We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for this calibre of hotel”
Review of Ipoh French Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ipoh French Hotel
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value for this calibre of hotel”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

It has been more than 5 years since we last came back to visit to our hometown and in the past the larger hotels we stayed left a lot to be desired to put it mildly. French certainly did not disappoint on this occasion great location, price with a very nice breakfast thrown in at a very cosy cafe tugged away on the mezzanine floor moreover the front if house staffs were very courteous and helpful! Full marks for a boutique'ish hotel with exceptionally clean & quite room best of all we can get the room down to a comfortable temperature of 18 C for a quality sleep! Special thanks to the ever so pleasant and helpful receptionist Miss Wen for her tips on where to find great eateries and places of interest!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeSLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    298
    47
    9
    3
See reviews for
156
212
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

if you not sure where to stay in Ipoh, as a visitor, just go there! unless u r familar with Ipoh and know a better place.
earlier reviews are true.
traffic noise shd be negligible, the town seems turn in early at night. there isn't much traffic when we walked back about 9pm.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I travelled with my family of 2 young kids and 2 couple friends whom also enjoyed their stay over at this hotel. When you call in for a booking, they are very polite and accommodating. And that first impression was very important to us. The hotel is located within walking distance of many of Ipoh's famous eateries including their old Chinese shoplots for famous chicken rice, Dim Sum, tau fu fah and salted chicken shops. Just ask Miss Wen at the front desk as she is so accommodating and friendly. The rooms are small but good enough for a good nights rest. Very clean, modern and new at this point with a nice rain shower. Decent TV channels. We were located on the higher floors and fortunately so as you can hear the occasional speeding motorist in the middle of the night. Perhaps it would be better to get the rooms facing the back as the view from the front is really nothing much. I would think even the rooms without windows would be just fine. What was most surprising is this hotel has a hidden cosy eatery which is splendid with a good variety of food for that late night meal as most of Ipoh closes by evening. From the outside, it looks like nothing from the front. But when you go in, Jose & Deli Eatery has a nice cosy setting for friends to chill and chat which we did. A really hidden surprise!

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors facing the back as the may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickeloodean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We took a coach from Singapore and dropped off at Jalan Bandehara. The guy at the coach office was kind enough to help us called for a cab. It cost us only 8 Ringgit and 5 minutes to get to the hotel! Just note that the cabbies don't run meter so be sure to determine the fare before boarding. The room that greeted us was very clean and everything looked new and the extra king size bed was simply wonderful :) We stayed on the 5th floor with windows that come with the mountain view (plus view of not-so-nice buildings). Don't expect the noise from passing cars to be cut off totally (be realistic, it's just the 5th floor) but the noise level is low enough for a light sleeper like me. The staff were all very friendly, thank you Alice, Susanne and the be-spectacled Chinese girl (sorry i forgot to ask for your name). Durian next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yixiunai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
488 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

They do a great job for the price. A good room and bathroom. Nicely modern and all that you could expect in any modern city and certainly great to find in Ipoh. Very good value. Even decent TV channels, which as been a bit tough to find in Malaysia.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2012

It's near all famous eatery location may not be near but jus cross 2 main road u reach all those eatery. Ktm railway station is also a walking distance if u do not want to take a long distant bus from Medan gopeng. The big tree foot YTF is quite far but you can ask the receptionist how to get there by bus, they're very very helpful. Going to station 18 the latest ipoh shopping mall can be reach by bus, the bus station is also a walking distance, jus need to pay RM$1.70, is very convenient. Ipoh parade mall is quite far from the French hotel is a long walk after foshan dim sum restaurant, the mall looks quite old inside and rundown, GSC cinema only have 3 theatre, is behind the food court located at lvl 3. Weather is like Melaka if u been to Melaka is hot hot hot. Enjoy ipoh is worth going.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a night in the hotel and I have to say its the most underated hotel I have stayed in. Apparently, they have a 2star rating but I am very sure this was given before the place was refurbished a year ago. If they were to be rated again, I am sure they will easily get a 4star rating. Only paid rm168 including breakfast for this super modern, clean and awesome place.

Best things in my opinion - large and comfortable king size bed, rainfall shower (loved the rainfall feel), modern design including big lcd tv with lots of satellite channels including espn, not too expensive, and centrally located.

Its also not noisy as I believe they have a double glazed window. Ask for the higher floors as they are newer. The receptionist is super helpful and friendly too, ask her where to get the best food and she will give you a map outlining the most popular stalls. They are pretty near to the hotel too.

From start to finish, it was a memorable stay. Definitely one of the best value hotels!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.8 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
6.0 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
0.5 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
M Boutique Station 18
3.6 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#30 of 63 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipoh French Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipoh French Hotel

Property: Ipoh French Hotel
Address: Hotel French 60 - 62 Jalan Dato Onn Jaafar, Ipoh 30300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ipoh French Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iFH is a 48 rooms, Business cum Family Hotel in the heart of Ipoh City. iFH provides a very clean environment, a smoke free atmosphere in all area. Hotel is equipped with wholesome amenities and manned by a warm & caring 24 hours front desk service. Average All-In Room Price is about RM150, this covers Government tax, etc (breakfast not included). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ipoh French Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing