We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for short stay”
Review of Syuen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Syuen Hotel
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Staying in this hotel because following my husband doing some work here. I think this hotel should not get 4 star if they don't improve the taste of the food and also lack of choice too. One thing that I really like with this hotel is it is not far from the shopping mall that I spent my time shopping while waiting for my husband return from his work. Just walking a few minutes across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I have enjoy my trip.At 630pm, i am waiting the sunset. Feel amazing, can see the sun slowly slowly go down... happy that I can see the beauty of senset from my room with air condition.really appreciate. Thank you Syuen hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Its an old hotel and quite out dated in style. Get confused with the hotel signed since quite difficult to see from the main road. Near to Ipoh city council and Ipoh square. Next to greentown shops and lots of food stalls. The twin bed deluxe room quite good and clean. Some do complaint about the smell but my room since to be okay without any smell. The water pressure and water heater are good same goes with the airconditioning. The best thing about this hotel is the location within walking distance to ipoh parade, ipoh downtown and greentown. Price for government staff starting from RM159.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My 2nd visit to this hotel. The room has "acquired" a smell, the carpet really stinks. Aircond get cold after 30min only. While sleeping i could hear people talking so loud outside the corridor. Most horror part is the gave me babycot without mattress and they said only this we provide! Totally shocked but i managed it by folding comforters in order for my baby to sleep in it. Bfast was average. Very limited space. Checking in/out too draggy. Parking is like kl GH. Cramped and narrow and BAD. Serious upgrade is required to save from losing more regular customers

Room Tip: Im not sure if any room smells better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SDiyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Hidden in the small print (and I mean small) is 5the fact that all the booking made via their own website are NON refundable.

I understand Hotels making some bookings non refundable - special rates, peak times etc.but ALL of them ALL the time is totally unreasonable.

Also they emailed me back my full credit card details...that's right all my credit card details by email.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Eddie_in_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Not sure what to expect before checking in but the hotel is not a great place to stay. From the outside, the look is grand with a huge building for the size of a small town such as Ipoh. Upon checking in, we found that the hotel is dirty, worn-out, and with poor services.

Checking in was slow. With a limited people attending to the line.
Rooms are old and worn out. Looks like insufficient up-keeping.
Bedsheet torn and old.
Bathroom is dirty with stains.
We wanted additional towels for the kids and were told that the hotel has no extra towel! :(
Breakfast is basic and is ok for the amount of money paid.

If you need a place to crash for a night in Ipoh, it is ok but with a family trying to relax in comfort, this is not recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eywchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Having stayed at the Syuen on a number of occassions and having never had any issues I booked a room for me and my daughter. Boy was I wrong!! They gave us a room on the 7th floor and it was disgusting!! The bathroom was dirty and tired and the towels in a woeful state!!! Last straw a cockroach and other non-descript bugs running around.......!! Suffice to say I complained and was offered another room....this too was yuck! Finally I was offered another room and we settled in for the night. If it were not for the fact that it was just for one night I would have moved hotels. In general I will not be staying here again...;(

Room Tip: Dont accept rooms on lower floors ie 7th floor down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kimofthedeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.2 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel & Apartments Sdn Bhd
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#14 of 63 in Ipoh
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#37 of 63 in Ipoh
177 reviews
3.3 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Syuen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syuen Hotel

Address: Syuen Hotel 88 Jalan Sultan Abdul Jalil, Ipoh 30300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range: £30 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Syuen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Syuen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing