We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT VALUE FOR MONEY!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT VALUE FOR MONEY!!!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Not value for money... I was told that the bed is super king but it was just the usual king sized bed... No bathtub, a tiny closet and the view is so boring... A very bad first impression...Definitely won't come back!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    58
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
16
5
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

location is great, between berjaya times square and east coast mall, just 2 streets away from this hotel.

hotel room is clean, safe box and mini fridge provided, big bathroom compare to other budget hotel. bed is comfort but aircon not cold enough.

price from 168 twin bedroom, not really cheap. beware where you park your car, make sure you have parking coupon to avoid penatly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dreamer326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subang jaya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I just stayed at Rocana Hotel for the second time at the beginning of the week. This is place is enjoyable and wonderfully located in Downtown Shopping Mall District Kuantan. The hotel's location is in between Mega Mall and East Coast Mall and both are in walking distance. Not to mention, an active masjid with 5 time daily solat even closer.

The staff is friendly, the hotel is quaint and the exterior is no thrills. Yet, for the price, the rome are clean and very comfortable. We tabled some of our plans and opted to chill inside instead. The bathroom is large and well ventilated. It is very tasteful and clean by Asian standards. The shower is hot and good pressure.

Stayed with family, opted for the bigger room, well worth it, and still a good value. Lots of good halal eats in Kuantan. My only criticism has nothing to do with the hotel, but more as an afore warning to people driving there. Kuantan's streets are under construction and they are currently switching flow of traffic, making 2 ways one. It is a bit annoying and potentially dangerous.

Otherwise lovely a treat in Kuantan I'm eager to return too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abujalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stay at here 2 days for my business trip, thought is was a new hotel in the heart of Kuantan town, but the hotel is full of mosquitoes. ( room, concourse area, cafe ).
The management must look at this issue.

Nothing much facilities provided by this hotel, no gym centre, no swimming pool. The parking area need to look at it, a bit narrow when turning into it.

Beside the above issue, everything just nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleximonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Installing wooden floors in new hotels is certainly a welcomed trend as carpets tend to collect dust and its a bane for allergy sufferers.
The rooms are clean and comfortable.
The meals in the restaurant are very good.
Kudos to the chef!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ibnibatutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Rocana Hotel opened in 2012, is located in the heart of Kuantan. A major mall and other eateries are located within walking distance. The staff are very helpful and friendly where check in and out was fast and efficient. Although the basement car park has only 13 parking lots, there are several parking lots outside the hotel.

The room is pretty basic with TV, fridge, safe, 2 bottles of free water daily, tea and coffee sachets and the usual toiletries. The TV has basic but useful satellite channels. The room and toilet was clean and the bed comfortable. There is no bathtub and neither is there an iron nor ironing board, something that would come in handy for a business traveller.

Breakfast was basic, however food was fresh and the menu changes daily with a choice of cereal, bread, noodles, etc. There is an egg station where you can order omelettes, fried eggs, etc.

For the price, Rocana Hotel is a comfortable and convenient hotel in the heart of Kuantan.

Room Tip: Tip: If you are a disabled person like myself, there is a disabled parking lot in the basement, next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SLChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I drove into Kuantan town on the 9th of February and was looking for a hotel and just booked into Rocana hotel . Inspite of the Chinese New Year season I was given a room and I had to extend my stay till the 11 of February and the reception staff were very helpful and kind in considering my request..Very good hospitality
Very good rooms and lovely food especially the breakfast. The pastry was good and so was the other food served. I would love to stay in this hotel again if I have to because it is centrally placed and accessible to all the big Malls like Berjaya shopping Mall and all the entertainment outlets and eateries.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annarani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.3 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
0.6 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
0.4 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#3 of 43 in Kuantan
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#4 of 43 in Kuantan
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#6 of 43 in Kuantan
137 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
#17 of 43 in Kuantan
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocana Hotel Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocana Hotel Kuantan

Property: Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Address: B2-B10, Lorong Tun Ismail 8 | Sri Dagangan II, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocana Hotel Kuantan 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocana Hotel is a business hotel with 87 rooms with an inviting atmosphere. The hotel is situated in the heart of Kuantan town. Guests are able to reach the Sultan Ahmad Shah International Convention Centre (SASICC), local shopping malls and restaurants within walking distance, making our hotel one of the most strategically located hotel in town. For the beach lover, Rocana Hotel is just 10 minutes away from the famous Teluk Chempedak beach. The hotel has a modern and contemporary style tailored to the business travellers segment. Rocana Hotel offers a complete standard business services, from the hotel rooms to the function rooms’ facilities; you will be able to enjoy complimentary 24 hours wireless internet service. It is an ideal hotel for those who are looking for value-for-money accommodation with quality. We offer attractive corporate rates and group rates for overnight accommodation in conjunction with meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocana Hotel Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing