We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but Good”
Review of Syuen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Syuen Hotel
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Old but Good”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

It's an old hotel when i saw it i remember alexandria, Egypt old hotels at city center, but its comfortable with good stuff & nice view. My room was in the 9th floor & i like it so much because there were wide window which offer us a romantic view till sun rise.

the breakfast was poor but not bad. i think if i visit ipoh again i will book their.

Room Tip: Room in high floors with wide windows are the best at the side over the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aomario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    52
    64
    28
    27
See reviews for
61
33
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Selangor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights and overall the rooms are clean and comfortable. Overall the conditions of the facilities are quite new, although I read somewhere that Shyuen is not new anymore and underwent refurbishment. Overall, it was our luck to obtain 1 room which is the last room available as it was peak season and many hotels are full. We asked around for many other hotel as we didn't book earlier before going there and finally managed to get Shyuen hotel which just a cornerstones away from Tower Regency and Regalodge and very close to some massage centres, shopping centres and eateries. We were so comfortable with the stay that we decided to extend another nights stay at the hotel. Breakfast was alright with some traditional food served. Free basement parking available although quite tight at some spaces.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Berry288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Room was big with limited view of city but had to pay RM 10 more. Parking was okay however exit leading to the main road quite steep. Water pressure not so great though. Bed was firm. TV channels limited. No irons provided - guests provided with common ironing facilities on each floor - so get your queue number! Decor still set in mid 80s although corridors were recarpeted and painted fresh. Location good in city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyan ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Syuen is centrally located with a shopping mall across, few reflexology outlets
& quite near the eateries in Ipoh. Like the location.
The room which was supposed to have been refurbished (paying extra RM20) wasn't as up to expectations, bed & shower was OK only. However for the price, can't quite complain with breakfast included though nothing to shout about, but was good to line the tummy with toast & coffee before venturing out for all the great yummy hawker food in Ipoh.

Room Tip: Asked for refurbished room or you get those facing air well!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed there 7 to 10 June and the overall facilities have gone down a lot since my last stay. We were attending a convention there but to start off, one of the escalators in the lobby was out of order for over 2 weeks. Then the room I was given(a Junior suite) had problems with the shower door. it could not be opened. After repeated tries by the engineering staff whereby his attempts to repair it failed, i was moved to another room.The air con was not working well in the living room, the only room with a doorbell was not working, the door in the toilet was rotting - surprising as they claim this is a newly refurbished floor! Had to request for face towels and the towels were taken away the next morning and never replaced! The toilet flush does not work well, the TV had only a few channels and reception and sound were poor. Tried to get Engineering to check it but no one ever showed up for the three days. Breakfast was pathetic - same food all the days and no sense of variety. Amenities in the room por for a Junior suite and Housekeeping standards are non existent. Room was also dusty. The only good thing was that at the closing banquet, the food and presentation was good though service was average. The bar staff were great BUT undermanned especially when the hotel is aware that there is a group of VIP's totally almost 300 pax. I guess the owners may not want to spend money to upgrade the hotel, do not invest in staff and training and definately not interested in standards. Fine but do not claim to be THE PREMIER HOTEL They get the business for large groups as the ballroom is the largest in town. BUT please upgrade in all areas !!

Room Tip: make sure the rooms have a window as some rooms are in the middle of the floor and no window / view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ipoh hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The staff at this hotel are totally indifferent at best. During my 4 day stay, not once did the doormen welcome or greet me. In fact, I noticed that every time a car approached they would stand back and hide! Walked into the dilapidated gym and the attendant just looked up, didn't say a word and continued to use his mobile phone and continued to ignore my presence until I left! The rooms are large but dated. No blanket or duvet, just a sheet and bed cover. The shower in room 941 was either too hot or cold, and had very low pressure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Came here for Rotary District 3300 assembly. Stayed here one night, overall I know that this is an old hotel which has not been refurbished from day one, hence was not expecting much. The air condition system is fantastic. However, the food served for breakfast, lunch and dinner, is a big let down. The next day we went out for lunch, and we truly enjoyed Ipoh's cuisine. Took a family room, room had some odour but was large. Beds were comfortable, clean sheets and blankets, however the bathroom was bad! The shower has to be in the bath tub and the water was not draining out! The amenities in bathroom were of good quality.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#13 of 63 in Ipoh
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#44 of 63 in Ipoh
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
#54 of 63 in Ipoh
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
#11 of 63 in Ipoh
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Syuen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syuen Hotel

Property: Syuen Hotel
Address: Syuen Hotel 88 Jalan Sultan Abdul Jalil, Ipoh 30300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Syuen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Syuen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing