We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, music, ambiance and service. Gerry your a star”

Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 510 Restaurants in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, International, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A family owned business established in Ireland, at a place known as “Cork” in 1845 and till today runs the 2 outlet by its family members. It has been a local bar for the famous actor Oliver Reed. Healy Mac’s is the first of its kind, establishing its foothold in Malaysia in 2009, a multi-cultured country in the Asia region. Healy Mac’s Irish Bar and Restaurant provides the best Irish conceptualized ambience with a feel of comfort and satisfaction. The authentic Irish atmosphere experience designed by the Irish family members prides them by being and giving the best in drinks and food to its friend, the “Asian Region”. The family owned business aim is being a local Irish concept provider, with more than 20 years of experience in the Irish Bar.
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We've just returned from a 3 month trip throughout SEA and this was one of the best experiences. Thoroughly enjoyed the great food, music and service. The hotel did not tell us that getting a taxi in Ipoh after 11.00pm is almost impossible so we were left stranded in a city we did not know. Enter Gerry, the manager of the restaurant. When told of our predicament he drove us back to the hotel. What a star. Thanks to everyone at Healy Mac's Ipoh for enriching our holiday. A place not to be missed in Ipoh.
Mike & Helen

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Hi Michael,
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear you were so well looked after and treated with Irish hospitality. We hope you will call in next time you're in Ipoh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Lovely place to hang around with friends , have a drinks ! I love they put on classic music MTV ...so GREAT !!! Friendly staffs ...nice environment . They served my favorite drink " Irish Coffee , Bailey's Coffee , i stayed at N.Ireland for 6 years ..felt great to have few round of the liquor coffee . After back to my hometown still missing those liquor coffee ..... definitely will be back again ! The staffs told us Thursday was " Ladies Night " yuhuuuuu ....will arrange my dayoff on Friday ! Keep up the works guys !

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank wenesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Hi there,
I really appreciate your review, especially your comments on our music and accompanying videos. I am delighted we could bring you back to your memories of Northern Ireland. See you again soon, it's a pleasure to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great place to eat, excellent choice of food both Malaysian and Western. Very efficient and friendly staff especially Paddy and Milynne(sp)
Thanks guys for making our evening out such an enjoyable one
Chris and Litty

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Hi Chris,
Thank you for review. I am happy to hear you enjoy our range of Irish and Asian dishes. Hopefully you'll call in to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The first stop in Ipoh for any traveller, if you're a beer lover with classy ambience and Western food.

Thank Mithunbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Hello,
Thank you so much for your review. Thanks for your comments on our classy atmosphere. I'm glad you felt welcome in our bar. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Pinto and the rest of the staff were great and I find the service in Ipoh & Jalan P Ramlee are great.

Other outlets not so great.

Thank mattstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Matt,
Thank you so much for your review and kind comments on our staff. I am sorry to hear you have not had a similar experience in our other outlets, I hope you will visit them again and experience the same quality you enjoy in our Ipoh and P. Ramlee outlets. It is always a pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Ipoh, Kinta District
Ipoh, Kinta District
 

Been to Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing