We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nobody's around but no late check-out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Kuala Lumpur,
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nobody's around but no late check-out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Traveled with 3 other former classmates for a weekend getaway and booked the 'Family Suite'. Don't let the 'suite' word fool you, because it's not a suite at all. This supposedly 'family suite' had two rooms and two baths and a common living room area. Both rooms are small. The second room is so pathetic, you would only let your maid/ driver/ cat (delete where appropriate) sleep in because it is extremely small. Only had space for two very small single beds, and that's about it.
The TV they provided in the living room must have been there before the hotel was built because it certainly looked extremely old. One old little black box that pretended to be a TV. For the price that customers had to pay, at least a decent TV would have been more deserving.
The air-con was another problem. The 'out-of-battery' remote for the air-con was one issue, the noise it made after it was turned on after several minutes was another. It was extremely difficult to fall asleep.
The lights in both rooms are almost non-existent. Might as well they just provide us with candles, it would have been brighter.
We asked for a slightly later check-out because I wasn't feeling well, the front desk said that we can't check-out later than 1pm. When we went to the reception to settle the bills, we were expecting maybe a group of tourists hovering around waiting to be checked-in but there was no one in sight. So it seems they can't even give even a bit of a leeway to their customers even though there is no one around.
The positive - Nice beach. Not as nice in Tioman/Redang but better than most west coast beaches.
Conclusion: I've been to many hotels and I can safely say that this is a 2.5-star hotel, nothing more, nothing less. Avoid if you don't want to be fooled into 'suite' or having to watch an old black box.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tghadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    75
    88
    52
    48
See reviews for
118
59
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed there for the weekend. Hotel is strategically located, near to many attractions such as food & sightseeings. However, room condition is rundown especially the bathroom. The whole floor gets wet after a shower. Power outlets are not placed "strategically" in the room.

Worst is the dinning experiece. Only ONE miserable restaurant is in operation, the rest are "temporarily closed". Go out for food if you have your own transport. Would recommend, Duyong Restaurant (about 3.5km from the hotel), they server cheap, tasty and fresh seafood. But be warned, you have to wait for your food. I waited 1hr and 10 minutes for mine.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacred21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

A nice "Malaysian run" hotel by the Cherating beach. I would recommend to book the chalets instead of the rooms. Ask for 246 as this faces the beach and is one of the few units having a nice view towards the bach.
The selection in the restaurant is limited and mainly serves malays dishes. The prices of soft drinks and beer is sky-high and I recommend you to go the the convenient store located outside the Legend Hotel and store it in your fridge.
The hotel seems to have some problems with the cleaning system in their pools(s) and the water was green during all of our stay. We avoided swimming in the pool.....
All over, a nice weekend ge away from KL.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borte-bra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klang valley
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

We were looking for a nice, cozy, romantic hotel by the coast for us and a couple of frens from overseas. Introducing them to the east coast and the wonderful beach that we have here in msia. We googled and found this hotel, photos were great of the hotel, and they even have private pool for each villa. We tot this will be great vacation for us newly wed, and frens. However, was suspicious when i called up to do the booking, the receptionists were not fluent in conversing in English. I did have a second doubt, but well its managed by holiday villa mgt and it is a boutique hotel, so we went ahead. Upon arrival, we were shocked! the hotel look gloomy, and unkept. everything looks old. and Oh! there's a Pub. but was told by the receptionist the pub is no longer opened. I asked "then wats with the signage Open from Sunday to Friday xxpm-xxpm?". Anyway, after been allocated our room key, we headed for our villa, hoping it will be better. To our dismay, it was not impressive at all. We paid RM760nett for 2 bedroom and 1 living room (Jaya Jusco member - all the hassle I undergo to get the m/ship renew the night before) and we get this type of villa, and service. I will not recommend this. We checked out the next day and headed north, with no regrets. I am sorry to Eastern Pavillion, by Holiday Villa but I expected much more from this group of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disapppointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adibah_Ishak, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
Thank you for your comment. We will work towards improving our facilities and services to meet our guest expectation. We appreciate your time to bring up the matter concerned to our attention and we will do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

I have not been to Kuantan/Trengganu/Cherating before and if I had not won the slogan writing contest for a 3D2N stay at Eastern Pavillion Boutique Resort and Spa; I doubt I will ever set foot on East Coast. Anyway, with the East Coast highway (ECH), the drive was very pleasant as there were not many cars and the road across Pahang was pretty straight. All one needs to do is to drive carefully along the curvy and winding Karak Highway before one enters into the ECH. It took about 4 hrs (drove straight to Hotel via highway) to reach as we made several stops. The toilets at the ECH rest areas are definitely much cleaner than PLUS. Eastern Pavillion is located at Sg Mukim karang which is North of Kuantan (40 mins from Kuantan town) and South of Kemaman (30 mins from Kemaman town), Trengganu. Upon arrival, we checked in. A complimentary fruit basket, a plate of Malay Kuih-muih and fried Samosas were delivered to our Kampung Villa which was named JOHOR PAVILLION. The villa consists of a private pool c/w jacuzzi, a master bedroom with a King size four poster bed and an attached bathroom; the hall was nicely decorated with a Balinese style day-bed which can be converted into 2 beds for kids and a bathroom. It is really hard to compare this boutique hotel with other 5 stars international hotels ; Eastern Pavillion is more like experiencing a kampung lifestyle without sacrificing all the modern facilities. The boutique hotel is over priced but I guess they needed the income to maintain the premises, the private jacuzzi pump and the cleanliness of the private pool for every villa (the economic activity around the East Coast is definitely chugging at a slower pace and so are the staffs). As for the mosquitoes problem, you can request for electronic mosquitoes repellent for your room. I only enjoyed sleeping as the bed was pretty good and comfy. The beach was not really nice or clean; would recommend Redang Island if you are a beach person. It would be nice if they include a knife with the fruit basket as we were unable to cut those delicious tropical fruits (the 5 stars hotels in Bangkok will include a knife, plate and napkins with the fruit basket). The hotel management also needs to improve all pathways as most are flooded during the rainy season. Should also put 2 umbrellas in each of the 12 villas, as it is difficult to get out when the rain is pouring. Breakfast is simple; normally nasi lemak, bread, pastries, eggs, roti canai, tea, coffee and greasy oily fried noodles/kuew teow (should cut down on using too much oil). A face lift at the entrance will do the hotel good.

There is a nice chinese restaurant "Restaurant Peninsular" 100m North of Eastern Pavillion. This restaurants serves good stuffed crabs and other dishes. The prices are very reasonable. To buy dried seafood, one can visit the store located 500m South of this hotel. Syarikat perniagaan Chiang Kee. 48 KM 30 Jln Kuantan-Kemaman, Kg Baru, Gebeng, Kuantan tel: 09-5821349. The owner Jimmy Ong is a very friendly and helpful. He is also very eager to explain his products. Many regular travellers buy from him. He has his own special brand of fish/prawn/cuttlefish crackers For Malay Keropok Lekor and other fish crackers, one can drive up North to kemaman; the stores are located at the kuantan/kemaman border (30mins North from Eastern Pav).

Overall the villas at Eastern Pavillion are clean, with powerful air cond units and showers. The hotel can be rated 5 star locally and uncomparable with 5 stars international hotels. The beach needs to be maintained....can't swim and waves are pretty rough. This is a place for us to wind down, sleep and enjoy the slow kampung lifestyle.......not much activities or tourist sites.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simmone31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#30 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
5.3 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
13.1 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
2.1 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Address: Lot 1303, Mukim Sungai Karang, Cherating, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greenery and secluded palm-fringed beaches fronting the South China Sea, Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating has the ideal facilities for family vacations and honeymoons, in addition to corporate meetings and team buildings. Situated 47km from Kuantan, the capital city of Pahang, the beach in Cherating is a haven amongst avid surfers who come from all over the world each year to especially enjoy the ride of the ocean waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing