We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars pools / 3 star hotel / zero star beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Rhu Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Kuantan
Reviewed 29 July 2014

First time at this hotel since staying few days back as the hotel is currently refurbishing the rooms phase by phase.

it's a 3 star hotel but with pool facilities of 4 star suitable for kids to adults.

But the beach is a waste as they never clean/tidy it or take care of it, full of rubbish, tree trunks, stones, dry woods, etc.

If the hotel management bother to read reviews here, clean up the beach and your hotel will beat other 4-5 stars hotel nearby.

Bath tub = X (only standing shower)
WIFI = ✔ (slow but free)
King size bed = ✔ (ask for it)
Balcony = ✔ (only top floor)
Extra bed = ✔ (it will hurt your back, as their bed is folding type thus the mattress is split into two)
Super Deluxe room = ✔ (it can fit in two extra beds, please do not sleep on the bed frame, put the mattress on the floor better or bring your own folding mattress).
Breakfast = ✔ (Just simple food served)
Pools = ✔ (there is 9ft adult pool under maintenance, mini water theme pool for kids, and adults pool in different sizes)
Extra towels at pool = X (bring your room towels)
Life Guard = X (there is no life guard standby at pool - take note)
Playground = ✔
Car park = ✔ (easily accessible walking direct to your room via side entrance)
Front Desk = ✔ (friendly staff with smile)

Driving distance to city centre = 20-25 minutes.

Need ATM for cash - there is an ATM machine at 7-Eleven store, 200 meters from the hotel.

Location wise = just 2km from the swiss garden resort.

Room Tip: Ask for Ground Floor Room - if you are pregnant, eldery folks or lazy to walk stairs. Ask for the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank blackberrymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is located about 15 minutes drive from the town. It has a few swimming pools suitable for adults and children. Some parts of the hotel block is still under renovation hence the are safety issues to be concerned of. The rooms are okay with different types of bed (ie twins and king size), so it is suitable for families with small children. There is a huge open space suitable for family day and events. The breakfast buffet was reasonable.However, when we were there, the deep pool was closed and the pool and garden were not quite maintained. The pool water was slightly murky. The beds were not very comfortable. The beach was also littered with garbage and was not a pleasant sight. Generally, the hotel is slightly expensive for the quality it provided.

Room Tip: Since there is no lift provided, families travelling with the elderly should ask for the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ummi_ridhwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was school holiday when we stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. First impression when arrived, another average family vacation until we have check-in into the room and quick tour around the hotel facilities. The room was big though for deluxe. There was king size bed in the room with plenty of space for another single bed. The room comes with standard amenities of 3 stars hotel, flat tv, electric kettle, ironing set and fridge. Hot shower and phone not working though. We wish there is doorbell at the room. All my kids can't wait to test the water at family friendly pool or small water-park. The water was murky perhaps due to too many visitors. Breakfast was good with variety of local foods serve. Foods taste good and it took me almost an hour just to finish my breakfast on the first day. Looking for more, no worries as local food stall just minutes drive toward Kuantan. Staffs were warm, helpful and full of smile even if they need to entertain your request repeatedly. Price is on the high side but for the good experience we have, we love to come again to this hotel for another family vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaharum A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's about half an hour drive from Kuantan town to reach the resort. When I arrived, some renovation was going on at the entrance. Stayed in a superior room facing the car park. The room was stuffy when I got in so had to turn the air-conditioning on full blast for about an hour to reduce the stuffiness while I sat at the lobby getting some air. Toilet was clean but with water stain due to the leaking bidet. Food was so so at the dining area. Didn't use the pool so can't comment on that. All in all if you're looking for a resort reasonably close to town with decent price and amenities, this should make it to your list.

Room Tip: My room facing the car park is stuffy in the afternoon when I checked in. Maybe avoid this if you pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay_zzz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Not a new hotel but well maintained. Stayed in a newly refurbished room near reception. New and pleasant. My kids had good fun at the pools. Ocean view rooms charge more but don't bother since the sea is still quite far to be seen from the rooms. Beautiful private beach.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We took the superior room facing the pool on the 1st floor. It's newly refurbished, very clean hotel and the grounds are well maintained. Even the beach is cleaned and nice. Only area of improvement would be the breakfast quality. They have an ok spread but nothing was done well. Other than that, it's a good place for a family getaway

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Cavewoman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Well my walk-inn experience was not that nice. The man attending me was not really attentive & helpful. He's not impatient on question asked. Anyway i still book a room facing the sea. But there's nothing to see since its quite far away from the room.

The room was average & quite old. Simple room. There's renovation in progress & i hope that after the its all over there'll be a new look on the hotel.

I had my dinner at the hotel. It was surprisingly good. I ordered chicken chop (deep fried) with some mushroom soup. The breakfast was also ok. Several choice to pick from Asian, breads & western.

I think the best part of the hotel will be its spacious pool area for the kids. However, its also open to the public for some fees. While i was there walking near the pool I can see the workers maintaining the pool by using chlorine. It means that its well kept.

Overall ok but the disappointment was the reception & the dull room.

Pro's: I had a good dinner
Con's: Need to upgrade the Public relation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
14.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
12.5 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#34 of 44 in Kuantan
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
1.5 mi away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
7.8 mi away
The Zenith Hotel, Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rhu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rhu Beach Resort

Address: 152 Sungai Karang, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range: £26 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Rhu Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front facility with huge swimming pool, fun pool and water features. Newly upgraded rooms, food & beverage outlets and sports facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your De Rhu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rhu Beach Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing