We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Standard when Not Too Busy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Kuantan

La Casa Kuantan
Ranked #6 of 227 Restaurants in Kuantan
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“High Standard when Not Too Busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Coming back on 15th march weekend. Much better service. The Chinese lady is the asset of the restaurant. She is well informed of the menu and specials.

When visited in Febuary, all the juice was from the pack. Disappointing. This time, the lady told us watermelon juice is fresh. Do ask the fresh juice they have before ordering.

We have ordered 2 lamb shank. Gorgeous! Lamb chop was good too. Calzone was a bit dry. Baked fish was good. Served on the warm plate. Shame served with pasta. Wished could have been vege and potatoes.

When we visited in CNY, leg of Lamb was cut before serving. That would make the lamb dry. If you come at normal time, they carve the leg on the table. Much better.

Also beer butt chicken, when visited in CNY, the chicken was served without pouring beer on it. But, when we see next table have beer butt chicken, it was served on potatoes and beer poured before served.

Will come again try others on the menu. Keep up the good work.






Helpful?
Thank Daymondyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    8
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not worth for it, taste no consistent and portion is less”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

order the pizza waiting more than 40 minutes.and the special menu portion is less,Less workers ,service is slow,the meal serve with not hot,the the chicken chop quite raw .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Meganpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Don't come around CNY”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

It is full house on Sunday. First time been here. Pretty simple table setting. We have booked the table and food a week before. Still, selling our salmon fillet to someone else. Asked us to choose alternative, but top 10 mains all sold out. Lol

The soup served in different plates and bowls. Avoid beer butt chicken. No taste of beer. Just ordinary roast chicken. All the staff here don't handle non halal food anyway.

I've been to the counter ordering wine and carry to table myself. Because tired of waiting the wine sitting on the counter. No one bother to serve it. No wine list, just have whatever they can find from the stockroom. Ending up having 9 bottles wine. If only they can serve it earlier....

Stay away from mussels. Very much overcooked. We had 3 plates wasted mussels.

Pizza is great. Leg of lamb is not too bad. Liking the roast carrots and potatoes come with it. Lamb a bit dry.

The lady behind the till and the blond one with glasses never acknowledge when people raise hand to order. They just walked pass not looking. Same experience with other table.

If you can't find menu on FB, do message them. They are very much helpful replying and send you the menu and talk through the menu as no description on it. How they cook it. Leg of lamb serve 5-6pax. They will show you how beer butt chicken is made. They also do spider crab. Need preorder.

I might come again when it is not busy weekend. Give them a second more reasonable review.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daymondyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unforgettable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent a wonderful evening with our friends. Excellent food and excellent service will never be forgotten for us. Sure we will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan, Malaysia
1 review
“Exceeding expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I recently organised a work dinner at La Casa. The senior executive of the oil and gas company commented that it was the best lamb roast he has had in his entire life! The owners of La Casa, Thomas and Ira, make it very easy to entertain international clients. The prices are very reasonable. Being a smaller restaurant the secret is to book well in advance.

We go to La Casa often and we have never been disappointed - the food and service has always been brilliant. For western food its by far the best restaurant in Kuantan and probably the state of Pahang.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MOS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa Kuantan also viewed

Kuantan, Kuantan District
Kuantan, Kuantan District
 
Kuantan, Kuantan District
Kuantan, Kuantan District
 

Been to La Casa Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing