We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I chose to hold our intimate wedding ceremony and dinner reception for 50 guests at the breath-taking Jeff's Cellar at The Banjaran last week. We both hail from the quiet city of Ipoh and our parents actually live just 10 minutes away from The Banjaran! However we took the opportunity to book a garden villa for the night of the wedding. Even before the event (since last year), we were met with exceptional service from staff members while going back and forth to plan the wedding, in particular Adeline who is the Sales Executive for the retreat. She was ever accommodating and worked closely with our wedding planners (as we both live overseas) to ensure the wedding of our dreams.

The garden villa was extremely comfortable and clean, with our own private plunge pool and hot dipping pool. All staff members were readily at our beck and call, we even had a personal welcome from the General Manager upon arrival. The complimentary buffet breakfast the morning before check out was really relaxing and had a relatively good variety of hot food, cereals, breads, fruits and drinks. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to enjoy all of the retreat's facilities as we were tied up with other wedding events, but I personally had the chance of experiencing a short spa session last year which was incredibly wonderful.

I don't know where to start about the wedding - in a nutshell it was absolutely perfect, and all our guests were awed by the fact that it was held in a natural limestone cave which was done up very nicely! We were initially quite sceptical about the food as we weren't able to do a tasting and they had hired a new chef recently, but I can tell you that everyone including ourselves raved about the buffet and the desserts in particular! Food was of top quality and we honestly cannot find fault with any of the dishes. Hats off to the chef! A huge thanks also to the waiting staff at the reception - they were all very attentive and made sure our guests had their drinks constantly topped up!

The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat - Malaysian hospitality at its best. Thank you for sprucing up our quiet little city of Ipoh! Many people have commented that it's very pricey to stay here but if you look at the number of staff members, the attention they pay to each guest and the effort they put in to maintain the entire place, I'd say it's all worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rswizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Public Relations Manager at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear rswizzle,

Wow, where can we start? Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for this wonderfully written review! It gives us great pleasure in reading your review and it definitely raises our spirits to provide the same excellent service to everyone that steps into our retreat.

It was a great honour to have been part of a wonderful affair, the marriage between two people, and we are truly grateful to hear that everyone enjoyed their time with us. Thank you for choosing us to share your most memorable day with.

With your well wishes and your kind words, we will strive to provide the best we can to everyone and stay as one of Ipoh’s best destination for relaxation and rejuvenation. Thank you again for this wonderful review and we wish you and your partner the very best in marriage and an abundance of joy.

Best regards from all of us at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Been to Banjaran 3 times with different people...and all the time it's still awesome.

When we arrived Ms Lyba welcomed us personally. We were provided the welcome drink and towel. Soothing music and the signature banjaran smell is...just so soothing.

View is beautiful with excellent service from the staff. For those who seek peace..this is the place ! Away from it all....Breakfast was a bit slow though...Villa is excellent - with your own swimming pool and jacuzzi ! Do not miss Jeff Cellar - open daily from 9pm till 11pm.

Just do this -> Rest, relax and rejuvenate !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel_ose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Public Relations Manager at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear rachel_ose,

Wow! It’s a great honour to hear that you’ve been staying with us for a 3rd time now! Thank you for giving us such an honour to welcome you back again and again. Yes, you are right, we encourage our guests to come on over for the main R’s, Rest, Relax and Rejuvenate!

Thank you for such an amazing review and we have also taken note of your comments on our services during breakfast and we will be sure to share this with Miss Lyba to further improve our services.

Thank you again for the time in writing us this wonderful review and we hope to welcome you back again for the 4th time!

Best regards from all of us at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great! Superb! Total relax, release accumulated tension. worth to go with the big villa, relaxed villa design, natural geothermal Jacuzzi in own room, private jacuzzi pool, toiletries provided with great quality which cure my serious sunburn caught in Koh Samui. Quality air to cleanse the respiration system, enjoyable nature view with immerse in few facilities provided. Relaxation music and essential oil burner are ready when we check in the room. First class service and friendly staff. It look like a bit expensive to a normal people like me, but it is worth to spend in this hotel with all the facilities provided. You will feel like a queen/king with every cents you pay.

Room Tip: It have different feeling when you choose either water villa or garden villa, think clearly which fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vapcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Public Relations Manager at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Vapcool,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! You have absolutely captured the essence of The Banjaran and we are glad that you had managed to relieve and rejuvenate from your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind comments and should you ever require another escape to recover, please do contact us and we will be very happy to welcome you back. Until then, take care and have a great weekend ahead.

Best regards from all of us at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended for couples to rekindle the moments , rejuvenate and create new memories. They have plenty of wellness programmes, activities and diet to cater individual needs. All staff from junior butler to Exec Chef at Retreat are trying to outdo one another to impress guest. The details , equipment( exp Bose sound system) and architecture design in villa are absolutely impressive. I am satisfied with the services rendered. The Retreat match with the amount paid for the stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wira11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Public Relations Manager at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Wira11,

Thank you for the kind review provided! It gives us great pleasure in knowing that we have managed to meet your expectations and hope that you and your partner had a rejuvenating stay with us.

Thank you also for acknowledging our staff on their great work and we couldn’t have asked for more.

We hope that you will consider us again in the future and we will see you again soon.

Best regards from all of us at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I've been to The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat numerous time since the first year they were built, as I love the surrounding nature and the beautiful private villas, the exclusive treatments they offer and super safe with good level of security, which only allow guests to enter, the best resort in Ipoh! Recently I went there again during Feb 2014. The management has improved a lot. A new GM has make new changes and she is wonderful, friendly and very detail in all expects staffs are friendly and there is always a smile on their face. I like the way the GM brings in a personal touch by greeting us when we arrival on the first day and obviously she had did a great job by improving the facilities, the villas are clean and comfortable, the private hotsprings pool is always filled which is good compared to few years back when I was there, I didn't enjoy the private in door hot spring so much as I need to wait for a long time to fill it up and the water turns cold but now its so different! Thumb up for everything! I will be back again for sure!

Only facilities needs to be improve is the fish spa, please add more fishes and keep the pool a little cleaner.

Room Tip: Choose the garden villas as it has more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Public Relations Manager at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear EKlovestravel,

Thank you very much for the fantastic review as well! We are deeply humbled by your kind comments and we will be sure to share your amazing comments about our Retreat Manager, Miss Lybanor.

Thank you so much for your time and it is definitely great to hear that we have improved since your last visit and we will definitely continue to improve and provide the same service that you had experience with all of our guests here at The Banjaran.

Thank you again for your time and have a great week ahead.

Best regards from all of us at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My girlfriend booked one night at The Banjaran as a birthday treat. The resort is about 15 minutes from Ipoh nestled in between 250 million year old limestone hills. We arrived by car, it appears the guard notifies reception as you come past the guardhouse, a good start! We were greeted by the bellboy, then swiftly given a welcome drink and quickly got through the check in procedures. We were then transported by buggy, shown around the various amenities the resort has to offer. When we got to the Villa (Water Villa), I was very pleasantly surprised. Huge, total of 1600 sq feet. There is an outside area with couch, relaxing chair, BOSE sound system with chillout music. There is a balcony overlooking the "lake" with chairs. Also, there is a dining room. You have a small, freshwater splash pool and geothermal hot pool jacuzzi outside. Inside and the bedroom is huge, tall ceiling, 46 inch 3D LCD TV (Only about 12 channels but can get free DVDs at reception). Bed is probably the best bed I have slept in, huge king size with feather top. Pillows and linen excellent as well. Large bathroom and "dressing room".

The resort itself is large. It has a meditation cave, small crystal cave, warm freshwater swimming pool, geothermal hot tubs, reading room. Breakfast is excellent if you have it included. You get to choose 1 cold drink, 1 hot drink, 1 cold food item and 1 hot food item. Based on the menu, these equate to around 100MYR/40SGD/20GBP per person.

We ate at their restaurant, very good food, cost about 250MYR/100SGD/50GBP excluding drinks, but nice, healthy, good food.

Overall, The Banjaran is not cheap, you can get a room for around 1200MYR/450SGD/200GBP, which is probably makes it the most expensive hotel in Malaysia. But it is worth it, and if you went to a similar resort in Bali, Thailand or anywhere else, would cost you at least double. I felt the service was excellent, probably the best I have ever received. The resort is definitely 5 star and an unique location. It still retains its naturalness as the grounds are not impeccible. It is a place to go to chill out, relax, escape. Its not a party place or really for big groups.

I understand The Banjaran was originally bought from the government in 2003 by "Jeff" who is the chairman of the Sunway Group. He use to come to the hot springs as a child and bought the area for personal use and then turned it into a resort in 2010. The resort itself only has 25 villas. I feel that Jeff still has a big interest in the place, thus the service and some of the products, furnishings and items they use, are top class

You should definitely go into "Jeffs Cellar". It is a bar, function area inside a cave, which the owners wines are stored. I have never seen anything like it in my life, amazing!

My tips. Because of the location, do expect to see mosquito's, ants and other insects. Also, it is a NON SMOKING resort. If you do smoke, you will have to smoke discreetly in the outside area within your Villa. Also,buy soft drinks, beers and any other items before you arrive as there is no shop on site. The WIFI is okay, but not that great.

Would I go again? Yes!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bourneman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Public Relations Manager at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Bourneman1971,

Thank you for such an amazingly detailed review! We are deeply humbled by your words and couldn’t be any more appreciative of your comments. Thank you for choosing to spend your quality time with us to rejuvenate and recover.

We are also impressed that you’ve learned of our Founder, Jeffrey Cheah’s experience and reason behind The Banjaran’s existence. Thank you very much for including this in your review.

It had been quite a pleasure reading your great review and we definitely cannot wait to welcome you back in the future. Should you or your partner require any assistance in arranging for your next stay, please do contact us and we will be very happy to assist.

Best regards from all of us at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were there for a night for 2 reasons. Try out the best retreat in my own country and a place to stop by before attending a function.

My uncle is an Orthopedic in Ipoh Specialist hospital and lodging in a hotel never appears in my mindset everytime I come here. This time i have decided to give them a try out.

We were being offered a rate with complimentary upgrade to their Garden Villa. The room came with a private pool and a small plunge hotsprings pool at the back of the villa.

The faulty of the aircond was fixed almost immediately. Service is top notch. Place is beautiful and well maintained. The villas and the walking path were surrounded by hotsprings and therefore you can feel the heat after the sun rises.

Complimentary spa by the resort was great. I tried the Malay Urut Massage and it was not disappointing for the amount you pay for. However I would love it to be longer instead of 60mins. Well, enjoying another spa the next day is self-explanatory that how much I love their spa.

Food: Breakfast comes with the rate we paid. Good selections of food. We didn't try the dinner. Ordered curry chicken and rendang chicken for lunch. A little bit too salty. Calamari wasnt fresh enough to be grilled. They need improvement on that.

Jeff's Cellar is a must visit. Night view of the hotel is very breathtaking too.

Room Tip: There are only 16 Garden villas and 9 villas. If there is any villa available, just grab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVH212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, Public Relations Manager at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear DVH212,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review that you had provided to us. We are glad that you had decided to give us a try and it was great to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We are glad you had enjoyed every aspect of your stay, especially trying out the spa offerings and returning for another treatment the next day.

Thank you again for this review and we will be sure to take note of your experience at Pomelo restaurant and be sure to improve for our current and future guests of the retreat.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope that you will consider returning to us for another stay in the future.

Best regards from all of us at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
5.2 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#6 of 63 in Ipoh
598 reviews
6.2 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lost World Hotel
Lost World Hotel
#18 of 63 in Ipoh
373 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ipoh Bali Hotel
Ipoh Bali Hotel
#9 of 63 in Ipoh
119 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat

Address: 1 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
#1 Spa Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range: £219 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat is an integrated luxury wellness and spa retreat in Ipoh. The 5-star retreat is situated on a 22.7 Acre valley nestled within a cluster of towering limestone hills and features a combination of natural caves, pristine jungle, waterfalls and geothermal hot springs. It is a self-contained sanctuary consisting of 45 luxury villas offering holistic wellness and spa experiences inspired by authentic Malaysian practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat Hotel Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing