We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for a 3 star (out of 5) hotel”
Review of MH Hotel Ipoh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MH Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Booked this hotel online because I needed a family room for the three of us. They checked us in a room on the 8th floor. So on the first night, I experienced all the noise coming from the skylounge (on the 7th floor) even after midnight.

We promptly requested a change of rooms. So they moved us to the 14th floor the following day. So I must say the service personnel were quite accommodating. They even upgraded us to the executive room, which was much bigger, and charged us less. So on that score I was a happier guest.

The free breakfast that comes with the room, was mediocre, better to take a snack there then explore Ipoh town for better fare. For supper, I actually went 'next door' to the McD's.

There is no swimming pool at all much to my child's dismay. The spa is not part of the hotel.

The location is not too bad, close to entertainment, food and Ipoh town.

The views from the windows of the rooms were not too shabby (I was there when the Indonesian haze was in full swing and had even encroached Ipoh).

Room Tip: Try not to get the 8th floor, the noise (from the Sky Lounge) will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank budakSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

This review will be based on my visit to Skylounge, as I only dined there without staying. Food served at Skylounge was okay. The lounge is a great place to chill, however, the furniture settings were confusing. One side you have long big sofas to sit and chill, the other side you have garden round tables and chairs, while the other side you have long tables and chairs like those suitable for outdoor picnic. Maybe hotel wanted to serve to different clientele, but they really need think to define and be clear which type of clientele they are looking for. They have a great place, but all the settings are not right. The jazz player was quite entertaining though, however before he start, they had played several genres of music- jazz, 90s, pop, which were distracting. These were only my feedbacks, not complaints, as I believe if they get it right, they can attract more people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond-KIpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Checked in one night into MH Hotel Ipoh. Finding it was a breeze. Follow the Ipoh exit and it's just beside the highway. Areas surrounded by pubs, night life, massage areas. MacDonalds just beside MH Hotel with a Petronas fuel station. About 5 min driving, you'll be able to find Jaya Jusco.

Now about the hotel - Got a Deluxe King room - 1602. There's a small door at the back which just didn't serve any purpose. I had to barricade that small door with the chair. Bed was comfortable. TV comes with Astro and Internet Wifi very strong signal. Bathroom - there was some sort of foul odour coming out of the waste drain so it was very uncomfortable. Comes with rain shower and toilet amenities was adequate.

The breakfast area - very small hall located at the 7th floor. Breakfast ?? Terrible.. the choices was limited, coffee was terrible and only 3 person manning the floor with one guy looking like a stupid guard asking for coupons as you enter. That guy was totally not helpful when asking about food etc.

Spa & Massage - there's one at the 1st floor but it was closed by the time we went at 7.30 pm.

Others - seafood restaurant beside. Food was average. If you need to find food, my advise would be to drive into town.

Room Tip: Don't go for 1602..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Overall this hotel is satisfied to stay... there were many parking ready... satisfy the condition of the room and close to shopping center... who want to eat can go to fast food nearby or go to shopping complex with about 10 minutes walk ... comfortable to stay long... strongly WIFI Signal..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apisfq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I was staying suit non smoking room, when i checked in, the room smoke smelly like last night happen sex party in the room.
Also my son was sustain injuries, i was went down to lobby, asking for first aid kit, they don't first aid kit standby at all. Too bad..........
No swimming pool, but the room charge like 5 star hotel rate.

Room Tip: If possibility or option, please find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Simon8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Hotel is very near to the exit of the North South highway and very convenient for those who drive.Check in was a breeze and staffs were friendly and prompt.
Stayed one night in a family room. Room size is a bit small for 5 of us as compared to other hotels i've stayed before. The bath room has taken a large portion of the space. However the facilities provided were good.Breakfast is just normal. There is a Sky lounge at the roof top for dining anda great view of Ipoh.
There is a 24 hrs McDonald drive through and Petronas oil kiosk besides the hotel and within the vicinity are Tesco, Jaya Jusco (AEON) mall and Giant. Location is a plus if you drive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrasgpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a night and it was worth it. The room design is really good and the services were good. Nice location and no complaints for this hotel. Overall, it was satisfying and reasonable prices for the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ameera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.4 mi away
Indra Hotel - Boutique Suites
1.1 mi away
M Roof Hotel & Residences
2.5 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel & Apartments Sdn Bhd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel Casuarina @ Meru
2.9 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
4.5 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MH Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MH Hotel Ipoh

Address: Pt212695b Jalan Medan Ipoh 1, Ipoh 31400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range: £28 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MH Hotel Ipoh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MH Hotel Ipoh, is a 21-storey concept Boutique Corporate Hotel centrally located in Ipoh’s latest “Golden Triangle” adjacent to such key establishments like McDonald's, AEON Ipoh Store & Kinta City Shopping Centre and Tesco Extra stores and many other key conveniences. Our banquet and seminar rooms are specially design and build to suit your every need with a spectacular city view and up to date facilities. Guests can also unwind with recreational facilities such as our renowned Oceanville Seafood Restaurant, MH Lyfe Executive Lounge, Seven Sky Bistro, and Foot Reflexology & Spa. The hotel has 111 stylish and well-appointed guest rooms combined with concept theme floor for discerning guest spacious deluxe rooms and suites. Guest will enjoy a day and night feeling as all the rooms & suites are comfortably furnished with shades of modern curtains and bedspreads to blend with a contemporary colour wallpaper to enhance the coziness of the rooms. Our rooms are among the most spacious in Ipoh and comes with Privilege Check in floor for ladies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your MH Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing