We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome seafood”

Sri Mahkota Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #87 of 231 Restaurants in Kuantan
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you don't mind eating at a plastic table and sitting on a plastic chair then this is an awesome restaurant for local seafare from Kuantan (fishing village at the east coast of Malaysia.

True it is not the cheapest seafood restaurant in town, but it has some of the freshes dishes around as fish and other cretaeous are kept alive untill minutes before ending up on your plate.

The crab was amazing and super delicious, as was the steamed fish.
Must try dish is their deep fried tofu with vinegar.... Really delicious.

The restaurant looks a bit messy, but the food is really awesome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutchwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Tasty Seafood”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Sri Mahkota Seafood Restuarant is located in front of the Citiview Hotel, just off the main road before the junction to Teluk Chempedak and Tanjung Lumpur.

We were there for our dinner at about 7.00 pm, and there was not too many guest. Since this is a halal seafood restaurant, there were some Muslim guest having their dinner there as well. The restaurant is an open air type, with a small section air-conditioned. Numerous food photos with descriptions of the food is found on the walls of the restaurant.

We ordered our dishes for dinner - shark's skin fried with dry chilli, stir fry spinach and ginger onion chicken. Service was fast and good. The shark's skin was good and tasty, vegetable dish was well done and not over-cooked, while the ginger onion chicken was quite flavorful. The total bill for our dishes was less than RM 50.

Since there was only two of us, we could not try the other dishes, but I will be back for more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeap C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motala, Sverige
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food for reasonable price”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I had dinner there three times during my stay in Kuantan, biggest reason was that it was close to my hotel.
I had tofu with red onions and vinager, fried lobster and some kind of fried fish. It all tasted good, espacially the lobster.
I also appreciated the fact that I could have beer to drink.
The service was good, I probably went there before "regular people" have their dinner, so the place was nearly empty at the time of my visits (around 6PM).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lundin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good consistent standard with a friendly owner”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Been to Sri Mahkota a number of times and the standard has been fairly consistent. Definitely on the list whenever I am in Kuantan

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good find”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Found this place by chance on our trip to Cherating. The price of the seafood is good and relatively cheap. The owner/chef was proud to tell us that he was one of the most featured chefs in Kuantan and his crabs are the cheapest around for the last 3 years! Do try the salted crabs. Service is prompt and fast. Halal restaurant that caters to everyone. Will definitely try out other dishes if we come by again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WeiL825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sri Mahkota Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Kuantan, Kuantan District
 
Kuantan, Kuantan District
 

Been to Sri Mahkota Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing