We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken and bean sprouts sensational”

Onn Kee Restaurant (Tauge Ayam Kue Tiau)
Ranked #201 of 488 Restaurants in Ipoh
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Recommended in Ipoh Food Paradise leaflet by Tourist Department.Famous for Nasi Ayam Taugeh (Ipoh Cicken rice and bean sprouts)
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chicken and bean sprouts sensational”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Ok, you don't come here for the service, but the chicken and bean sprouts are just fabulous. Would re visit Ipoh just to eat this dish again. And delicious,lime juice drink! My mouth is watering just writing about it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    59
    34
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treat customer like dog”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This is poor service restaurant. I going on xmas. I show one guy standing outside door (not welcome to customer) but using xxxxxxxxx tiu a sing, tho shui ka xxxx to customer. If not happy with costumer keep going to lau wang than better close your door.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Li C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good boiled chicken”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had been to this restaurant on several occasions. We chose this chicken rice restaurant over its equally popular competitor next door. We find the boiled chicken here less oily and the service a bit better. The three chicken rice restaurants along Yau Tet Shin here had become the must-visit place for outstation visitors and tourists. The place would be packed especially during weekends and public holidays.
We ordered a whole boiled chicken (RM45). a big plate of boiled bean sprouts (RM8), a plate of braised chicken feet (RM6), a bowl of fish and meat balls (RM9) together with rice and plain koay teow soup.
The boiled chicken was delicious, smooth and not dry. But for RM45 per bird, the price is on the high side. The boiled bean sprouts were short, fat and crunchy which could only be found in Ipoh. Again, at RM8 per plate, we thought it was a bit pricey. The braised chicken feet and fish/meat ball soup were of acceptable quality but nothing very special.
We dined in the air-conditioned part of the restaurant and the service was fast. The lady boss was friendly and she had pictured herself with famous actors/actresses as well as famous personalities as seen on the photographs on the wall.
Parking is problem here and illegal parking attendants are around demanding RM2 per car. Many shops selling salt-baked chicken, curry chicken bread, pomeloes, biscuits and other local products have sprouted around these chicken rice restaurants.
If you are a visitor in Ipoh, you can consider going to these restaurants namely, Onn Kee, Ong Kee (they are related) as well as Lou Wong. However, the locals would say there are better and cheaper chicken rice available in Ipoh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chicken perfection”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This place serves good bean sprouts and chicken. The bean sprouts are crunchy and the chicken smooth and tender, the restaurant service was fast only complaint was the chilli sauce was not the kind we liked!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tasty chicken rice”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Found the food good but the price a little high considering it was just noodles, chicken and beansprouts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilian172013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onn Kee Restaurant (Tauge Ayam Kue Tiau) also viewed

 

Been to Onn Kee Restaurant (Tauge Ayam Kue Tiau)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing