We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We ran away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duta Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We ran away”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I was fooled by the pictures which probably were taken 10 years ago. They really don't bother maintaining OR EVEN CLEANING the place. We stayed there for barely five minutes (less if you don't count check-in/out) and quickly left.
- There's a SWAMP beneath the chalets, a breeding ground of Aedes mosquitos.
- Huge red ants everywhere, not safe for children.
- Rubbish burning in front of the rooms. I couldn't believe my eyes.
- Very very small swimming pool. One look and you'll know it's not clean.
- The toilet is small, disgusting and scary.
- The room has a damp odor, bad ventilation.
- You can't open the window to let fresh air in because you'll get mosquito bites.
- There's nothing lovely about the landscaping.

If you're in Kuantan for a relaxing beach holiday, do yourself a favor and find a better place to stay at. Malaysia is too wonderful for this. Make your stay a happy, memorable one for you and your family. Duta Sands is NOT the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fran_Wh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The chalet is big good for family, but the swimming pool is small and dirty. The beach is nice but a bit dirty hope the hotel management will clean it up than will be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grass1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Let's start with the Goods':
-Staffs are friendly
-Beach is clean and environment is nice
-Near fishing village

the Bads':
-Room is fairly clean, but too old and seems like falling apart
-Toilet is scary with the water leakage marks on the ceiling
-TV is not clear and small
-Swimming pool is not clean, one of it is not functioning and dirty
-Breakfast is at sister's resort (Duta Village 3-4km away), and not much choices
-Price is a little too high for such standard

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryTheWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Plettenberg Bay
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

On a recent trip to Malaysia, Duta Sands Beach Resort was the worst experience of the three weeks. It is definitely not what is advertised on the internet and on the pictures. Although the receptionists were friendly and helpful, the accommodation is a disgrace for what they are charging. I feel sorry for the staff because they must get it in the neck often from unhappy guests. Lawns unmowed, grounds in a state of disrepair, both bedside lamps smashed in the cabin, bathroom door had to be opened using a toothpick, which some kind guest had left before. We couldn't stay there, but because we had booked over the internet, we were refused a refund. Our taxi driver picked us up and took us to a wonderful resort just down the road at a lot less money. Honestly, Duta Sands Beach Resort needs to pull its socks up. It is neglected and is way too expensive for what it offers. We thought paying RM178 per night would guarantee us some sort of reasonable comfort, we were not expecting luxury, but basic cleanliness and functionality. It is definitely letting Malaysia Tourism down and shouldn't be supported by tourists. The rest of our trip to the East Coast of Malaysia was wonderful - hospitality and value for money superb and exactly what we have come to expect from a holiday in Malaysia.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tenikwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Room was spacious, clean & comfortable.
Location is near to beach and very fresh seafood available around the area.
Simple pool.
This place is right next to the beach. Nice scenery from room.
Wall is thin enough you can be awaken by people talking in the next room. Old building.
Room rates RM180 is a bit high for this kind of room, other choices around that area would be nicer and more value for your money. Just remember to book early.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
1.9 mi away
Swiss Garden Resort Residences Kuantan
7.1 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
29.0 mi away
Cempaka Beach Resort
Cempaka Beach Resort
#18 of 43 in Kuantan
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
9.0 mi away
Mega View Hotel
Mega View Hotel
#4 of 43 in Kuantan
78 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mandurah Hotel
Mandurah Hotel
#3 of 69 in Kuantan
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duta Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Sands Beach Resort

Property: Duta Sands Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Hotel Class:3 star — Duta Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Duta Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duta Sands Beach Hotel Kuantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing