We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An OK resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An OK resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

As a resort I think it's quite small.
The service was good. Food was good. We had promotion lunch at a reasonable cost including a drink, main course and dessert. Complimentary breakfast was OK with enough range of varieties.
There were ants in the bathroom.
The toilet bowl was a bit too low in position.
Shower area was nice.
Facilities and room were a bit dated.
The room rate was too high comparing to the level of quality.

Room Tip: You need to note that you may be awaken by early swimmers if your room is by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    75
    87
    52
    48
See reviews for
118
58
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Overall i and my family are pleased with the good services and we truly enjoyed our stay and the buffet breakfast was wonderful. Well, with a nice beach and well maintained swimming pool what else do you need to enjoy your holiday with your family. Hope Holiday Villa Cherating will maintain their good services and probably upgrade facilities a little bit to encourage guests to come again . Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulkarnainabdulrazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCherating, Front Office Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Greetings from Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating,

Thank you for your comments and feedback during your stay with us.

The management are glad that you have enjoyed your stay here at the resort.

We will look into upgrading the facilities within the resort as per your advise.

We once again thank you for your comments and looking forward to hear from you soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

we stay at garden villa for one night. check in process was smooth. we like the ambience, very nice setting at the garden. our room is spacious with swimming pool view, very comfy bed. the only thing to improve is the bathroom. other than that is good. we enjoy our stay at this place. this hotel is great if you are looking for short getaway and enjoy beach walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crocodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed at the holiday villa the first 3 weeks in May 2013. Arrived without baggage, no problem, would have a shower after long flight from UK, no robes or slippers provided, found this disappointing as having travelled extensively in Asia these are usually standard. Happily our baggage arrived the next day. Very dismayed to find that tea and coffee were complimentary for the first day then chargeable after that. Internet was expensive but we knew that from other postings before we went, really think in this day and age this should be free. The pool was indeed large as was the beach but the customer service was non existent, unless you went to the bar there were no staff around. Whilst when you approached the staff they were polite, at no time during our 3 week stay did any one of them other than the Manager attempt to engage with us, we sometimes felt like we were the only people staying in the hotel. There was a happy hour in the internal bar of the hotel between 5pm and 8pm which was, we felt a bit silly as this was a lovely time to sit on the beach or around the pool to enjoy the sunset. The atmosphere in the bar was awful, we gave up and went outside the hotel. The whole experience lacked character which we have come to expect travelling south east Asia. The hotel room was classed as deluxe but left a lot to be desired, badly in need of upgrading especially the bathroom which was very poor. Cannot comment on the food as we chose to eat elsewhere. Would we stay again, definite no. We are not over pernickety travellers but have had so much more elsewhere for the money we had paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asiafiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Currently staying for 2 nights. Booked 2 different types of room, deluxe and standard.
Plus points
1. Good staffs ( quick to response on any complaints and helpful)
2. Location is good with own beach and plenty of seafood restaurants around.
3. Two swimming pools which are good for families
Minus points
1. Dirty room with old furniture
2. Standard room came with no minibar but the price was quite high.
3. Not even complimentary drinking water even for deluxe room.
4. Smelly carpet room.
5. Telephone is not working and had to go to the front desk to complain. (Room on first floor)
6. Lamps for the first room were broken. Luckily got another room.

Overall, all the problems could be solved thanks to those helpful and friendly staffs. Good job guys! If you have small children who love pools. This hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: Don't book standard rooms. You can get better rooms in other hotels with better condition and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Greeted by friendly and helpful staffs but disappointed with the room and overall maintenance of the hotel. Was expecting more from holiday villa as its a reputable resort.

Below were the issues with the room encountered:
- very difficult to access into the room. Door knob problem.
- room had no phone. Receptionist apologzed for inconvenience as there was lightning strike a week before.
- toilet sink height is higher than normal. A shorter person would probably have to tip toe.
- toilet shower and beday device had leaks.
- daybed coffee table had nails sticking out.
- the safety deposit box is so tiny that you can carry it out of the room and run with it.
- switches are poorly placed and designed. Some were hidden behind the lights and were not locatable until maintenance ppl pointed it.

Below are the notable experience:
- friendly and helpful staffs who always smiled
- maintenance and housekeeping are efficient and quick to response
- King size bed is clean

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellephant21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed at Garden Villa for 2D 1N. Let me start with the good points.
1. The surrounding area of the hotel is great, the garden villa can assure you the privacy and most of the units are facing the pool.
2. Easy access to the beach and the beach is clean
3. There are 2 pools, 1 located at the hotel rooms. Another one located at garden villa. Both pools are big and clean. There is a kid's pool.

The bad points are:
1. The entrance at lobby need to redesign.. not suitable for the brand of 'Holiday Villa' .. come on.. you can do better that this..
2. The room (garden villa) is not well maintain.. old furniture and some already broken (cupboard door is spoilt)
3. The toilet flush is not working well.. u need special skill to flush it correctly
4. The towel provided are torned ..
5. Bedsheet got stain..
6. The aircond is still workable but a bit old.. need to change..
7. The kettle is rusty --> this one is very bad!

Overall, i think you need to refurbish almost everything... You have the brand name 'Holiday Villa' but you are actually not reach to the brand 'standard'... Anyway, your pool is big and clean, i am very satisfied with that.. but please.. you've got to do something with your interior used in the room.. i am surely will come back if you can improve those bad points i have highlighted above..

Thanks

Room Tip: Garden Villa is a chalet type.. and facing the pool, only few steps away from the room..can jump str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonie7808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#30 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
12.9 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
5.4 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
2.7 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Address: Lot 1303, Mukim Sungai Karang, Cherating, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greenery and secluded palm-fringed beaches fronting the South China Sea, Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating has the ideal facilities for family vacations and honeymoons, in addition to corporate meetings and team buildings. Situated 47km from Kuantan, the capital city of Pahang, the beach in Cherating is a haven amongst avid surfers who come from all over the world each year to especially enjoy the ride of the ocean waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing