We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle of the town, spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Continental Kuantan
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Middle of the town, spacious room”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Booked room for 3 people. Kuantan new one way layout means the hotel cannot be access through Berjaya Megamall by car. Single bed and king size/ double bed in a room is very convenience for family of 4 like us ( 2 adults & 2 toddlers). Stairs from basement parking to lobby. When we stay there, only 1 lift is working. Internet via username and password receipt from front desk. Just have to ask for it. Behind the hotel there is Old Town White Coffee walking distance. Overall it is comfortable and reasonable price.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Habanawawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCKTN, Manager at Grand Continental Kuantan, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like thank you for choosing Hotel Grand Continental as your preferred Hotel during your visit to Kuantan. We have taken the necessary measures to write officially to the authorities on the new traffic layout which is very inconvenient to our guest. We believe that all guest must be comfortable staying with us.

Our Hotel is very well located where guest can have the convenience of walking to the nearby Mall but we also provide good Food & Beverage facilities which must be experienced. We assure you that we will always continue providing all guest our best Services whenever they stay with us.

Thank you & warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    20
    24
    24
    10
See reviews for
26
10
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I booked online via a 3rd party site after much comparison, which was better than the quoted price from the hotel reservation desk although the staff said those are the cheapest rates.

Room is clean and spacious, mini fridge, kettle and tea/coffee provided, iron and board provided in room.

Bfast the coffee house is only RM10/pax. Just a simple buffet, but for the convenience, it was worth it.

Wifi is available at all floors and came with the room price.

Toilet comes with seat bidet, which was a big plus for me.

The only peeve is if you drive, there is no lift from the basement and you will need to walk up 2 flights of stairs to the lobby. So if you're driving, driver should let passengers alight at the entrance and park afterwards.

They also have a pool, but no kiddie pool though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AidahT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCKTN, Manager at Grand Continental Kuantan, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuantan!

We would like to thank you for your pleasant comments which we appreciate very much. We always believe in maintaining our product and improving our service so that every guest would enjoy their stay and make Grand Continental Hotel as their preferred choice hotel when they are in Kuantan. We always believe in ensuring guest comfort and satisfaction which drives us towards meeting our guest needs. Please do let us know when you will be visiting Kuantan again so that we could make confirm your reservation with us and to ensure that your stay is a pleasant one.

Thank you and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is right smack in Kuantan town, with lots of shops, stores, a mall, and restaurants within walking distance.

The staff were professional, courteous and knowledgeable. The room was spacious and clean, and so was the bathroom. There were no issues with faulty lights or plumbing. The buffet breakfast was good, with a decent selection.

Overall, it was value-for-money and I would recommend this hotel for good, affordable accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCKTN, General Manager at Grand Continental Kuantan, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Continental Hotel Kuantan as your preferred place of stay during your trip to Kuantan!

We would like to thank you for your kind compliments on our breakfast and our services. We always believe in product and service EXCELLENCE so that all our guest will enjoy their stay and continue to be our patronize us whenever they are in Kuantan.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back as it gives a great pleasure in serve you as our esteemed guest..

Thank you and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

No prior bookings were made for our weekend stay but we got a room - premier room. Probably it was their low peak season.

There was a bell-boy who carried our luggages. Although he couldnt speak much english but he tried his very best to assist us. He showed us to our room. Guided us through the location of the lights. The walkway light was not working but we told him not to worry too much about it.

The aircon started to get very cold in the middle of the night although we have set it to "low".

No complains about the room overall. The toiletries required are all available. They even have 2 hairdryers in the room.

Our room rate comes with breakfast. The breakfast spread was good. We like the coffee served

Room Tip: If you arent fussy about beds. can opt for twin bedded. it is the lower category
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCKTN, General Manager at Grand Continental Kuantan, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Kuantan with your family.

We would like to thank you for the compliments that you had shared and experienced during your stay with us. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay in our newly upgraded Premier Rooms with all the complete services made available in the room. We always prioritize our guest needs so that all guest will have a memorable experience when they leave. We hope that you would continue to return when you are visiting Kuantan again.

Thank you and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My family of 4 went to stay for a night here in August aft a long road trip. We arrived quite late at night. Checking in was super smooth n fast. The staffs at the counter was super friendly. The overall hotel ambience was warm n inviting. It was kinda value for money too!

No doubt that the hotel was a bit dated n in need of a facelift, but I still rated it as very good due to the warm n friendly hospitality. Great job!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MZU_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
621 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Located just a stone throw away from Megamall Kuantan & several eateries. The hotel itself is old & in dire need of upgrading works especially to the common facilities & lobby. The room we got was a deluxe room & has been mildly refurbished. Cleanliness & comfort both ranks average. Breakfast the next day was basic & rather bland. The hotel has a pool which we later found the door leading to the pool was locked. Called the reception & took 15mins to send a staff up to unlock it.

Guess the best thing about this hotel worth highlighting is its close vicinity to a shopping centre & nasi kandar outlets. There is a chinese restaurant (think it was called Swan Restaurant) attached to the outside of the hotel which dishes out pretty decent meals.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

After my bad experience at the Zenith Hotel, I checked into this Hotel and was so delighted with the rooms and service which was so much better than Zenith. I was really surprised that an old Hotel is well maintained compared with a New Hotel. Staff here were so courteous and polite. All my questions were answered well without any hesitation. I truly enjoyed my stay and the breakfast spread was good and delicious. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who would staying at Zenith to try this Hotel instead. You will NOT regret at all. Keep up the good work Grand Continental.

Room Tip: Renovated Rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGCKTN, General Manager at Grand Continental Kuantan, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your pleasant comments which we appreciate very much. We always believe in maintaining our product and improving our service so that every guest would enjoy their stay and return to stay with us again. We always believe in ensuring guest comfort and satisfaction which drives us towards meeting our guest needs. Please do let us know when you will be visiting Kuantan again so that we could make your stay a pleasant one.

Thank you and warm regards,

Jaslyn You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuantan hotels
0.3 mi away
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
Cathayana Hotel Kuantan
#3 of 43 in Kuantan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vistana Kuantan City Centre
0.3 mi away
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
Rocana Hotel Kuantan
#5 of 43 in Kuantan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
Hotel Sentral Kuantan
#6 of 43 in Kuantan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
Sri Manja Boutique Hotel
#17 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#4 of 43 in Kuantan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Continental Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Continental Kuantan

Property: Grand Continental Kuantan
Address: Jalan Gambut, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Continental Kuantan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Continental Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Kuantan Hotel Kuantan
Grand Continental Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing