We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mosquitoes hotel ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stay at here 2 days for my business trip, thought is was a new hotel in the heart of Kuantan town, but the hotel is full of mosquitoes. ( room, concourse area, cafe ).
The management must look at this issue.

Nothing much facilities provided by this hotel, no gym centre, no swimming pool. The parking area need to look at it, a bit narrow when turning into it.

Beside the above issue, everything just nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AleximonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Installing wooden floors in new hotels is certainly a welcomed trend as carpets tend to collect dust and its a bane for allergy sufferers.
The rooms are clean and comfortable.
The meals in the restaurant are very good.
Kudos to the chef!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ibnibatutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Rocana Hotel opened in 2012, is located in the heart of Kuantan. A major mall and other eateries are located within walking distance. The staff are very helpful and friendly where check in and out was fast and efficient. Although the basement car park has only 13 parking lots, there are several parking lots outside the hotel.

The room is pretty basic with TV, fridge, safe, 2 bottles of free water daily, tea and coffee sachets and the usual toiletries. The TV has basic but useful satellite channels. The room and toilet was clean and the bed comfortable. There is no bathtub and neither is there an iron nor ironing board, something that would come in handy for a business traveller.

Breakfast was basic, however food was fresh and the menu changes daily with a choice of cereal, bread, noodles, etc. There is an egg station where you can order omelettes, fried eggs, etc.

For the price, Rocana Hotel is a comfortable and convenient hotel in the heart of Kuantan.

Room Tip: Tip: If you are a disabled person like myself, there is a disabled parking lot in the basement, next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SLChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I drove into Kuantan town on the 9th of February and was looking for a hotel and just booked into Rocana hotel . Inspite of the Chinese New Year season I was given a room and I had to extend my stay till the 11 of February and the reception staff were very helpful and kind in considering my request..Very good hospitality
Very good rooms and lovely food especially the breakfast. The pastry was good and so was the other food served. I would love to stay in this hotel again if I have to because it is centrally placed and accessible to all the big Malls like Berjaya shopping Mall and all the entertainment outlets and eateries.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Annarani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hotel is located very close to nearby restaurants and mall. Not easy to spot the building as it is low rise. If you drive, basement parking is available but very limited bays (free parking). We walked in and stayed at Superior room. There is no option of not taking the breakfast although customer should be given a choice of room only or room with breakfast. Breakfast was simple and limited but it's okay. Room was spacious and clean and equipped with personal safe which is useful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tonelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

In kuantan at this price point the Rocana has found a niche as probably the best of the 3 stars. Its rooms are large and clean, and provides basic amenities, incl. free wifi.

Staffing I feel (after staying >5 different times) is skeleton, and could be better trained.

The breakfast in general is quite poor in quality. Perhaps they should reduce the selections to improve the quality. Anyway for the price of the room it is not a huge complaint.

Location is great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Junwatanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed for 1 night. The staff was friendly & the hotel was simple but nice.
The room was just nice for a me. Love how they play with the furniture to fit the small room. It was just terrific & nicely done. The bed was cosy & the bathroom was petite.

As i was traveling by a car, the problem starts. I had to drive two rounds to get a parking slot. The basement car park was full. There's a empty car park beside of the hotel which has a Rocana sign on the road but i was refused to park there by the guard. And he said its not for the quest. So I end up need to park my car in front of a Japanese restaurant. Unfortunately i get a parking ticket (fined) during my checkout time. Quite disappointing & this may hinders me to come over again. .

The management should had warn the quest about strict parking policy by parking authorities during check in. Or perhaps take the extra effort to buy car park tickets for guest. I check out at about 11:00 am.

Breakfast was just ok. Not much choice.
Pro's : There's a small burger station down the road & a MUST TRY
Con's : Parking!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.3 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
0.8 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#5 of 44 in Kuantan
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#4 of 44 in Kuantan
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#7 of 44 in Kuantan
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Continental Kuantan
Grand Continental Kuantan
#33 of 44 in Kuantan
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocana Hotel Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocana Hotel Kuantan

Address: B2-B10, Lorong Tun Ismail 8 | Sri Dagangan II, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range: £30 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocana Hotel Kuantan 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocana Hotel is a business hotel with 87 rooms with an inviting atmosphere. The hotel is situated in the heart of Kuantan town. Guests are able to reach the Sultan Ahmad Shah International Convention Centre (SASICC), local shopping malls and restaurants within walking distance, making our hotel one of the most strategically located hotel in town. For the beach lover, Rocana Hotel is just 10 minutes away from the famous Teluk Chempedak beach. The hotel has a modern and contemporary style tailored to the business travellers segment. Rocana Hotel offers a complete standard business services, from the hotel rooms to the function rooms’ facilities; you will be able to enjoy complimentary 24 hours wireless internet service. It is an ideal hotel for those who are looking for value-for-money accommodation with quality. We offer attractive corporate rates and group rates for overnight accommodation in conjunction with meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rocana Hotel Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing