We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked for us”
Review of Restoran M Salim

Restoran M Salim
Ranked #74 of 488 Restaurants in Ipoh
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worked for us”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Went looking for food in Ipoh and ended up at M Salim's. It's not aimed at vegetarians but a bit of negotiation with the helpful waiter got us some tasty onion dosas and some onion rotis too. Together with a couple of cans of soft drinks, this cost us 11 Ringgits for two of us (about £2). I loved it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryn_PInzgauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Terrebonne, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We went there full of expectations but we had a hard time choosing and the waiter just looked at us with contempt and didn't answer our questions. In the end we took what the lonely planet suggested and it was pretty good but lacked vegetables and we could not order any...yesterday we went to the best indian restaurant and the guy was so nice he suggested many things and it was more complete

Helpful?
Thank maryse4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing dining experience”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Went there with my family for lunch with high expectations as we were told by some locals that this is one of the better mamak restaurant in town. Ordered 2 fish head curries and mutton curry amongst others. Fish head curry was very poor compared with the ones we have had in Singapore - they were served with sauce from the pre-cooked fish curry and topped with vegies that were sitting at the front of the restaurant. The mutton were expensive and quite tough. Bill came to $250 ringgit for 6 people. Overall, a very disappointing meal and would not bother again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Really tasty food and amazing value”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Have just had dinner here and I'm sorry that I'm leaving Ipoh tomorrow morning so can't come back for more. The staff speak little English but just enough to help you choose your meal. Our waiter suggested rotis, and these were definitely the best I have ever had, and we then tucked into a rich, dark chicken curry and a dahl, then an amazingly tender and tasty mutton curry. The rotis kept on coming, fresh off the grill, to mop up the delicious sauces and we ate until we were stuffed. The bill for all this, including a couple of cans of soft drinks, came to 30 ringgits for both of us ( £6 !). I don't think that have have ever had such a great value meal in many years of travelling.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nasi Ganja a.k.a Vanggey”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was born here in Ipoh. I saw one of the comment here stated that Restoran M Salim is Nasi Ganja. I just want to make a correction because Nasi Ganja to locals, refer to Restoran Yong Suan which locate at the same building(block) with Restoran M Salim. Nasi Ganja is very popular to locals as I am a regular customer since i was a kid around 1980's. I never missed a trip to Nasi Ganja till now when i got back to my hometown. Locals are flocks here specially during lunch our. You need to wait for a long queue during this hour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay_Nokman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restoran M Salim also viewed

Ipoh, Kinta District
Ipoh, Kinta District
 

Been to Restoran M Salim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing