We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stukje Amerika in het oosten / Part of the USA in the east”

Michelangelo's Pizzeria
Ranked #12 of 477 Restaurants in Ipoh
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ipoh's first and only True Authentic AMERICAN Rock 'n' Roll Wood Fire Pizzeria. Every item here is made exactly how we would do it back in Chicago / New York. Everything is made fresh in the pizzeria, we believe in commitment and keep all our recipes exactly as they were the day we started. All pizzas are cooked at 750f degress in a real wood fire oven, hand tossed. We offer pizzas, pastas, salads and sweets. This is as close to America you can get without actually being there.We are a fmaily place where the music is played loud (retro 70's-90's rock and pop) and you can jump up on the counter and dance for a free pizza.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stukje Amerika in het oosten / Part of the USA in the east”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Laat je niet afschrikken door de harde muziek, maar stap over de drempel en laat je verrassen door een heerlijke Ceasar salade, een super pizza en een werkelijk fantastische tiramisu of brownie. Als je in Ipoh opzoek bent naar een restaurant twijfel dan niet langer en kom een hapje eten bij Michelangelo!

Don't hesitate because of the loud music, but enter the restaurant with it's beautiful wallpaintings. Order a Ceasar salad, get surprised by the great pizza or order some delicious tiramisou or brownie. If looking for somewhere to eat in Ipoh, don't hesitate and get yourself a slice of pizza at Michelangelo's!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Job v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    86
    21
    12
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Jcn”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Good pizza best in Ipoh music a bit loud but friendly quick service.May have to do it their way but seems good to me. Love the jalapeños cheese wrapped in bacon :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank cn1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza. But you need to follow their style. So be it.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Best pizza in the town. Good food is need to wait. Very relaxing with the music. Everyone is friendly.
Good place to have a friend gathering but you have to stick to the "waiting rules".

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JavinChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Pizza at Ipoh !”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Brought my parents to Michelangelo's dinner cause Dad B'day treat , we enjoyed the homemade pizza a lots . Fresh ..crunchy and thin base and full of ingredients on top ..yummy ! Good service ~~~ Definitely we will be back again !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wenesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food??? I don't know, I was not given a chance to eat there!!!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Went with 2 friends and I was the 1st to arrived. Was told I am not allowed to wait in the restaurant... okay, fine with me, it's the rules and regulations of this restaurant. My friends came later, and we asked for a table. Waiter told us there is no table for 3. I pointed to one empty table near the entrance and he said that is a table for 4 - 5 pax and he can't seat us there bcoz there were only 3 of us. I would understand if that table is reserved but not allowed to sit on a table for 4 pax when there were only 3 pax, what kind of a restaurant is that!! Patrons sitting at the small table still had lots of uneaten pizza on the table and if we decide to wait 'outside' the restaurant again, it could easily be another 1 hour before we get a small table. We decided to leave and eat elsewhere. The may serve the best pizza in town, but they are not the only pizza restaurant in town. Their rules and regulations sucks!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroltan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at Michelangelo's Pizzeria, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Carol,

If you had read some of the past comments you would see exactly why we do have those rules. The table was for 4-5 people, and no you would have only waited about 5-15 minutes for a table actually. If we had sat you at that table that would mean parties of 4-5 (which we do get a lot of) would have to wait, we have 15 tables of which 6 will sit 2-3 people and only 4 tables that sit up to 5 people so we do have to manage the tables. I understand what you are saying but you are not seeing it from the other perspective which is if we did this for yu we would have to do that for everyone and then we would have most tables with only 2-3 people and no tables for larger groups. A place does sometimes have to know how to seat their people. And this is not an uncommon practice. We also had the counter open which would have easily sat your party. Our simple rules are stated on the door and if we did not do this then people would in fact be waiting an average of one hour for a table instead of 10-20 minutes. We do wish some people (most of our customers are very understanding) that we of course are not trying to make it hard for you we in fact are doing our best to make sure everyone gets a fair and equal chance at a table. We have reduced our waiting time from an hour and 20 minutes to less than 45 minutes which is very reasonable. Perhaps next time if you do not feel like waiting we can suggest a take away pizza instead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michelangelo's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Michelangelo's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing