We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big , clean and comfortable room”
Review of D Eastern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
D Eastern Hotel
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big , clean and comfortable room”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed one night in April to attend meeting. A very pleasant and surprising room amenities for the prices.

A large and comfortable room for two with full amenities. Bed was ok and had comfortable sleep. Location wise quite Ok because in centre of the town and besides 7 Eleven and the Store.

A good values for money. However hotel should prepare a clear and big signboard to inform the hotel location. Drove pass the hotel a few times and did not notices it even though beside sthe main road as it lack of signage and signage only on the top of building.

Room Tip: Choose a room back of the building and not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyuscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    34
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
26
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

the hotel is too old. has very bad services. the rooms are dirty and it looks like the house keeping is not doing their work well. the receptionist are not friendly at all with a bad face expression!! the bellboy is lazy!! not helpful. the worst hotel ever i stayed before. wasted my money. not worth at all!!!!

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahchunlin0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ipoh hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here on a trip to ipoh and booked for 3 nights. However we left after 2. The location is ok but the hotel itself is old and shabby and certainly not worth the money. There are many better choices in Ipoh

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bosham12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed there for one night.
The staff is helpful. Room a spacious. A bit too spacious. Bathroom is clean. Shower is good. Hot water is available all the time. Market place and eating places are at walking distance.
Overall a nice and decent place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarraahhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Easy to access. One you came out from highway, just follow the city sign. Then you can found the hotel just bedside the road side.
This Hotel located in the middle of the city. Easy to get food and shopping area just near by the hotel.
Hotel provided the very safe car park for you. Your car will lock inside the parking garage. You never worry about the car will be lose.
The family room is very spacing. Good for a big family with 4 adults and 3 kids.
Prices are acceptable.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise. Try to avoid the room near to the main road (noises).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We've been travelling a long time, mostly staying in guesthouses B&B's, so when we saw this 'proper hotel at a good price we went for the luxury. On arrival neither of us could remember how much we were paying but thought we must be in the wrong place, but no. The staff were lovely, the room was big, water, coffee and kettle, even a what's on TV guide so we could actually plan to watch a film! Sounds sad but we really enjoyed it.
The attached restaurant was very good, also very well priced, especially the steamboat, took us all evening to eat and really really good.

Room Tip: at the back was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have stayed here for four nights and can recommend this hotel warmly. It is located very well - you are in the New Town with all facilities like stores, money changers and possibilities to eat but you also can walk easily to the Old Town (about 10 minutes). Even if it is located at a big road, it is quiet inside. There is parking space if you need it. The hotel is relatively new, well maintained, very clean and comfortable. The room is modern with a good bed, a good attached bathroom and some comfortable luxe as nice sitting chairs, a little table, TV, telefone. The staff is friendly and helpsome. If you stay in Ipoh it's certainly a good choice.

Tip, you can eat very good at the nearby Hawker-stalls (about 5 minutes to walk: Medan Selera Dato Tawhill Azar at the Jln Raja Musa Aziz, also known as the Children's Playground): it's a large food centre that has stalls arranged around a small gras square. We ate great at stall number 7 where they also spoke English. Try Tom Yam.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.2 mi away
Dragon & Phoenix Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ipoh Boutique Hotel
Ipoh Boutique Hotel
#33 of 63 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eastana
Hotel Eastana
#38 of 63 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ipoh Downtown Hotel
Ipoh Downtown Hotel
#17 of 63 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#3 of 63 in Ipoh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Caspian Hotel
New Caspian Hotel
#41 of 63 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Eastern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Eastern Hotel

Property: D Eastern Hotel
Address: 118 Jalan Sultan Idris Shah, Ipoh 30000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — D Eastern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your D Eastern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing