was not ready yet. The staff called to the housekeeping department and asked the worker. The irresponsible worker told me to give him another 1 hour to let to clean the room. The staff said he also don't know why they're cleaning the room. The staff should always alert, once the guest already paid the money, so make sure the room is ready... I don't know what's the housekeeping doing for almost five hours. Lazy? keep chit chatting or.... I don't really understand why such a big hotel looked nice but the service was sp lousy. At last, i have to wait at lobby which is no air-conditioning. Finally i checked in at 7.30pm. i can say that the room was quite comfortable but the service was lousy.
The last quesiton is we have to pay more if we check out after 12pm, is it? But now is your fault, i checked in at 2.15pm and the staff said the room can ready by 3pm. Why after 5 hours i still can't check in? So are you going to pay me?
i like the room as well, but not the service...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peifoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Very poor service rendered by staff name Effa. Leave message to her to clean the room at 13:12 . When I came back at 15.40p.m. they still haven't clean my room. When I asked Effa why after more than 2hrs the room is still not been clean she explained- "HER DUTY IS ONLY TO INFORM THE STAFF AND THEY HAVE A SYSTEM WHERE ONLY CERTAIN NOS OF ROOM WILL BE CLEAN IN EACH FLOOR IN EVERY HOUR". Then, I ask her where should I rest now while waiting for the room to be clean? She explain that she cant do anything because she's in the Reservation Dept. Then I said if you're not the person that I can rely on why you accept my message?? then only she apologize and will directly ask the Housekeeping Dept to clean at that point of time. Me,my mom and my daughter 2.5yrs old was so tired and looking forward to rest in our room but was failed due to "WE HAVE TO WAIT FOR OUR TURN IN ORDER FOR THEM TO CLEAN OUR ROOM - THAT IS SO CALLED ROCANA SYSTEM"-according to Effa.
Other than this unwanted experience, the room and location was good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 30LILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I travel to Kuantan frequently (multiple times a month). I must say this is one of the best hotel for business travelers. The location is very convenient and accessible to the CBD of Kuantan. I stayed at the Deluxe room (RM208/nt without breakfast), the room is very spacious and the facilities is well suited for business travelers' basic needs. The rate for the room is definitely competitive given the strategic location they are at. The room is tidy, service is up to expectation. Definitely will return to Rocana Hotel. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Stay at the deluxe room if you require space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank RTanoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I travel to kuantan a few times in a year and came across this hotel through Trip Advisor. This trip, I stayed for a total of 4 nights, arrive monday and check-out friday.

I stayed in a Superior room and the finishing & linen were good for a RM148/nite (without Breakfast) rate. The shower was shiok -high water pressure and easily adjustable temperature. The daily housekeeping of the room was excellent.
Front lobby is airy & pleasant, with sitting area, newspaper rack & TV. I did not try the breakfast, as price was RM 148++ (now RM 171).. so its RM23 extra for 1pax just to have the buffet breakfast.
Parking: There's basement parking (limited lots). In the day, parking coupon is needed for the lots outside the hotel.
This is a very convenient location. There are many eateries, drinking places and a Mall within a very short walking distance.
Overall a good experience, except with some hiccups from reservation (booked for 2nights but only got 1 night.. asked for cityview & got alleyway view). Apart from that, great job by the hotel team!

Room Tip: Cityview facing rooms if you can get one :) .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank wn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.3 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
0.8 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#5 of 44 in Kuantan
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#4 of 44 in Kuantan
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#7 of 44 in Kuantan
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Continental Kuantan
Grand Continental Kuantan
#33 of 44 in Kuantan
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocana Hotel Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocana Hotel Kuantan

Address: B2-B10, Lorong Tun Ismail 8 | Sri Dagangan II, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range: £30 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocana Hotel Kuantan 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocana Hotel is a business hotel with 87 rooms with an inviting atmosphere. The hotel is situated in the heart of Kuantan town. Guests are able to reach the Sultan Ahmad Shah International Convention Centre (SASICC), local shopping malls and restaurants within walking distance, making our hotel one of the most strategically located hotel in town. For the beach lover, Rocana Hotel is just 10 minutes away from the famous Teluk Chempedak beach. The hotel has a modern and contemporary style tailored to the business travellers segment. Rocana Hotel offers a complete standard business services, from the hotel rooms to the function rooms’ facilities; you will be able to enjoy complimentary 24 hours wireless internet service. It is an ideal hotel for those who are looking for value-for-money accommodation with quality. We offer attractive corporate rates and group rates for overnight accommodation in conjunction with meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rocana Hotel Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing