We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel in Kuantan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average Hotel in Kuantan”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is centrally located in Kuantan town centre with nearby restaurants, cafes and entertainment spots. Overall a very clean hotel with free WIFI access. Hotel parking lots are available, but limited, and guests are requested to park very carefully at the designated spots, otherwise car will be clamped. However, at night - street parking lots are plenty.

Overall, a very clean but basic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chonghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    59
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
16
5
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Going Kuantan for business trip. Try out this hotel for the first time. Will come again.

Pro:
Basement parking available and accessible to lobby and directly to room. Convenient
Breakfast; adequate local and western varieties. An Indian staff at the breakfast area even greet my name and ask me for any extra orders..He is certainly an asset.
Hotel location near to mall, banks and restaurants within walking distance abt 2-8mins.
A convenience shop is located just opposite the hotel.

Room is clean and new. Hot shower. Comfortable bed and pillow.

Cons:
Wifi is a bit slow.
Sometimes you might get a room facing the back of other building.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights in this hotel. It is a pleasant hotel with every basic things u need. Checking in is fast and smooth, staffs were friendly.

I stayed in a deluxe room with big workstation. 1st night was not very pleasant as the room air conditioning was noisy. So I complaint in the next morning and it was serviced and fix. Bed and bathroom is nice. However, I wish they could improve on their breakfast especially the egg station. I had a lousy sunny side up ..ha..ha.

Parking was ok for me. managed to park in front of the hotel for 2 nights. the last night I park under ground but with security 24 hours.
I am going back to this hotel next week. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kcie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel room was average, view from room was poor. Quality of service and breakfast needs improvement. Disappointed with the limitation of hotel car park. Its a shop lot that is converted to a hotel, don't expect too much.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zamanuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

On the first night we stayed on 5th floor- the cable TV and the power sockets were not functioning well and the air conditioner was not cool despite turning it to the lowest temperature. We were sweating at night so not too much of a good sleep.

We then requested for a room change, which was promptly arranged without having to explain why we needed one. This definitely helped making us feel better about the hotel, as we would have moved out if there wasn't another room.

The new room was on the 6th floor, and it was visibly more spacious- both the room size and the toilet size. The air-conditioner and all other amenities worked in the new room. Hotel looks rather new so the furniture are in good condition. However if you are particular about having a clean towel, do consider bringing your own, as there were some stains on ours and it looked pretty used.

Rocana Hotel has a pretty good location: between 2 malls, lots of eateries and cafe around the area, a bar just in front of the hotel (no, it was not noisy at night), and is in the new business zone in Kuantan town.

Breakfast was included, and the food choice was okay. But when in Kuantan, I suppose you should be heading out for other famous local delicacies instead.

Staff were friendly and welcoming so that is definitely a plus. Parking is also provided- choice of either parking beside the hotel or the underground car park in the hotel.

Overall, the hotel is pretty decent for town-center, and I would consider staying here again if we do return.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Regi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Not value for money... I was told that the bed is super king but it was just the usual king sized bed... No bathtub, a tiny closet and the view is so boring... A very bad first impression...Definitely won't come back!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

location is great, between berjaya times square and east coast mall, just 2 streets away from this hotel.

hotel room is clean, safe box and mini fridge provided, big bathroom compare to other budget hotel. bed is comfort but aircon not cold enough.

price from 168 twin bedroom, not really cheap. beware where you park your car, make sure you have parking coupon to avoid penatly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dreamer326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.3 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
0.6 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
0.4 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#3 of 43 in Kuantan
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#4 of 43 in Kuantan
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#6 of 43 in Kuantan
138 reviews
15.3 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocana Hotel Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocana Hotel Kuantan

Property: Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Address: B2-B10, Lorong Tun Ismail 8 | Sri Dagangan II, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocana Hotel Kuantan 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocana Hotel is a business hotel with 87 rooms with an inviting atmosphere. The hotel is situated in the heart of Kuantan town. Guests are able to reach the Sultan Ahmad Shah International Convention Centre (SASICC), local shopping malls and restaurants within walking distance, making our hotel one of the most strategically located hotel in town. For the beach lover, Rocana Hotel is just 10 minutes away from the famous Teluk Chempedak beach. The hotel has a modern and contemporary style tailored to the business travellers segment. Rocana Hotel offers a complete standard business services, from the hotel rooms to the function rooms’ facilities; you will be able to enjoy complimentary 24 hours wireless internet service. It is an ideal hotel for those who are looking for value-for-money accommodation with quality. We offer attractive corporate rates and group rates for overnight accommodation in conjunction with meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocana Hotel Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing