We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double accounting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ipoh Downtown Hotel
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Double accounting”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Good location - walking distance to food center. Room ok except all throughout the night hearing knocking/meddling at the door. Fortunately to get a car park at the side even though parking lot was small. Staff not friendly at all and was rude (making rude eye gesture) when I refused to sign for invoice (folio) for 3 rooms when we actually occupy only 2 rooms... No doubt we pay only the charge for 2 rooms, but this is double accounting and is not correct... meant to impress future investors ?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kskhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    33
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
12
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The location is excellent. Ipoh's famous dim sum street is just behind the hotel. Jalan Yau Tet Shin which is famous for Taugeh Chicken is just 5 minutes walk. Ipoh Parade Shopping mall is also 5 minutes walk way. Old town is 20 minutes on foot. There are several convenient stores near the hotel too. If you are driving, the petrol stations are just beside the hotel.

This hotel is new. Room furnishing is in very good condition. We had a family room (Room 213). The double bed is King size and single is a Super Single. The aircon is central system so it was a bit noisy and room temperature varied at different spots. Room has a hairdryer and a safe. WIFI signal is strong.

Breakfast buffet selection was limited.

The only downside was we wanted to book a taxi for 2 adults and 3 young kids for half-a-day. After 20 minutes wait, a 10-seater passenger van turned up. It was an overkill and I was not willing to pay more for a big van. I rejected the van as the staff did not make it clear to us that they booked a van. So make sure you ask what vehicle they are booking for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chionh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

First of all... Ipoh is one our my favorite place to visit in malaysia. Food are cheap, no traffic jam..
so thinking of give this new hotel a try. The first impression was when we reached this hotel 1)Limited car parks - couldn't find a car park...i strongly suggest we should left...but my friends insist give a try...so i had no choice to park opposite the food center and walk over.
2)When i on the acorn in the room, the acorn sound very noisy like an old model...thinking of how am i going to sleep in night? make complaint they sent their maintenance to wash and fix back the filter...(Why don't wash it b4 customer check in?)
3)The front office stuffs always in one kind of mood... "without smile at all"
4)Breakfast very limited choices so need to go out for makan then since ipoh city full of good food.
5)nothing special to highlight only the location are in the city center.

p/s: for ppl who prefer to have a short stay can give a try.

Room Tip: Short stay ok, stay higher floor less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank golfsiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ipoh hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
279 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in a deluxe room facing the back. Was quiet except we could hear doors slamming all through the night. The room was adequate although there were some deficiencies:
1. Insufficient power plug points.. only 3 in room used by TV, kettle and hairdryer. So we had to unplug to use the power points
2. Air conditioning was noisy
3. Limited car parks - we were fortunate to find a bay right outside the hotel
4. Limited breakfast choices, limited tables/chairs - luckily we were early

Other than that, we really liked the location. We enjoyed the food and all within walking distance.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LL721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Thinking of give a try of this new hotel... i guess newly open for few months only...In house stuffs really need more training... no even want to speak english...and very unfriendly too... tried to ask more questions and show me the face... omg... check in quite late and request for extra mineral water...wait until i call up and remind then again n again... can't get my extra bed either... wordless..what had happened to the management? Stuffs nvn communicate at all! I also request to change room coz facing the main road the sound really noisy during the night...but finally they be able to change for me...Only good thing left for me is the location...

Room Tip: Noisy at night! better choose behind roll if you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandoralim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for over 2 weeks. Good location and new hotel. We moved between rooms a lot and enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast could have been a bit better but we enjoyed it. Very close to alot of restaurants and shopping area. We will stay here again if we are staying in Ipoh.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlieire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Given that this property is quite new, so is the fresh look and general condition of the hotel. Hopefully this well designed spot will have decent upkeep. The hotel is well designed and more contemporary ideas in mind but some poor workmanship and details show.

With that said, the staff needs more guest service training starting with the English language. The standards would suffice if management targets domestic market only.

One morning after they cleaned my room, there were no hand towels to be found. I approached the laundry person and he questioned my honesty as if I had lied to him, which I thought was such an insult to guests. Only after complaining to management did I get a couple of hand towels.

A huge consolation is the location especially if you are a foodie. As Ipoh is a huge dining destination for delicious food, there are many locations nearby to challenge your taste buds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank makan0960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.2 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#4 of 63 in Ipoh
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
528 reviews
0.8 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#13 of 63 in Ipoh
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
MU Hotel
MU Hotel
#7 of 63 in Ipoh
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
#11 of 63 in Ipoh
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipoh Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipoh Downtown Hotel

Property: Ipoh Downtown Hotel
Address: (Brewster No 210 Jalan Sultan Idris Shah, Ipoh 30000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipoh Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ipoh Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing